Reviews - Sandy Park Inn


Sandy Park Inn, Sandy Park,, Chagford, TQ13 8JW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Christopher M

  • March 2015

Great food, friendly people...!

Fantastic place to stay, great fresh locally sourced food.

Very friendly owners, who had only been in charge for seven weeks by the time my wife and I stayed and were making a great job of it. Very much a locals pub in the early evening, who were also nevertheless very friendly to incomers, but a mixed cross section of folk later on. Great atmosphere - very laid back.

  • Joshua MacDonald

  • February 2015

Highly recommend

The property is located in a small hamlet on the edges of Dartmoor in Devon, recently under new management the landlord and landlady were very nice and welcoming.

The room was clean and pleasant. The food was very nice and a reasonable price. If your looking to walk across Dartmoor then I would highly recommend Sandy Park Inn, as they also accept dogs.

  • Stuart W

  • November 2014

Great little inn

We arrived late after a long drive and the staff were super friendly and very accommodating.

Dinner was excellent with plenty of locally sourced produce on the menu and excellent value. The main room / eating area is cosy with great atmosphere. The rooms are a bit old fashioned (but perfectly comfortable) but I thought this was a bonus rather than a negative - it fitted with the feel of the whole inn and is a refreshing change from the identikit rooms you commonly get nowadays. Two of the three rooms aren't en-suite but each has it's own private bathroom just down the corridor so there's still no sharing. Breakfast was very good: fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, etc plus cooked breakfast.

  • P C

  • July 2014

Basic rooms but very clean and comfortable accommodation with excelent food and customer care.

Unfortunately we had to cut our stay short as, having driven to a remote spot, our car was broken into and our wallets stolen.

A stupid mistake on our part but when we got back to the Inn Shona could not have done more to help us, providing us with phone and computer so that we could cancel all our cards and inform the police. She even provided us with a shot of brandy to help with the shock. To cut a long story short, we were touched by Shonas kindness, generosity and trust (we had no way of settling our account but that did not matter, it was more important to her that we were ok). It took the sting out of a nasty, upsetting experience and made us realise that although there are crooks about, there are also genuinely kind, caring people. Thank you Shona and we hope to visit again in the near future.

  • C Waterlow

  • June 2014

Very comfortable accommodation, with a friendly and helpful welcome will definitely be staying agin and will recommend to friends and family

  • Kate O

  • May 2014

Tiny 16th century coaching inn with thatched roof- very quant.

Had a lovely stay at this extremely quaint inn.

Inn is family run, quiet, cozy, unmatched charm. We extended our stay a night as we were so comfortable. Food was excellent . Service really great - Shana and family were very accommodating. Inn is a little funky (500 years old!) but very clean and comfortable. Very convenient to Dartmoor. Had the best time of all our trip!

  • John B

  • February 2014

Basic accommodation very good hosts

Accommodation is quite basic very good friendly hosts

And a superb breakfast

  • E Kay

  • February 2014

Excellent, warm and welcoming

Sandy Park Inn is a family run, family friendly Inn.

The food is terrific and all locally sourced. The atmosphere is warm and accommodating.