The Hind Hotel

3

38 SHEEP STREET, WELLINGBOROUGH, NN8 1BY

Price From 96.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Hogg

  • April 2015

One night stay

We only stayed for the one night it was very quirky needed an update .

If it money spent on it would be a very good character hotel. It more than served its purpose and the food for breakfast was very good the coffee was excellent!!!

  • paul ayres

  • March 2015

Would recommend this hotel

  • R McAllister

  • February 2015

Dated decor and food service, but Tudor Charm

This hotel has kept its Tudor Coaching Inn charm, though the over all experience was 20 years out of date.

Rooms need to be refreshed decor-wise and the food remains stubbornly British, unfettered by any continental influence. Therefore the choice at breakfast was fruit juice (from concentrate , not fresh), grapefruit or orange segments (from a tin), and a range of cereals. No fresh fruit or cold meats. A waitress brought tea or coffee and you could have a cooked English breakfast (or variations of). The evening meal was freshly prepared. I ordered the rib-eye steak and asked for rare. It arrived well done. (No time to ask for it to be recooked as I had a deadline to meet.) However it was tasty enough. The room was ok - enough room to walk round the bed and it had an ensuite. The rooms and corridors feel like they need aired a bit more. Staff were polite and helpful, and tried 3 different cab companies for me in the morning to get to the station.

  • D Seagrave

  • January 2015

good staff, not so good accommodation

The staff were very helpful, polite and a credit to the hotel.

Unfortunately the quality of the hotel and the amenities let it down. The central heating could not be adjusted so it was bakingly hot constantly. The windows were difficult to get to because of the additional sliding glass shutters - pushing them aside on one window stopped access to another window. The shower had two settings - freezing and scalding. The margin on the tap to adjust the temperature was about half a millimetre - turn it literally a tiny touch and the temperature switched to either burning or hypothermia with no middle ground. The hotel advertises car parking - actually there is only a small courtyard that fits a few cars. I had to be directed to a quiet small strip behind another building next to a park to park the car. It is well lit but I wasn't comfortable parking there. I enjoyed the breakfast though and the customer service was good which saved the stay.

Having said that though, I wouldn't stay there again I don't think. I think I'd have a look to see if I could find somewhere else if I had to go to the area for work again and wouldn't recommend it.

  • j walton

  • January 2015

Quirky old building with lots of character

I've been to this hotel twice and think it's great.

If you're after a clean cut box of a room go to one of the new chain hotels. This place has stood for centuries and has wierd little nooks and crannies that are great. Staff are extremely friendly, the full english breakfast is tasty and lots of it. Some of the amenities (like the bathrooms) are a little tired, but given the price and the hotels other attributes thats acceptable in my view.

  • Paul M

  • January 2015

Pleasurabkle stay

The room and the facilities were excellent.

The room was great value for money and it included breakfast. Cannot comment on the breakfast as I didn't get up in time!!. The secure car park is a bonus where parking is at a premium and the hotel is situated for easy access to Welling borough and the surrounding area.

  • Helen B

  • January 2015

The Hind

Welcoming period Hotel.

Warm room with good furnishings and a refurbished bathroom. Good wifi access and friendly staff. Very small car park, but additional space available not too far away.

  • stef c

  • December 2014

stay

stayed at this hotel many times wont stay any where else now

  • david g

  • December 2014

Poor Experience

Decor is very tired, scuff marks around the walls, stains on the carpets in the hallways.

As for the room this was adequate. Unfortunately no running cold water, radiators barely warm, although there was an electric warm air blower in the room. The bathroom was basic but cold tap didn't work and the toilet flushed once and took all night to refill which is not good if there are two of you staying. The night porter tried to find an alternative room, unfortunately there was not a room available.

  • David Spear

  • November 2014

Quirky fun place. Great location for local venues.

Very interesting Hotel, sadly surrounded by ugly modern development.

Our room 103 was a little odd, as the furniture doubles up as a conference suit. The bed folds in to the wall. The bathroom is in a cupboard with strange folding doors :-) We only ate breakfast there but it was very good. Very nice staff.