No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamb & Lion Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
2-4 HIGH PETERGATE , YORK, YO1 7EH
Grafted in to the ancient stone of the city itself just beyond the entrance of Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers luxuriously appointed rooms looking out towards York Minster & Bootham Bar. It also offers hearty, unpretentious food alongside real ales and fine wines.

Each unique en-suite bedroom has been beautifully decorated in earthy colours and all bathrooms benefit from luxury toiletries provided by Aromatherapy Associates. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

The Lamb & Lion Inn's restaurant boasts AA Rosette food and serves authentic, satisfying meals and simple but hearty sandwiches and soups that go perfectly with a pint of real ale or two!

York Minster is just a 2 minute walk away and the National Railway Museum is just a 15 minute walk away. Discounted parking is available nearby.
Picture of Lamb & Lion Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellence simply delivered
The experience was exceptional indeed led by excellent Customer Service.

Reviewed by
A Gedge

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal situation, friendly staff

The hotel is an attractive building in an ideal setting close to the Minster. Nice pub with friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. I had a single room which was spotlessly clean and had all necessary amenities and a generous quantity of tea and coffee making supplies. My only real complaint was that the (original sash)window was somewhat draughty and I did wake up feeling cold in the night. It was a particularly cold and windy night but it might be a good idea to rethink the room layout as the bed is right next to the window-because of this it is also possible to hear the air conditioning unit outside the window though this isn't audible from other parts of the room. I would stay again though maybe in warmer weather

Reviewed by
Hannah C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2014 New Year Break
Accommodation was once again fabulous stayed here a few times
Previous and I still can't find a fault room was very spacious and very comfortable and the morning breakfast was yummy all staff where extremely polite and friendly :)

Reviewed by
W Jackson

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb And Lion Inn
A lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
Adrian Slack

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Personal Accommodation
We had a lovely stay in this Hotel. The friendliness and personal approach of all the staff made this city centre hotel feel more like a countryside B&B - they were all really lovely. The food, both evening and breakfast was delicious and the hotel is well worth a visit for a meal even if you're not staying there. Perfect location for the city centre. My only criticism would be the noise in room 3. We seemed to be just above a very noisy banging door which started around tea time and early in the morning waking us up and seemed continuous. This could probably sorted by a door stopper or slower on the problem door but please don't let that put you off it really is a fab little place.

Reviewed by
K Collins

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb & Lion Inn
All very good.

Reviewed by
annette jones

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice!
Came as a couple, payed for the larger room and can not complain one bit. Staff were very helpful to me. All round nice place to stay, would come back again!!!

Reviewed by
c barwell

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay. Very central. All staff friendly and helpful. Wonderful breakfast. Room was quite small if staying a few days but very quirky with a corridor to the bathroom. Only downside was noise from the street and from inside so if you want somewhere quiet would suggest looking a little further out of town

Reviewed by
Robert P

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately couldn't sleep for the noise
Staff were fabulous! The room was situated on the street and being grade 2 listed couldn't have double glazing so we heard every single footstep outside. On the second night we also heard the night porter clattering the crockery at about 4 am as well as moving furniture around, we did tell the staff. The window ledges were really dirty but everything else was spotless

Reviewed by
Brian R

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb & Lion feedback
Highly recommend this as a quality place to stay in York. Friendly staff, lovely food and wine. I loved the cosy wood panelled walls and snugs in the pub where you can easily lose track of time. The pub is very close to the Minster and situated on one of the historical streets in York. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Llewellin

From Sowerby Bridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next