No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bull's Head Inn Chelmarsh

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
CHELMARSH , BRIDGNORTH, WV16 6BA
The Bull's Head is a superb family owned, 18th century Country Inn, set amongst Shropshire's rolling hills, with stunning views over the Severn Valley, Clee Hills & Chelmarsh Reservoir. The Inn offers a combination of well appointed guestrooms and self-catering accommodation, including ground floor accommodation for the disabled. With all day service the Inn provides excellent food, fine wines and real ales, and attracts regular guests for touring, fishing, walking & cycling holidays, and corporate guests who take the opportunity to relax and enjoy this picturesque location. The Inn is an ideal base for visting and exploring the local attractions including, Ironbridge, The Severn Valley Railway, RAF Cosford Museum, Ludlow, Much Wenlock, Bewdley, The West Midlands Safari Park, The Black Country Museum & many others within easy driving distance.
The Inn is open throughout the year, and can cater for parties in the dining room up to 55 diners.
Picture of The Bull's Head Inn Chelmarsh, BRIDGNORTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oldy worldy would be my accessment

Reviewed by
S Williams

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unpleasant experience at the Bull's Head, Chelmarsh
Room was cheaply furnished and equipped, one of the bath towels had a stain that had remained after washing and the towel should have been discarded, a tap swivelled while switching on, there was a hole in the floor that had merely been carpeted over and a profusion of cobwebs suggested that the room had been cleaned half-heartedly at best. Staying over on a Saturday night in a room over the bar, we expected some hubbub to reach us but hadn't expected live, highly-amplified, music from eight o'clock until twenty-to-twelve. On the following morning as I was paying the bill I told the proprietor, in a non-confrontational manner, that the music had "come as a shock" and was dismayed that rather than commiserating she aggressively retorted that live music was mentioned on the website, on a chalk board at the roadside by the pub and "brought people in". Frankly I've never met that level of rude "take it or leave it" response during our many travels in the UK and overseas.

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attentive friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed the overall experience and I will go again when next visiting this area. Coffee could have been better but British hotels rarely do good coffee.

Reviewed by
David Owens

From Penysarn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bulls Head , Chelmarsh
Nice country pub with good views over countryside. Nice Christmas meal served to about 40 in our group, good value all round. Nice room small but everything you need. Two log burning fires in pub give it a nice atmosphere and keep you cosy. All round a good stay.

Reviewed by
N BRIDGES

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice &friendly staff
very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
d wild

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night stay
Do not stay in any pub room on a saturday night unless you are ther to enjoy the music in the bar.
Music was far too loud even after we asked for it to be reduced. (mainly the Bass guitar) . Went on from 9.30pm to 11.30pm. Even though the staff said this was mentioned on the pubs website it was not pointed out to us when booking via laterooms.( we would not have stayed at this pub otherwise.)
The manager was surprised when I mentioned a broken toilet seat, saying her cleaning staff would have previously called this to her attention. (obviously not in this case)
Shower not adequate power.

Reviewed by
M Barnard

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must do better
The room was very small, the bathroom was also small and the door would not close. The beds creaked and groaned all night. The bar toilet seat was broken(split).
The staff were polite.
The breakfast was good.

ManagementResponse

The room concerned is a twin room. There is adequate room for 2 people and also the ensuite is suitable. This room has only this week been inspected by 'Visit Britain' for a renewal of our 4 star rating and was found to meet the expected requirements. It was a fair comment regarding the beds, and these were replaced with new beds on 27th July. Regarding the bar toilet seat, this was the one in the mens toilet. The fitting on the one side had come loose and has since been tightened. The seat is not and has never been split. If this were the case, it would certainly have been replaced.

Reviewed by
Kenneth S

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chillaxing
The wife and I needed a break and The Bulls Head fitted the bill.
Arrived Friday night after work ( and a drive through Wolverhampton ) to be greeted by friendly staff. We dropped our stuff in the spacious, clean room and went down to the bar for some real ale ( 4 to choose from ) and to be entertained by a couple of musicians.
After an unhurried breakfast, the following morning, we left relaxed for a day on the nearby Severn Valley Railway.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay which we will have to do again.

Reviewed by
Kev baldry

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and good country atmosphere
Excellent good. Good service. beautiful countryside .

Reviewed by
LOUISE BAKER

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place. Highly recommended
Great accommodation in a friendly pub with a range of good beers and excellent food, both in the bar and the restaurant.
I was only there for one night but managed to squeeze in lunch, dinner and breakfast, all of which were high quality and great value.
Room was small but clean and perfectly suitable for my needs.
Location is suberb, with great walks on the doorstep.

Reviewed by
Mike Quinn

From Chatteris, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next