No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Olive Mill

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bath Road, Chilton Polden Hill, , Bridgwater, TA7 9AH
The Olive Mill is a Bar and Restaurant with Guest rooms set in the heart of the west country. Enjoy excellent traditional British cuisine and Mediterranean and seafood specialities with tasteful ensuite accommodation featuring outstanding views of the Mendips, Cheddar and surrounding countryside. Some rooms also have a balcony overlooking the views. The Olive Mill is located within easy reach of Bridgwater, Glastonbury and Street on the A39 and provides a superb location for dining out for any occasion. The Restaurant and Bar have recently been re-decorated with a modern yet relaxed feel. A hearty cooked breakfast as well as cereals, toast and preserves are included in the room rate. Lunch and evening meals are freshly prepared on site in the open plan kitchen and served in the light and airy restaurant, overlooking beautifull views across the countryside. All dishes on the a la carte menu are prepared from scratch using only the freshest seasonal ingredients. The restaurant specialises in fresh fish and locally sourced Brittish cuisine. Pizzas and bread are homemade and cooked in the stone oven, all sweets and desserts are homemade. The lounge and bar is comfortable and modern and is open all day serving wines, local beers and ciders, soft drinks, teas and fresh coffee. In good weather, guests can enjoy the beer gardens and the patio area is the perfect place to relax on a warm summer afternoon. Somerset has a great variety of places to visit and things to do that suit all tastes. From a wealth of historic and famous castles, houses and gardens, such as Dunster Castle, Wells Cathedral, Montacute House and Hestercombe Gardens. Great family attractions such as Clarks Village, Fleet Air Arm Museum, Wookey Hole, Cheddar Caves and Brean Leisure Park. Stunning Natural Features such as Glastonbury Tor, Dunkery Beacon on Exmoor, Cheddar Gorge, Ham Hill Country Park, and stunning nature reserves such as Westhay, Ebbor Gorge and Tarr Step.
Picture of The Olive Mill, Bridgwater at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Room was immaculate with a gorgeous view of countryside. Lovely huge shower. Food in resturant was amazing and staff really friendly.

Reviewed by
L Fielder

From Southampton , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
The food was fantastic. The service was friendly. The room was comfortable if a little basic.

Reviewed by
Michael E

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

That lonely feeling
Evening meal very good but chilly evening and no heating on in restaurant or our room only one extra cover in our twin room so had my coat over the bed.
Next morning went down for breakfast locked out of the dining room. went back to room to ring the number provided had to use mobile, no phone in room. Rang several times with no response don't know what would have happened if there had been a real emergency. Walked all round hotel knocking at every door, place seemed to be deserted no wonder there were no other guests if this is how you are treated. After 45 mins gave up the effort and went in search of breakfast elsewhere.

Reviewed by
r kenworthy

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comments
Stayed here a couple of times now.
The owner and all his staff are excellent
And attentive.
The owner prides himself clearly on his food and
Rightly so . The food is excellent .
However I have to be honest and state the major
Issue I have here is that the hotel rooms and bar area
On a cold winters evening were very uncomfortably
Cold To the point of spoiling my stay.
I did arrive a little earlier than the 5 pm check in time
And the owner booked me in and took me to my room.
There was no heating on at all and the room was teeth
Chatteringly cold. The heating was turned on but switched off
An hour later and had hardly time to break the chill.
The room never warmed up and the bar area was also cold
Whilst dining.
The heating in the morning didn't switch on till 6.30
By which time I had to be up and leaving.
Again this was teeth chatteringly unpleasant .
Would without doubt stay here again but would avoid
The winter months.

Reviewed by
nigel p

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valentines evening
From start to finish the service food and accommodation was to the highest standard, really enjoyed our evenings meal and accommodation....breakfast very good too...would Defoe come back and recommend to others.......but is a little pricey for us personally.
Many thanks fantastic evening

Reviewed by
Paul Young

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place to stay
Accomadation OK, food exellent

Reviewed by
D Stow

From Abbots Langley, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Personal Good Service
Warm welcome. Great Food .Friendly Staff. Comfortable Room

Reviewed by
Anthony L

From Newmarket, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2