No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cary Fitzpaine House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
CARY FITZPAINE FARMHOUSE, , YEOVIL, BA22 8JB
Cary Fitzpaine House is a beautiful Georgian Farmhouse set in 2 acres Gardens on 500 acre arable farm with horses and sheep. Although only 1.5 miles from A303 and .5 Mile from A37 Cary Fitzpaine is a very peaceful and relaxed place to stay. You will always receive a warm and friendly welcome. Andrew and Susie Crang are always available to help you in any way we can. There is a large selection of excellent Restaurants and Pubs within 5 - 10 minutes drive.

There are also some lovely areas to get away from the crowds and walk around the farm, we have a wonderful selection of wildlife on the farm, including deer, badgers, hare, foxes, owls, various duck, kingfisher, herons and many other bird species with the gorgeous River Cary running through the farm. Pets are welcome to stay with us also.

The rooms are all furnished to a very high standard and en suite. With comfort a priority. Beautiful Egyptian cotton bedding. Lovely complimentary toiletries and extras and very well stocked tea/coffee/drink making. We have a large four poster suite available. There is a lovely drawing room for guests use with open fires in the winter and comfortable sofas to relax and read or watch TV/DVDs. There is a large dining room also solely for guests use, together with plenty of outside furniture for use to relax on summer days.

There is plenty to do and see around Cary Fitzpaine. Including plenty of historic houses and gardens, including Lytes Cary, Stourhead, Montacute, Tintinhull, Barrington House, East Lambrook etc. Also Yeovilton RNAS Museum is 5 minutes drive and Haynes Car Museum 10 minutes drive. Wookey Hole, Cheddar, Wells and Glastonbury are within 30 minutes drive also. Bristol, Bath and the Coast are all within one hour from Cary Fitzpaine. Families are very welcome to stay with us and enjoy the farm. There are also plenty of superb Cycling routes to take from Cary Fitzpaine, Packed Lunches are available.

Picture of Cary Fitzpaine House, YEOVIL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming B&B
A great B&B in a wonderful location. Very friendly and helpful family. The room was required for 2 adults and 2 children, yet we didn't feel cramped.
You really feel like you are one of the family with free roam of the farm and house.
We were so pleased, that we are staying there again next week.

Reviewed by
S Fisher

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Accommodation
I was hoping that the location of this B&B and the standard of accommodation was going to be good, but in reality it was excellent. Unfortunate timing meant that Susie had to leave at 5:30 on the morning of my stay and so there was no cooked breakfast, but that made no difference to me as there was a plentiful supply of continental breakfast items and I was trusted to use the family kitchen to make tea. Susie was extremely welcoming and the little touch of bringing me fresh milk for the tea in my room was lovely so I could have a decent cuppa after my journey. The room itself was beautiful and very comfortable. I am only sorry that I did not have time to explore the farm or the surrounding areas, but I shall be back for a leisure stay and I would recommend that anyone looking for accommodation in this area does the same!

Reviewed by
S Collyer

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing and Superb B&B
We absolutely loved Carey Fitzpaine House. It is a beautiful farmhouse which feels so homely and Suzie and Andy are the most nicest people we have ever stayed with. Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfasts were really good (kept us going all day) and the four poster bedroom was superb. We were so relaxed we didn't want to come home. In fact we booked again while we was there to stay in August as it was so great. Thank you again Suzie and Andy, we are so looking forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed by
Joanne Finch

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be back
Lovely and quiet, peace and tranquility.
Nice hosts with a lovely B&B.
Only one comment, TV signal needs looking at and position of the TV.

Reviewed by
G Richards

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
A lovely room and an excellent breakfast. Full marks to the landlady and a hearty thank you.

Reviewed by
Ron G

From Severn Stoke, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing!
A superb property, exemplary host, beautiful room, delicious food and excellent value for money.
What more could one ask!
Thank you so much Susie for a wonderful, if brief, stay.

Reviewed by
Sandra C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Farmhouse Accomodation
Very warm welcome and the most dog friendly place we've ever stayed at. Great breakfasts too. Very handy for the A303, The farmhouse has great character, and is set in open country - fine for walkies!

Reviewed by
Graham B

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home from home
We as a family of four enjoyed the friendliness of the easygoing hostess and a lovely room which was extremely quiet for good sleep quality. The breakfasts were excellent and cooked completely to order, including an order for omelette, poached and scrambled eggs - so nice to have our personal tastes cooked for with grace and expertise. My daughter fell for the dogs who were well behaved and quiet. We didn't find the hairdryer but could have looked for our hostess and asked for it. When the towel heater wasn't working she fixed it immediately. It was an extremely cold weekend and our first night there was a bit colder than I would normally like, but we had blankets and found a heater in the wardrobe. It was an authentic large old farmhouse decorated and furnished appropriately to the period and with good taste and comfort in mind. The lounge looked lovely but we didn't use it. Good info in the booklet, we tried out the Fox and Hounds and the Red Lion, both nice.

Reviewed by
Gill B

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too Bloody Cold
Turning the heating on and off without consideration to guests; not good.

Reviewed by
J C Ellis

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice room
Unfortunately as much as i would like to give a good review i can't. On arrival, there's no way to really tell where the entrance is as it looks like a typical farm house building. There's no sign to point you in the direction of a reception either. We tried to call the number given for directions but it just rang and went to voice mail. The room was great though but that was about the best thing about our stay. Breakfast was interesting as not only was there a smell of dogs in the dining area (don't get me wrong, i quite like dogs) but we had a dog sitting with us begging for food while we ate. Mushrooms where not cooked, no toast (had to ask for it) and when it did arrive it wasn't toasted properly. The fruit on the table looked about 3 weeks old as well. There was no offer of how we wanted our eggs cooked either

Reviewed by
Dion H

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next