No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gayton B&B

0Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
34 Meriden Road, , Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull, B92 0BT
Gayton is a private house offering excellent overnight accommodation focusing primarily upon visitors and exhibitors attending the National Exhibition Centre. Gayton is just one train stop from the NEC and Birmingham Airport via Birmingham International Railway Station. The station at Hampton in Arden is approximately 500 yards from Gayton so it is a very practical and convenient way to visit the above venues and much cheaper and quicker (avoiding the usual traffic jams) than using taxis. It is ideal for visitors and exhibitors alike. A return ticket is a mere £1.60, there are two trains per hour and the journey is just 5 minutes. With our friendly hospitality we aim to make our visitors relaxed and most welcome. We want you to feel at home particularly after a hard day. In addition to a good night's sleep a hearty breakfast is essential for the day ahead. Our accommodation comprises a maximum of two large double bedrooms each with washing facilities. Also a large bathroom with Jacuzzi and shower. Downstairs there is a large room with sofa, fridge, music centre, TV and dining table for 8 persons; ideal for spreading out paperwork and brochures. Wireless internet is available. There is a very pleasant garden and patio area with barbeque, which in the summer enjoys the afternoon sun. Having some personal space is important; spending time in a bedroom can be very lonely, at Gayton there is no need.
Picture of Gayton B&B, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to NEC
Staying at the Gayton B&B was perfect for my visit to the NEC. A comfortable home hosted by John and Kim who made me feel welcome. A short walk from the station from where a train ride to the NEC takes 3 minutes saving parking costs and queues.! I would highly recommend the Gayton B&B

Reviewed by
Tony White

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
Two minutes from Hampton manor where we were attending a wedding!
Great find, wonderful couple very welcoming! We didn't even realise there were any other guests there! Two mins from train station as well!
Fabulous breakfast!
Will stay again!

Reviewed by
Siobhan Rooney

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly place to stay, close to nec
Lovely people and John makes a great lemon drizzle! , easy access to nec and they couldn't do enough for us, definitely stay again should imagine in the warmer months the garden would be lovely to sit in after a hard day's graft at the nec.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hospitality
I go to the NEC regularly to visit trade shows. I chose to stay at John's B&B for two nights, because of its close proximity to NEC, it is only 3 minutes away on the train from NEC and the train ticket only cost 1.9 pounds each way. During my stay at John's B&B, I was more than pleased with the hospitality that I received. John went out of the way to make sure I am well looked after and all my needs are met. Throughout my stay, I was made feel so welcome and so at home. Due to the late train arrival on Sunday night, John kindly offered to pick me up at NEC. His partner and he cooked me lovely breakfast every morning. They are ever so friendly and accommodating. The house is a hidden gem, it is tastefully decorated, and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean indeed, and only 2 minutes walk to the Hampton-in-Arden train station. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone who travels to NEC or Birmingham.

Reviewed by
C Tang

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly - excellent
Excellent service and a lovely friendly welcome. Very accomodating and helpful, great place for a short break. Room was impeccably clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the full-english breakfasts.

Reviewed by
s macdonald

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a last minute booking due to an a burst water pipe in a hotel I had previously booked in Coventry, and when no others were available closer (show a Ricoh Arena, everywhere had been fully booked long in advance) I was very glad to find this place was in reasonable travelling distance. The gentleman that runs the place, John, was endlessly friendly and welcoming. The room itself was lovely and the bath was glorious. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Reviewed by
R Baldwin

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
I stayed with John whilst visiting a show at the Motorcycle Museum. I got a warm welcome, offer of homemade cake on arrival and had tea and a good natter. The room was lovely and spacious. The local pub was a 10 mins walk with nice food and John gave me the run of the house for the evening as he was out for dinner. Had the most awesome scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for breakfast. The motorcycle museum was minutes away. I would recommend to anyone not wanting to stay in a sterile hotel when visiting the NEC or other show venues locally. Thanks John!

Reviewed by
Dawn Williams

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gayton B&B
Very handy for the NEC, (only 3mins on the train and a 5min walk from the station), and much better value than the expensive hotels nearby. John, the host, is extremely friendly and attentive to his guests' needs.
The rooms are not ensuite, but as he takes a maximum of 4 guests this was not a problem. There was no chair or desk in my room, but John encourages guests to make themselves at home downstairs. The free wifi is also very handy.
Very good breakfast, and I won't mention John's sponge cake, or everybody will want one!

Reviewed by
Danny G

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much cheaper way to stay close to Birmingham NEC
I booked this B&B because I din't want to spend big money on a hotel on the NEC site. It's very easy to get to - just 3 minutes on the train from Birmingham International and there are 2 trains per hour. John has the train times in the kitchen so if you time it right you can get there in less than 15 mins. Even though it's a budget option, it is a great B&B. Everything you could want from a small family-style place. Warm welcome, big clean room, comfortable bed and a nice breakfast. I went for a healthy option but the cooked breakfast which I saw sizzling under the grill looked great. I'd definitely recommend Gayton and stay here again. Thanks John!

Reviewed by
Tom N

From Brighton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My accommodation experience.
It was an awesome experience and a very conducive environment. It was like home away from home and the host was very receptive. Superb!

Reviewed by
A Lawal

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in September 2012

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next