No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamb & Lion Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
2-4 HIGH PETERGATE , YORK, YO1 7EH
Grafted in to the ancient stone of the city itself just beyond the entrance of Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers luxuriously appointed rooms looking out towards York Minster & Bootham Bar. It also offers hearty, unpretentious food alongside real ales and fine wines.

Each unique en-suite bedroom has been beautifully decorated in earthy colours and all bathrooms benefit from luxury toiletries provided by Aromatherapy Associates. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

The Lamb & Lion Inn's restaurant boasts AA Rosette food and serves authentic, satisfying meals and simple but hearty sandwiches and soups that go perfectly with a pint of real ale or two!

York Minster is just a 2 minute walk away and the National Railway Museum is just a 15 minute walk away. Discounted parking is available nearby.
Picture of Lamb & Lion Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very quaint old Inn situated very close to York Minster. Adequate accommodation. Room was a decent size with good en suite facilities. Staff were very friendly and a delicious full English breakfast was provided. Only one minor fault and that was the breakfast area was a little chilly on the morning we were there.

Reviewed by
Edith G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay again, to the rear of the building.
A most enjoyable stay, apart from the noise outside. I suppose it would be inevitable given the position of the pub. I would deffinately stay again but would request a rear faceing room. The food was very good, with service as good.

Reviewed by
mark s

From derbys, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character!
A quirky inn to stay at with bags of character. A narrow winding staircase to room 9 required a bit of effort with a suitcase, but the breakfast was some compensation.

Reviewed by
desiree g

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb & Lion
A typical historic towm hotel, courteous service. Although, parking tickets were available (at a price) the nearest car park is 0.4mile away.

Reviewed by
A Dakin

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay in historic city of York.
An enjoyable stay in a very interesting city. Breakfast was very nice and filling but did not sample the rest of the menu for lunch or dinner. The room was clean and warm but the side light did not work and the TV was also not working during our stay. Bathroom was excellent with a powerful shower. A lot of noise late at night in the street outside and due to the fact the windows were not double glazed , resulted in us being woken up several times.

Reviewed by
matthew T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great location, characterful interiors, friendly staff and a keen price. Can't recommend this place too highly. It's now my default place to stay when in York

Reviewed by
Jim T

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb and Lion - Executive Room
We enjoyed our stay and the staff were helpful with parking and offered to look after our luggage while out shopping. The Hotel is small and cosy, the room was a little on the small size but everything you needed was there. The location is ideal for shopping and access to the central shopping area, York Minster etc. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Hooson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Authentic atmospheric experience
Loved the accomodation in the heart of the city. Good value for money and great room ammenities in my deluxe room.

Reviewed by
Sharon W

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb little pub with rooms
Stayed here mid week in December and what a treat !! The rooms were clean and well decorated ,the service was excellent (they will keep your bags after checking out if you are not leaving until later) and the food was excellent.This place is great value for money and would highly recommend this as a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
jan s

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!!
We booked this hotel as it has a lot of character and we weren't disappointed!! We had a great reception when we arrived early and it was no problem to sort out the car parking vouchers even before checking in. When we returned later in the day to check in we found our room to be spacious and full of charm as we had expected, with everything clean and tidy and working. My husband especially enjoyed sneaking his last pint up to the bedroom!! Breakfast in the morning was lovely, with plenty of tea to wash it down. Overall a great stay and we would definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Sarah Crawford

From Halifax, England
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next