No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Aqua

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
CASTLETOWN, PORTLAND, CASTLETOWN, DT5 1BD
The Aqua is on the Isle of Portland, situated on the Dorset Coast, designated as a World Heritage Site, known as The Jurassic Coast. It covers 95 miles of truly stunning coastline from East Devon to Dorset. The Aqua is a short stroll to Chesil Beach. The Aqua, constructed of Portland Stone, with a clean modern interior is situated on a stone pier, in historic Castletown, overlooking the whole of Portland Harbour.
Picture of Hotel Aqua, CASTLETOWN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and evening meals and breakfast were excellent

Reviewed by
christopher c

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Accommodation
Accommodation, staff and location great for the base we wanted to visit this area.
Food was good value, well cooked and presented. Breakfast being included was a bonus and of a decent quality.
Rooms clean and comfortable.
Disappointing that the WiFi did not work in rooms.

Reviewed by
c king

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and cheerful
ok this is not a 5* hotel, but who cares. As someone who just needs somewhere to sleep and shower, it was perfect. The bedding was clean and crisp, as were the towels although you need a new shower head in room 202....We were In Weymouth to see our band perform at Finns, this was a quiet location out of Town with some fab views. the lady on reception was lovely. There was a nice atmosphere and a cafe 'en-suite' which was great. Loved the local pub, the Green Shutters. Nice locals who made us feel very welcome. We ate dinner at the pub opposite the Aqua. Good homecooked food and well priced. We really enjoyed it. Breakfast in the cafe served from 7.30 til 3pm! And could eat outside in the sunshine...great stuff. Had a full English and also very impressed they had Marmite! The only negative (and it is only a small one) is 10am is quite an early check out time but overall we had a good stay and have already said we will be back! Thank you all at the Aqua

Reviewed by
Kathryn J

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean hospitable staff very friendly
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay would go again

Reviewed by
r fitzjohn

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One bad room - No 109
We were given a room above the bar and cellar. The room looked good and clean and had a really good sized bathroom. Being above the bar would not have been a problem as the bar was not noisy. The problem was the cooling equipment in the cellar. Our room had a constant hum which was like Chinese water torture when we tried to sleep. I got NO sleep and my partner got some sleep. I complained that night to the bar person who switched off the cooling for about 1/2 hour, but then switched it on again. When we complained the next day they said they knew about it and only give that room to people staying ONE night because of the noise, and it was very costly to fix. I would rather they didn't give it to anyone. They should also have made a reduction in the cost, as I don’t think it was fair to charge us the same as others who got a good night’s sleep.

ManagementResponse

As you know, we were aware of the problem with the cellar fan below room 109, although in truth I had no idea it was quite so bad. I can only apologise for the poor nights sleep you had during your stay. It will be scant consolation I know, but we have since had an engineer out who has resolved this problem for us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - good or bad, they do help us to keep improving and we do listen. Regards, Alistair

Reviewed by
stephen b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
This hotel isn't bad but I feel it might be a bit over priced. There are parts of the hotel that look a bit tired (the carpet on the communal stairs and the reception) that could do with modernising. The room was nice and clean with a huge bed which was a nice surprise and the breakfast was lovely from the attached cafe although the tomatoes were tinned which were a bit disappointing. The hotel was perfectly placed for what we needed it for on Portland close to the castle and bars and this greatly improved its appeal. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
A Enderson

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
We had a twin room, which we found to be very spacious. The room was immaculately clean with a beautiful view to compliment. The stairs to the room were a little steep, but other than that no complaints. We both slept very well and there were no noise ditractions, fely very relaxed during our stay here. Would reccommend definately. Good base to stay at

Reviewed by
N Yarwood

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service & practical accommodation.
Friendly & helpful service was the high point. Reasonable and clean room; a bit of maintenance required on some bathroom fittings. Average, 'cafe-style' breakfast for £4 or so (pretty awful coffee). Very limited free parking; other spaces on the road or at meters (about £3 overnight). By the harbourside but in a quiet area.

Reviewed by
Robert D

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manageress was very pleasant and demonstrated a passion for making this business a success. Rooms were basic but very clean and met our needs on this occasion. Breakfast was served separately in the cafe attached to the hotel and was of a good standard and good VFM.

Reviewed by
M WATSON

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfy & clean
Aqua hotel has a friendly atmosphere. Its well kept & clean. Great location & portland is beautiful. only downside was the shower was pathetic. My room had a bath but washing my hair was a struggle.

Reviewed by
T Allen

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.