No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamb & Lion Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
2-4 HIGH PETERGATE , YORK, YO1 7EH
Grafted in to the ancient stone of the city itself just beyond the entrance of Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers luxuriously appointed rooms looking out towards York Minster & Bootham Bar. It also offers hearty, unpretentious food alongside real ales and fine wines.

Each unique en-suite bedroom has been beautifully decorated in earthy colours and all bathrooms benefit from luxury toiletries provided by Aromatherapy Associates. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

The Lamb & Lion Inn's restaurant boasts AA Rosette food and serves authentic, satisfying meals and simple but hearty sandwiches and soups that go perfectly with a pint of real ale or two!

York Minster is just a 2 minute walk away and the National Railway Museum is just a 15 minute walk away. Discounted parking is available nearby.
Picture of Lamb & Lion Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place, good location

Reviewed by
zoe k

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit noisey but can't complain for the centre of York

Reviewed by
Glenn Hodkinson

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank holiday break
We stopped in the lamb and lion after my partner had a driving experience at the airfield outside of York. Check in was quick and easy we even arrived 1 hour early and were shown straight to our room. Very enjoyable stay and would return

Reviewed by
Christine Preston

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely people , very friendly .funny comment from owner/manager , he told me the room key was only programmed for one night , but was staying for two , so he said he would reprogramme ''so i wouldn't bother him again '' wasn't sure how to answer haha, only been there 1/2 an hour !!

Reviewed by
stephen p

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very quaint old Inn situated very close to York Minster. Adequate accommodation. Room was a decent size with good en suite facilities. Staff were very friendly and a delicious full English breakfast was provided. Only one minor fault and that was the breakfast area was a little chilly on the morning we were there.

Reviewed by
Edith G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay again, to the rear of the building.
A most enjoyable stay, apart from the noise outside. I suppose it would be inevitable given the position of the pub. I would deffinately stay again but would request a rear faceing room. The food was very good, with service as good.

Reviewed by
mark s

From derbys, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character!
A quirky inn to stay at with bags of character. A narrow winding staircase to room 9 required a bit of effort with a suitcase, but the breakfast was some compensation.

Reviewed by
desiree g

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lamb & Lion
A typical historic towm hotel, courteous service. Although, parking tickets were available (at a price) the nearest car park is 0.4mile away.

Reviewed by
A Dakin

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay in historic city of York.
An enjoyable stay in a very interesting city. Breakfast was very nice and filling but did not sample the rest of the menu for lunch or dinner. The room was clean and warm but the side light did not work and the TV was also not working during our stay. Bathroom was excellent with a powerful shower. A lot of noise late at night in the street outside and due to the fact the windows were not double glazed , resulted in us being woken up several times.

Reviewed by
matthew T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great location, characterful interiors, friendly staff and a keen price. Can't recommend this place too highly. It's now my default place to stay when in York

Reviewed by
Jim T

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next