No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hunters Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Heddons Valley, , , Parracombe, EX31 4PY
The Hunters Inn is located in the beautiful Heddon Valley - one of the deepest valleys in England ... any deeper and it would be classified as a gorge.

The Hunters Inn Parracombe has immense charm & character – a unique building designed to resemble a Swiss chalet – and is situated at the heart of the beautiful Heddon Valley, an ideal place from which to explore the wild beauty of Exmoor and the North Devon Coastline.

Lovely walks with stunning views and abundant wildlife are literally on the doorstep, as is the coast path, whilst the beach at Heddons Mouth is just one mile away. Bedrooms are full of character, some with four-poster beds, some with balconies which overlook the garden - perfect for romantic escapes and weddings (but also good for lively weekends

Designed to fit in naturally with the intimidating beauty of the Heddon Valley - the lawns, lakes and shrubs of the garden do not disappoint. Our gardens are open to everyone with access from the Heddons Mouth path, the Inn or roadside.
Picture of Hunters Inn, Parracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Remote Country Pub with Good Beers and Food
On arrival, Hotel had not received our booking (via LateRooms). We'll never know whether this was a fault at the Hotel or at LateRooms. Luckily, they still had a room free, but not sure what we'd have done if they'd been fully booked as this place is in the middle of nowhere. Had to insist on the superior room as they wanted initially to give us a standard room based on the price we'd paid - luckily we had the booking details on the phone - Hence the middling score for Customer Service.
After checking in though, the room (Superior Double) was good, spacious and furnished to a good standard. Great selection of ales in the bar. Restaurant service good and friendly and the food several notches above standard pub food. Would recommend notwithstanding the booking dispute, which put rather a dampener on the stay.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very slow service in restaurant on the first night of our stay, put us off dining the following night.

Reviewed by
P James

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Anyone who has not discovered this hotel is missing a real treat. Set in a green wooded valley, the scenery is amazing as is the hotel. We stayed for one night after a wedding in a marquee in the garden,and it wasn't long enough. I can't begin to describe the peace and tranquility of the place with just the occasional cry of the peacocks breaking the silence. The outside is in need of some t.l.c but I think this is in hand and it doesn't detract but enhances the atmosphere.The staff are all very friendly and our room was first class, overlooking the garden. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and we didn't want to leave. So if you are looking for a peaceful stay in a beautiful valley with plenty of walking, this is your place.

Reviewed by
G Rowland

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem
Very friendly welcome. The staff were helpful but not intrusive. A good base for exploring the area. The hotel looked to be going through some upgrading which was evident from new carpets and a redecorated room / upper floor. The pub had a lovely area to sit and have a meal while overlooking the garde. Those wanting to drink and play pool could do so without disturbing others which seemed to work very well. The staff worked hard but had a smile on their face. We shall stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Foyle

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing weekend.

Reviewed by
sarah g

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded glory and delicious food
We loved our stay here. The building and fittings echo a bygone era, and there is plenty for the eye if you are a creative soul like me. The dinner was exceptional, and the serving staff also. The only downside was that our four-poster bed sagged in the middle. But I would definitely recommend this as a getaway for walkers and lovers of scenery.

Reviewed by
Josephine L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect setting for a romantic weekend
The hotel is in the most beautiful setting. So unspoilt. Lovely, friendly staff, clean rooms and the perfect place to stay. My partner and I will definitely be returning!

Reviewed by
L Collins

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Secluded Getaway in Devon - Hunters Inn
Just returned home from a 3 night break at the Hunters Inn - Fabulous!!
Lovely old hotel, full of character, wonderful views of the valley. Loads of coastal walks to choose from; the scenery is spectacular. Totally unspoilt part of the UK. The staff were friendly and helpful, the menu was limited but excellent quality and value for money. If you are looking for a complete de-stressing experience, then this is the place for you!
We can't wait till we go back again soon.

Reviewed by
Carol P

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tucked away cosy gem
Ahh, we really enjoyed our stay. Lovely fire. Beautiful walks next to babbling stream, opening to the coast. Peacefully out of the way from it all. Easy going owners that enjoy dogs, which does not make it a messy place at all, just welcoming. Friendly ! Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
L Latham

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A BLISSFUL RELAXING VISIT TO HUNTERS INN
What a wonderful place to stay, the location of the hotel is perfect if you want peace and quiet with plenty of walks on the doorstep. This is glorious Devon countryside and a wonderful place to stay. The hotel is a little shabby but the owner is clearly working on improvements and our room was lovely with the most comfortable bed that we have slept outside of our own. A good night's sleep assured. The hotel has a very homely feel and staff were all very welcoming and helpful.
My only criticism would be attention to detail which was lacking. A hotel like this is crynig out for some books around the place as well as OS maps of the local area. I thought the normal rate of £140 for our room was very expensive particularly when there was a large cable hole behind the dresser and this piece of furniture was frankly overdue for the skip!
Lovely garden, great setting, good beer - we will definitely go back but not a full price.

Reviewed by
D Barron

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next