No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamb & Lion Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
2-4 HIGH PETERGATE , YORK, YO1 7EH
Grafted in to the ancient stone of the city itself just beyond the entrance of Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers luxuriously appointed rooms looking out towards York Minster & Bootham Bar. It also offers hearty, unpretentious food alongside real ales and fine wines.

Each unique en-suite bedroom has been beautifully decorated in earthy colours and all bathrooms benefit from luxury toiletries provided by Aromatherapy Associates. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

The Lamb & Lion Inn's restaurant boasts AA Rosette food and serves authentic, satisfying meals and simple but hearty sandwiches and soups that go perfectly with a pint of real ale or two!

York Minster is just a 2 minute walk away and the National Railway Museum is just a 15 minute walk away. Discounted parking is available nearby.
Picture of Lamb & Lion Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff who were most helpful in everyway . relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.bedrooms very clean and had everything we needed.breakfast Excellant couldn't be of a better service..I would most definitly stay again .thank you guys you made our stay. Very welcoming.
Julie evans

Reviewed by
Julie Evans

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay with excellent beer and food. If you avoid coming over a weekend then would be very good value indeed. Very friendly and welcoming staff, would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
M Kinge

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked the room and paid £169 what was described as executive suit the room was tiny
Was very disappointed with the stay staff not to helpful the room was tiny and not executive suite like it was described to me it was £169 for the night. Even the toilet door didn't latch just a poor stay and was fooled by the pics on there website.

Reviewed by
G Whitaker

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Too many stairs to the top floor, but could probably do with the exercise I suppose! Nice room, didn't spend any time in the pub, but it looked lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't have much breakfast due to being hungover but the missus said it was lovely. Would highly recommend the place.

Reviewed by
Ben B

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place and good value.
Excellent staff, friendly and efficient. Good food but limited choice. I could only get a single room which was good enough but very noisy from a huge fan right outside my window so avoid Room 10 if you can. My sister's double room was fine. Super location for the Centre.

Reviewed by
Mary M

From Danbury, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old building with lots of character
Staff very helpful and friendly, it's a gorgeous old building with quality furniture and fittings. Just a couple of very small niggles - we stayed in the deluxe bedroom and the bed was large and comfortable but my pillow was really lumpy, also there was no dressing table and only one small shelf in the bathroom, so nowhere to put toiletries and make-up when getting ready - I had to put my pots of make-up/small brushes etc on the bed and stand at the mirror. A small point I know, but it didn't feel convenient enough. If you are a light sleeper, the rooms at the front with their period (single glazed) windows were a little noisy, I was awoken throughout the night by noise from the road. But I can't emphasise enough that the staff were excellent and professional, the beer and food fantastic, great beer garden and it is a lovely old building.

Reviewed by
K Beard

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

midweek break
Central location, ideally situated. Staff very pleasant and helpful. We were in an attic bedroom which was ok, but 60 stairs to climb to get there. Make sure you're fit enough to climb them!! Breakfast was excellent and overall, good value for the price. We would give it a return visit.

Reviewed by
J Greener

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

?????????????????????????????
ヨークミンスターからほど近くにあり非常に便利です。
一階がパブ&レストランになっておりそこが受付でなんでもすぐに対応してくれますが
パブの従業員とホテルのレセプションを兼ねているため、ビールを運んでいる人に
ホテルのことを尋ねたりしなければならず、ちょっと気を使います。
部屋は可愛くて悪くはないのですが、私の部屋はキッチンのダクターがすぐ窓の外にあり
物凄くうるさかったです。うるさいので部屋を変えてほしいとというと部屋がいっぱいなので
無理だと言われました。10時にレストランが閉まるのでそれ以降は静かになるとの答えでした。それで我慢することにしました。9時半ごろに静かになりました。
それにしても、ちょっとこの音はうるさすぎました。
もし静かな部屋に通されていたら、いいホテルだと思ったかもしれません。

Reviewed by
Akiko I

From Japan
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay at lamb &lion
Everything that we'd asked for ...very central ..lot's to do and see and we both slept well

Reviewed by
D Brocklehurst

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor breakfast service
A nice comfortable and clean room but the stay was marred by some very simple things that are easy to remedy.
1: Do not insult your clients by asking them to pay up front before they have even seen the room.
2: The breakfasts on both days were very very slow to arrive and also when they did on day two they were wrong.
Shame really

Reviewed by
ALISON M

From LONDON, England
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next