Reviews - Lamb & Lion Inn



Price From 251.81 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • A Barnes

  • September 2015

Quirky, quintessential with quality

The Lamb & Lion Inn staff were welcoming and attentive.

Although our deluxe room 'The Attic' was a room without a view, the location inside the city walls, excellent beer garden and breakfast made up for this. York is a vibrant, historic city with plenty of bars, pubs, cafe's, restaurants and things to do - making it the perfect city break.

  • Adrian S

  • August 2015

Nice and central for enjoying York on foot

Charming building, particularly externally.

Room compact but adequate for a short stay. Breakfast was hearty; good selection of cooked and cold options. ( breakfast cups could be a little larger) but coffee was topped up when ever requested. Helpful staff on the whole, but glasses in the bar could be cleaner. They were changed at our request. They have a welcome policy of holding luggage after checking out until we were ready to collect the cases for our return home- so we were able to further explore York without the burden of our luggage. Thank you Lam& Lion.

  • C P

  • June 2015

Wish we'd stayed longer

Fabulous place right in the centre of everything going on.

Would definitely return, had a lovely stay.

  • F Bertrand

  • June 2015

Lamb and Lion Inn

We had booked 2 rooms.

One was great, spacious and quiet. The other one was very small, (the bathroom was also tiny), and very noisy during the night as if overlooked the street.

  • Andrew W

  • May 2015

Excellent location and friendly staff

We only stayed one night but we were well looked after.

The staff were very friendly and the dinner we had was excellent. The Inn is walking distance to many great attractions and we would likely look at staying here again if we come back to York.

  • A Thompson

  • April 2015

Couples weekend away

Brilliant pub/hotel, I'd stay again

  • Michael Pinnell

  • April 2015


very good and clean

  • Andrew Nixon

  • March 2015

Excellent stay

Superb food.

The black pudding bombs are to die for .

  • Anne F

  • March 2015

A Pleasant Place to Stay

Overall this is excellent B&B pub accommodation.

The room was quirky because of the age of the building and it is relatively peaceful for a city centre room. The décor is good and up to date. Definitely worth a second visit.

  • r chapman

  • March 2015

lovely, value for money stay in york

we arrived at the lamb and lion inn not expecting much, it was the cheapest hotel we could find in york within walking distance of the centre attractions.

We knew it would be noisy due to the age of the building, but this didn't bother our nights sleep. the room was very clean (i believe we had new pillows which was a bonus) and we loved the passageway to the bathroom (we stayed in room 2)

breakfast was lovely, and there are choices for everyone, and it filled us up for the morning. the only improvement i would say is to perhaps have a bell on reception/the bar. A couple just wanting to book a table and myself when checking in, were left waiting longer than i would have expected due to no staff being able to see us waiting. In addition if traveling by car, it is about £7 for a permit which expires at 10am and it is about 10-15 minutes walk away (depending on how much luggage you have) so you may wish to consider this when booking