No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Marble Arch London by Montcalm

5Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
31 Great Cumberland Place London, London, W1H 7TA
Discover the flawless hospitality of the City at The Montcalm London Townhouse. Sleek, chic and fresh, the hotel accents luxurious comfort and creates an ambience of simple luxury to reflect the elegance and charm of the city.

All bedrooms are tastefully designed with stylish en-suite bathrooms and rain showers, accented with luxury toiletries. Standard room features include LCD flat-screen televisions, complimentary broadband Internet access, telephone with voicemail and a selection of international satellite television channels. Spacious and thoughtfully furnished , the hotel elegant suites are designed with a warm blend of elegance and comfort to make your stay an experience you'll always remember.

For those seeking a luxury spa experience, The Montcalm London Townhouse Wellness Centre is the perfect place to soothe, restore and enhance your well-being. Welcoming and tranquil, the spa’s luxuriously appointed treatment rooms have been carefully designed to promote a sense of pampering and wellness to compliment your experience
Picture of The Marble Arch London by Montcalm, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montcalm
First class hotel and very quiet for a central London location.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Bromyard, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast was disorganised staff not sure who they were supposed to be serving! They forgot our breakfast order and other larger families were served straight away.
The guest relations manager was going to deal with it and email me that day but never did!
Apart from that the staff and accommodation were top notch.

Reviewed by
Caroline M

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing on a couple of fronts
When I arrived to check in I was told that my room was on the other side of the road. Fine, my mistake, but the night manager seemed to be a very bad mood and although the receptionist tried to be as helpful as possible the boss hung around like a bad smell. The pressure of the situation generated a fairly chaotic process which involved 5 people in total.
The room was nicely decorated and appeared to have most mod cons, but it was on the ground floor adjacent to a busy road (so avoid rooms 801 and 802). But I guess you get what you pay for and I was not paying full whack through Laterooms.
My real beef though would be with the shower room. It was tiny, and I mean very tiny. The shower tray probably occupied 50% of the floor space! but what made things even worse was that the decor was all black. With a couple of small overhead lights and a totally ineffective mirror glow it was impossible to see anything. I am old enough to be able to brush my teeth in the dark but shaving was a complete lottery.
On check out the staff were again charming and fortunately the night manager was nowhere to be seen.

Reviewed by
James K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, Spafection but a bit perplexing
I was due to stay at this hotel listed but upon arrival I enquired about using the spa facilities at there other accommodation across the road and they informed me I had been upgraded to a room over there. Turns out they had upgraded me to a the 'Mayfair Suite' which to say the least was quite special. A beautiful bedroom with glass wall showing a high grade bathroom, and a lounge area with second shower room, all with hermes toiletries. Reception staff were keen to help, showing me tube directions and informing me of local sales. The only gripe was whilst having to wait to check-in/ check-out they never acknowledge my presence and intact on check-out completely ignored me, I decided to bolt. The spa was small but the very top end cardio, better than any gym Ive been to Matrix equipment, and the pool with a turbo jet in is amazing. Breakfast was half decent, attentive staff, lovely sausages but the scrambled egg wasn't great. I got lucky with the room but the location and amenities staying at the montcalm are very very good. The main shops and parks are literally 4 mins walk away!

Reviewed by
Christian C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
The staff, cleanliness and internal appearance great. Being critical , the window double glazing had blown so i had limited views. I stayed for three nights and left with a bill for accomodation at 280 a night, breakfast was an extra £29.00.

Reviewed by
Mike R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great stay, staff very attentive

Reviewed by
diana w

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value on special offer
I would have been enormously disappointed with this hotel had I paid full price. The initial room I was given was in the basement, facing a dingy & ugly internal courtyard, hardly any natural light and absolutely tiny. I asked to be moved to a room with natural light. The staff were incredibly helpful and obliging and found me a room instead on the 4th floor. Unfortunately they had not understood my request for 'natural light' as this room only had a small skylight that was blacked out. When I asked if the blind could be opened, I was told no. I gave up on the idea of having natural light and did my make-up for my night out as best I could flitting between the mirrors trying to see properly. The room itself was still small, but clean and modern and contained everything else you would want pretty much. It was good value at the special offer price, especially for central London, however if I had paid anywhere near the advertised rate, I would have been very disappointed indeed. I believe guests are able to use the facilities of the main Montcalm hotel over the road, which is good as there is little for guests in this hotel - no communal areas, gym etc. They should get rid of the awful bedrooms in the basement and make the space into areas for guests to relax.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location, a short walk from Oxford Street & Marble Arch
Stayed for one night, pleasant room but sadly an awful view into a yard of machinery. It was a junior suite on the ground floor, I like to think that we would have been given a better room for a longer stay. Check in was quick and efficient. It was good to be given access to the club lounge where drinks and canapés were served after 5.00pm and continental breakfast in the morning. On check out it was nice to be offered luggage storage by both the receptionist and the doorman. We were initially charged for spa treatment which we did not have but it was removed from the bill without fuss. We did not use the bar or the main restaurant.

Reviewed by
J Elliott

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Attentive, Very Clean, Very Nice, So very small and Expensive
The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was well appointed, modern, and clean. The shower was luxurious. But considering the price, the room was very small. It was difficult to move around the room because it barely fit the bed, desk and closet, much less my luggage. If you are traveling alone with little luggage and a larger budget, I say definitely check it out. If not, look for something else. I will probably go back myself, if they are running a special.

Reviewed by
Lawrence D

From USA
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny room
Can't complain at all about the standard of the room except the size. Really was the smallest double I have ever stayed in and at the price I expected more space. Staff also tried to tell me that the car park next door was not safe. For an extra fee they would take it elsewhere. Suspect they were on a cut. Car park next door perfectly safe and full of bentleys, Porsches and other exotica. Hotel location perfect for a walk in the park and great shopping.

Reviewed by
A Lamport

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next