No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamb & Lion Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
2-4 HIGH PETERGATE , YORK, YO1 7EH
Grafted in to the ancient stone of the city itself just beyond the entrance of Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers luxuriously appointed rooms looking out towards York Minster & Bootham Bar. It also offers hearty, unpretentious food alongside real ales and fine wines.

Each unique en-suite bedroom has been beautifully decorated in earthy colours and all bathrooms benefit from luxury toiletries provided by Aromatherapy Associates. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

The Lamb & Lion Inn's restaurant boasts AA Rosette food and serves authentic, satisfying meals and simple but hearty sandwiches and soups that go perfectly with a pint of real ale or two!

York Minster is just a 2 minute walk away and the National Railway Museum is just a 15 minute walk away. Discounted parking is available nearby.
Picture of Lamb & Lion Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb & Lion Inn
All very good.

Reviewed by
annette jones

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice!
Came as a couple, payed for the larger room and can not complain one bit. Staff were very helpful to me. All round nice place to stay, would come back again!!!

Reviewed by
c barwell

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay. Very central. All staff friendly and helpful. Wonderful breakfast. Room was quite small if staying a few days but very quirky with a corridor to the bathroom. Only downside was noise from the street and from inside so if you want somewhere quiet would suggest looking a little further out of town

Reviewed by
Robert P

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately couldn't sleep for the noise
Staff were fabulous! The room was situated on the street and being grade 2 listed couldn't have double glazing so we heard every single footstep outside. On the second night we also heard the night porter clattering the crockery at about 4 am as well as moving furniture around, we did tell the staff. The window ledges were really dirty but everything else was spotless

Reviewed by
Brian R

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb & Lion feedback
Highly recommend this as a quality place to stay in York. Friendly staff, lovely food and wine. I loved the cosy wood panelled walls and snugs in the pub where you can easily lose track of time. The pub is very close to the Minster and situated on one of the historical streets in York. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Llewellin

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
Great location, friendly staff, comfortable. Perfect for our stay we enjoy the pub/inn environment.

Reviewed by
andrew g

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience recommended
The Lamb and Lion is a good pub/Inn in the old sense, the rooms a clean and well laid out and the staff friendly and attentive. The rooms funishing were good but the one problem I found was the rooms were not double glazed so at the front of the hotel the rooms were noisy at different times. Saying this I could and did sleep but just take note, the breakfast was cracking all you could want hot or cold, the beer garden well situated and excellent rooms over all.

Reviewed by
A Wood

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff who were most helpful in everyway . relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.bedrooms very clean and had everything we needed.breakfast Excellant couldn't be of a better service..I would most definitly stay again .thank you guys you made our stay. Very welcoming.
Julie evans

Reviewed by
Julie Evans

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay with excellent beer and food. If you avoid coming over a weekend then would be very good value indeed. Very friendly and welcoming staff, would definitely come again.

Reviewed by
M Kinge

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked the room and paid £169 what was described as executive suit the room was tiny
Was very disappointed with the stay staff not to helpful the room was tiny and not executive suite like it was described to me it was £169 for the night. Even the toilet door didn't latch just a poor stay and was fooled by the pics on there website.

Reviewed by
G Whitaker

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next