Reviews - Lamb & Lion Inn

4

2-4 HIGH PETERGATE, YORK, YO1 7EH

Price From 318.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (53)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Hiscox

  • December 2013

Just returned from a very pleasant two night stay at the Lamb and Lion hotel in York.

The location is awesome, nestled right next to the Petergate arch, which really adds to the view and puts you right in the middle of everything.

From the reception area and main bar you can discover other rooms and snugs through a short labyrinth of wooden corridors. The bedrooms spiral above these over four/five floors. Overall very clean and cosy, with the limited space adding to the intimacy. However, this would prove a problem for families or even groups of three staying together, with not much room to hang clothes, store suitcases/belongings or generally spread out. Also, with it's low ceilings I found it to be quite claustrophobic at times. Regarding eating - the breakfast was prompt, abundant, well cooked and presented. Staff very helpful and friendly. Although an all-round 'thumbs up', at an already reduced price of £260 for just two nights, the concensus was that of it being over priced. Maybe a free meal or bottle of wine/champagne could make up for this. Due to the price we probably won't be visiting again. However, a great break was had by all!

  • D Shackleton

  • November 2013

Excellent facilities very quiet considering we were above a pub, extremely comfortable bed

We would definitely stay here again the centrally located accommodation was of a very good standard.

So pleased we choose to stay in a historic building and not a modern hotel. The breakfast was good but not excellent.

  • Pete B

  • November 2013

Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere

Great location

  • D Swift

  • November 2013

Loved staying here, Staff are very friendly.

Room was lovely. Looking forward to going again!

  • A Bussey

  • October 2013

absolutly magnificent little hotel

I shan't waste time with a silly story.

Instead, I'll jump straight in and say that this very well-kept hotel is the perfect place for a short stay in York.

Our room was spacious, well decorated and pristine. Everything radiated comfortable luxury, and the bed itself was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. Due to its age the Lamb and Lion's quite a quirky little place too, and does a truly magnificent job of blending old-school charm with the trappings of a modern hotel.

The staff deserve a special mention for being accomadating and very pleasant too!

  • J Hions

  • October 2013

Excellent characteristic building felt like a Harry Potter scene.

Weak breakfast though

  • M Williamson

  • October 2013

Lamb and the lion

Customer service was excellent, staff were very helpful and friendly.

My room was fine for one night but was very cold and was just an acceptable level of cleanliness. Bed was very comfortable!

  • S Kelly

  • October 2013

Warm welcome, Nice accommodation, Excellent food.

Nice warm friendly pub within the city walls serving a very food.

Friendly staff and a comfortable and spacious room.

  • I Mills

  • September 2013

Stay at Lamb and Lion September 2013

The Inn has an excellent location being only a short walk from the station but very lose to the minister.

Our room was at the top of the Inn so we had a bit of a climb ( three flights of stairs ) the room was well appointed, clean and tidy. The food was the best we had during our stay in York and with hindsight we should have eaten there more often. The Inn had a great location being close to all the locations you wod want to visit. I would recommend this Inn to anyone wanting a decent place to stay.

  • Stephen P

  • September 2013

Best pie ever!

Will definitely use again.

All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Location is excellent. Food was sublime and the steak and ale pie was the best I've ever had.