No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hind Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38 SHEEP STREET , WELLINGBOROUGH, NN8 1BY
The Hind Hotel is a Grade II listed 17th-century coaching inn in the centre of Wellingborough. With free secure parking, it is just one mile from Wellingborough Rail Station.

All rooms at The Hind offer en suite bathrooms, an LCD flat-screen TV, tea and coffee facilities, direct dial telephone, and trouser press.

Guests can enjoy the charming oak-beamed restaurant, resident’s lounge bar, and coffee shop. Free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel is also available.

The hotel is just two miles from the A45 motorway, and Wellingborough’s Rail Station is on a direct line to London. The Castle Theatre is just 5 minutes’ walk away.
Picture of The Hind Hotel, WELLINGBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated decor and food service, but Tudor Charm
This hotel has kept its Tudor Coaching Inn charm, though the over all experience was 20 years out of date. Rooms need to be refreshed decor-wise and the food remains stubbornly British, unfettered by any continental influence. Therefore the choice at breakfast was fruit juice (from concentrate , not fresh), grapefruit or orange segments (from a tin), and a range of cereals. No fresh fruit or cold meats. A waitress brought tea or coffee and you could have a cooked English breakfast (or variations of). The evening meal was freshly prepared. I ordered the rib-eye steak and asked for rare. It arrived well done. (No time to ask for it to be recooked as I had a deadline to meet.) However it was tasty enough. The room was ok - enough room to walk round the bed and it had an ensuite. The rooms and corridors feel like they need aired a bit more. Staff were polite and helpful, and tried 3 different cab companies for me in the morning to get to the station.

Reviewed by
R McAllister

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good staff, not so good accommodation
The staff were very helpful, polite and a credit to the hotel. Unfortunately the quality of the hotel and the amenities let it down. The central heating could not be adjusted so it was bakingly hot constantly. The windows were difficult to get to because of the additional sliding glass shutters - pushing them aside on one window stopped access to another window. The shower had two settings - freezing and scalding. The margin on the tap to adjust the temperature was about half a millimetre - turn it literally a tiny touch and the temperature switched to either burning or hypothermia with no middle ground. The hotel advertises car parking - actually there is only a small courtyard that fits a few cars. I had to be directed to a quiet small strip behind another building next to a park to park the car. It is well lit but I wasn't comfortable parking there. I enjoyed the breakfast though and the customer service was good which saved the stay.
Having said that though, I wouldn't stay there again I don't think. I think I'd have a look to see if I could find somewhere else if I had to go to the area for work again and wouldn't recommend it.

Reviewed by
D Seagrave

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky old building with lots of character
I've been to this hotel twice and think it's great. If you're after a clean cut box of a room go to one of the new chain hotels. This place has stood for centuries and has wierd little nooks and crannies that are great! Staff are extremely friendly, the full english breakfast is tasty and lots of it. Some of the amenities (like the bathrooms) are a little tired, but given the price and the hotels other attributes thats acceptable in my view.

Reviewed by
j walton

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hind
Welcoming period Hotel. Warm room with good furnishings and a refurbished bathroom. Good wifi access and friendly staff.
Very small car park, but additional space available not too far away.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasurabkle stay
The room and the facilities were excellent. The room was great value for money and it included breakfast. Cannot comment on the breakfast as I didn't get up in time!!! The secure car park is a bonus where parking is at a premium and the hotel is situated for easy access to Welling borough and the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay
stayed at this hotel many times wont stay any where else now

Reviewed by
stef c

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Experience
Decor is very tired, scuff marks around the walls, stains on the carpets in the hallways. As for the room this was adequate. Unfortunately no running cold water, radiators barely warm, although there was an electric warm air blower in the room. The bathroom was basic but cold tap didn't work and the toilet flushed once and took all night to refill which is not good if there are two of you staying. The night porter tried to find an alternative room, unfortunately there was not a room available.

Reviewed by
david g

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky fun place. Great location for local venues.
Very interesting Hotel, sadly surrounded by ugly modern development. Our room 103 was a little odd, as the furniture doubles up as a conference suit. The bed folds in to the wall. The bathroom is in a cupboard with strange folding doors :-) We only ate breakfast there but it was very good. Very nice staff.

Reviewed by
David Spear

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek stay
The hotel is perfectly placed in centre of town, staff were friendly, hotel was clean and tidy, parking free and secure although a direction sign would help, breakfast was very good but a radio or music would be nice instead of the silence. The hotel is nice and we would stay again, it is a very old building probably listed so is an interesting stay!

Reviewed by
Lawrence R

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

why not 100%?
no tv remote
no wifi
Essential these days

Reviewed by
W QURESHI

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next