Reviews - Cafe Valance


50 Newton Road, Mumbles,, The Mumbles, SA3 4BQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • tracy w

  • January 2015

Cafe Valance

Really disappointing; the room was so cold, could not get the heating to work properly, received a rushed intro to facilities, TV came on in the night and woke me up, no idea how or why this happened, so icy in the morning that it was dangerous, but no real effort to put out grit/salt.

No thought given to guests needs under these circumstances. I just think that if you don't want to do what is necessary to make guests comfortable, then don't rent out rooms over new year. Very expensive for the service received. However, breakfast was okay.

  • Susan K

  • November 2014

Cafe Valance - a great placwe to stay

Café Valance was a great place to stay when we visited Mumbles.

We spent two nights there. The room was small but very nicely appointed and clean. The bathroom was very generous, with both bath and shower. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was an excellent selection of croissants, toast, cereal and fruit, which we enjoyed on both mornings with as much coffee or tea as we wanted. But the best thing was the friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much for them, yet they also knew when to leave us alone. Overall I'd definitely give it 5 stars and it was great value for money.

  • K Pugh

  • October 2014

Lovely stay at cafe valance

We had a great time here.

The room was immaculate (if a little small) and the service was excellent. We had a lovely evening on the Saturday night with live music in the bar downstairs and very good quality food. We would recommend this lovely place to others and would come back here again in the future.

  • Zbigniew K

  • August 2014

A surprising experience

The initial reaction when we first saw the location of the hotel; on a busy high street and with no obvious parking was a little daunting, but after checking in and being informed that there was a car park at the back and then seeing the room, things just got better and better.

The interior of the room and restaurant area are very well and tastefully decorated with attention to detail being very obvious. The Egyptian cotton sheets add a touch of luxury to the stay; the restaurant staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming . The continental breakfast was very sumptuous and the offer of a real coffee "to go" was a little gem.

  • M Williams

  • July 2014

Oystermouth wedding

We stayed in Oystermouth for a wedding.

We were made so welcome it was like staying with friends. Nothing too much trouble, excellent continental breakfast. We are hoping to return in the not too distant future. Very convenient location

  • Ruth C

  • July 2014

Lovely Stay

We only stayed one night, however the room was really nice and clean and comfy and contemporary, with waterfall shower/wet room in the ensuite.

Really liked the cafe, had a great atmosphere and was always busy and bustling. Breakfast included was a nice surprise - cereals and croissants, fruit and yogurt etc.

overall very pleased with the stay, only thing is that the room was rather small for £115 a night, definitely a touch over priced, but made up by the quality of the room and friendly staff. Also Mumbles is a great place to visit, beaches, restuarants and nice pubs!

  • Helen W

  • April 2014

Room looked good; pleasant decor, good toiletries, bathrobes, bed very comfortable, room warm and quiet.

Staff very friendly. Nice view of Oystermouth castle, which the room was named after. But it was too small to be a double. Only room for one bedside table and one lamp, nowhere to put anything e.g. Hairbrush, makeup etc. had to move clothes we had hung up in order to boil the kettle which was fixed in place. Bathroom looked good, but towel rail was above the toilet on the opp side of the room from the washbasin and lighting was poor. In short, the room wasn't functional.

  • Emily Tennet

  • April 2014

Fantastic stay

This overnight stay was well worth the money.

The room was a little smaller then expected but done to such a standard that it didn't matter. The bathroom was huge and very luxorious. The room itself was very romantic and quaint. The morning after our stay we went into the cafe for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by the selection of pastries, cereal, fruit, yougarts and tea cakes. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly, approachable and happy to help. I will defiantly be going back!

  • Karen C

  • April 2014

Lovely stay in great location

The room was beautifully furnished and very clean.

The hosts were helpful and friendly without being intrusive and Cafe Valance had a relaxed feel. Breakfast was continental but a well presented choice of pastries, toast juices and fruit. The room was quite small so I've only given it a 4 and the room price seemed a little too high, hence the 3 for value for money. That said, accommodation is difficult to find in peak times around Swansea and I would stay at Cafe Valance again as it is much nicer than the budget chain hotels.