No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandy Park Inn

0Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Sandy Park Inn, Sandy Park, , Chagford, TQ13 8JW
A Warm Welcome at Sandy Park Inn... A traditional 16th Century coaching inn in a beautiful setting near the River Teign, on the very edge of Dartmoor itself. Locals and visitors are drawn here to enjoy the quality of our draught beers, local ales and cider (we are a Free House). We also have a fine selection of wines and spirits for your enjoyment. After enjoying country pursuits on Dartmoor, you can return to the comfort of a fine country pub meal in the evening and a good night's rest in our comfortable rooms. We are located just a few minutes drive from the Whiddon Down exit from the A30 close to the charming moorland towns of Chagford and Moretonhampstead. Four rooms, each with its own character. The perfect base for your exploration of Dartmoor, the ideal accomodation that's as welcoming as it is comfortable. Prices from £60 per night are for two people, and include cooked or continental breakfast for 2 (cooked breakfasts between 8 & 9am only). Every room features tea and coffee making facilities, radio and CD player, plus free wi-fi in the room. An extra 'z' bed is available for a child (£6 extra). We are a pet friendly hotel, and you are welcome to bring one dog (£7.50 extra) - guests are asked to provide a suitable basket or similar.
Picture of Sandy Park Inn, Chagford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable accommodation, with a friendly and helpful welcome will definitely be staying agin and will recommend to friends and family

Reviewed by
C Waterlow

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny 16th century coaching inn with thatched roof- very quant.
Had a lovely stay at this extremely quaint inn. Inn is family run, quiet, cozy, unmatched charm. We extended our stay a night as we were so comfortable. Food was excellent . Service really great - Shana and family were very accommodating. Inn is a little funky (500 years old!) but very clean and comfortable. Very convenient to Dartmoor. Had the best time of all our trip!

Reviewed by
Kate O

From USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation very good hosts
Accommodation is quite basic very good friendly hosts
And a superb breakfast

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, warm and welcoming
Sandy Park Inn is a family run, family friendly Inn. The food is terrific and all locally sourced. The atmosphere is warm and accommodating.

Reviewed by
E Kay

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming pub
this was a clean and charming traditional pub, The service was good as was the food. However, I found the locals very territorial in that it was most certainly THEIR pub and we were intruders. After settling down by the fire in the main bar we had to leave as a group of locals were engaging in very loud and very vulgar conversation, The were fully aware of our presence and we both got the feeling that it was done deliberately to make us feel uncomfortable and it succeeded, One woman got up from her seat and practically in my ear shouted across the bar to another local in reference to his private parts!! disgusting and disrespectful in a public place regardless as to whether she thinks it is her pub!!! If it was I am sure she would be more careful with her mouth,. Such a shame because it is a lovely little pub in a lovely part of the country.

Reviewed by
Rose C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Country Retreat
Despite the initial difficulty in finding anywhere to park, the welcome at the Sandy Park Inn was very warm. Our double room had its own bathroom, though this was not en-suite. Rather surprising in these times, but I did get used to it and had, fortunately, taken a dressing gown! We had a DBB deal which was excellent value. Food choices in the evening were varied and the food was hot and well presented. Breakfast was cooked to order and again, arrived piping hot.

Reviewed by
Bob Crittenden

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No evening food available on the night of stay. VERY short of car parking and lanes are very narrow nearby. Access to bedrooms is through main bar and throuigh awkward double swing doors with a powerful return spring. No television in room. Warm welcome but the charge was passed when booked and not on departure.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From Pickering, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

toilet problems

Reviewed by
m clark

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an old building with lots of character, situated in a tiny hamlet. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We happened to arrive on the day of the local annual show and there was some traffic and parking problems but this is not likely to happen very often. We pulled up and asked the owners where we could park and they quickly moved one of their cars to let us park in their car park.
The room we booked was advertised as having a private rather than an ensuite bathroom so, as expected, we had a short walk along the corridor to the bathroom. I think all rooms had either ensuite or their own bathrooms so none of them were shared.
Breakfast was good, my partner (a vegetarian) loved the vegetable resotto that she had for her dinner) .

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a fabulous find
Was looking for some overnight accommodating and came across this place. Absolutely fabulous. Friendly, nice food and really comfy beds. Couldn't fault it.

Reviewed by
M Welburn

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next