No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rosehill Manor Hotel

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
ROSEHILL , MARKET DRAYTON, TF92JF
17th Century modernised Georgian double fronted hotel set in 1 ½ acres of mature gardens. Set back from A41 with rooms overlooking gardens. Large rooms all double , some with extra beds . A La Carte and snack catering avaialble to suit all budgets. Close to businesses in Market Drayton , Newport and Ternhill. Ideal for Tourist needs as situated between Chester, Birmingham, Stoke on Trent and Shrewsbury .
Picture of Rosehill Manor Hotel, MARKET DRAYTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No-where near worth the price paid
The real pity, on arriving at the hotel, is that we drove onto the front carpark and my wife commented that it looked like Fawlty Towers. If we had seen the back of the hotel first our mood may have been a little different because the dining room was open and bright; looking onto the garden. However as we entered the front door, we glanced to the side and saw what looked like an abandoned function room. This room gave us a clue to the rest of the hotel. At the bar/reception we were greeted by a guest stood in just a pair of shorts and nothing else talking to a man behind the bar who we assumed was the proprietor, though he never introduced himself. He was indeed the proprietor and, although not unfriendly, he didn't really engage with us. His manner added to our growing feelings towards the hotel....one of slow decay and neglect. The room, although not dirty, was like something from the 70's. Woodchip and cheap furniture was only saved by the comfort of the bed. The fact that the proprietor had to go and get us some cups and another towel seemed a little un-professional as did the fact that there was no welcome pack, local information, magazines or pamfhlets. The bathroom was clean though the toilet flush was very loose and there wasn't even a cup for the toothbrushes. it wasn't a hotel room that you would have felt like stopping in if it was pouring outside. In the morning the breakfast was really the last straw. Although well cooked, there was no menu, no choice, no fruit, no yoghurt, in fact nothing except sausage, bacon, egg, tomatoes and mushrooms......not really the sort of offerings that you would expect at £95 per night. I would hope to see the cereals etc laid out with fruit and other choices but there was absolutely nothing. The menu was in the head of the proprietor only and confirmed our feelings that the owners had little interest in what they were doing. For the same price we have sampled other local hostelries and found them to be of a far superior standard. Our stay would have been cut short had we been stopping for more than one night.

Reviewed by
Lee D

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
A warm welcome.

Reviewed by
R P B

From Wales
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
Nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
R B

From Wales
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rosehill Manor Hotel
Comfortable accommodation - good-sized room with large bathroom, all spotlessly clean; we had our evening meal there and the food and wine was excellent

Reviewed by
Sheila R

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My remarks
I was quite a way from any where as I had no transport and the Rosehill owners kindly gave me lifts which I paid for but other wise it would have been quite a problem, as I paid over £30 in a taxi to get there from the train station. The taxi driver couldn't find it even with a sat nave and didn't deduct money off when she had to double back to Guest House as we had past it on the journey

Reviewed by
J Mechem

From St Sampson's, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixture experience - but would go again.
The place was rather old fashioned in a dated-rather-than-quaint way. The room we had was a good size and was impeccably clean. The bed was extremely comfortable which is always the real test and the staff were friendly and helpful. I think if it were brought up to date a bit it would be brilliant.

Reviewed by
Patrick F

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Only stayed one night but perfect in every way.

Reviewed by
K Marchant

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly
We had a lovely stay, the owners couldn't have been any more accommodating- they really made our lives easier.

Reviewed by
Kate B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfy stay
Very, very clean hotel. our host could not have been more helpful and the breakfast was fabulous. While the decor and furnishings are a bit dated, the other points more than make up for it. Oh, and there were lovely thick fluffy towels in the bathrooms whcih was a treat!

Reviewed by
Claire B

From Reading, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hatters
The Rooms were cold, if hadn't been for a fan heater we would have been very cold.
the bed was very lumpy and i had a spring in my back all night, i have a bad back so this wasn't very good for me

Reviewed by
susan Hatfield

From Bracknell, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.