Reviews - The Marble Arch London by Montcalm


31 Great Cumberland Place London, London, W1H 7TA

Price From 338.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Russell B

  • April 2015

Pleasant stay - hotel good, people lovely

Rooms not huge but very comfortable.

Liked the fruit.

  • S Jones

  • November 2014


First class hotel and very quiet for a central London location.

  • Caroline M

  • August 2014


Breakfast was disorganised staff not sure who they were supposed to be serving.

They forgot our breakfast order and other larger families were served straight away. The guest relations manager was going to deal with it and email me that day but never did. Apart from that the staff and accommodation were top notch.

  • James K

  • July 2014

Disappointing on a couple of fronts

When I arrived to check in I was told that my room was on the other side of the road.

Fine, my mistake, but the night manager seemed to be a very bad mood and although the receptionist tried to be as helpful as possible the boss hung around like a bad smell. The pressure of the situation generated a fairly chaotic process which involved 5 people in total. The room was nicely decorated and appeared to have most mod cons, but it was on the ground floor adjacent to a busy road (so avoid rooms 801 and 802). But I guess you get what you pay for and I was not paying full whack through Laterooms. My real beef though would be with the shower room. It was tiny, and I mean very tiny. The shower tray probably occupied 50% of the floor space. but what made things even worse was that the decor was all black. With a couple of small overhead lights and a totally ineffective mirror glow it was impossible to see anything. I am old enough to be able to brush my teeth in the dark but shaving was a complete lottery. On check out the staff were again charming and fortunately the night manager was nowhere to be seen.

  • Christian C

  • July 2014

Location, Spafection but a bit perplexing

I was due to stay at this hotel listed but upon arrival I enquired about using the spa facilities at there other accommodation across the road and they informed me I had been upgraded to a room over there.

Turns out they had upgraded me to a the 'Mayfair Suite' which to say the least was quite special. A beautiful bedroom with glass wall showing a high grade bathroom, and a lounge area with second shower room, all with hermes toiletries. Reception staff were keen to help, showing me tube directions and informing me of local sales. The only gripe was whilst having to wait to check-in/ check-out they never acknowledge my presence and intact on check-out completely ignored me, I decided to bolt. The spa was small but the very top end cardio, better than any gym Ive been to Matrix equipment, and the pool with a turbo jet in is amazing. Breakfast was half decent, attentive staff, lovely sausages but the scrambled egg wasn't great. I got lucky with the room but the location and amenities staying at the montcalm are very very good. The main shops and parks are literally 4 mins walk away!

  • Mike R

  • June 2014

Beautiful hotel

The staff, cleanliness and internal appearance great.

Being critical , the window double glazing had blown so i had limited views. I stayed for three nights and left with a bill for accomodation at 280 a night, breakfast was an extra £29.00.

  • diana w

  • May 2014

Had a great stay, staff very attentive

  • Fiona M

  • May 2014

Good value on special offer

I would have been enormously disappointed with this hotel had I paid full price.

The initial room I was given was in the basement, facing a dingy & ugly internal courtyard, hardly any natural light and absolutely tiny. I asked to be moved to a room with natural light. The staff were incredibly helpful and obliging and found me a room instead on the 4th floor. Unfortunately they had not understood my request for 'natural light' as this room only had a small skylight that was blacked out. When I asked if the blind could be opened, I was told no. I gave up on the idea of having natural light and did my make-up for my night out as best I could flitting between the mirrors trying to see properly. The room itself was still small, but clean and modern and contained everything else you would want pretty much. It was good value at the special offer price, especially for central London, however if I had paid anywhere near the advertised rate, I would have been very disappointed indeed. I believe guests are able to use the facilities of the main Montcalm hotel over the road, which is good as there is little for guests in this hotel - no communal areas, gym etc. They should get rid of the awful bedrooms in the basement and make the space into areas for guests to relax.

  • J Elliott

  • May 2014

Superb location, a short walk from Oxford Street & Marble Arch

Stayed for one night, pleasant room but sadly an awful view into a yard of machinery.

It was a junior suite on the ground floor, I like to think that we would have been given a better room for a longer stay. Check in was quick and efficient. It was good to be given access to the club lounge where drinks and canapés were served after 5.00pm and continental breakfast in the morning. On check out it was nice to be offered luggage storage by both the receptionist and the doorman. We were initially charged for spa treatment which we did not have but it was removed from the bill without fuss. We did not use the bar or the main restaurant.

  • Julia R

  • April 2014


Great accommodation - good staff, room nice, relaxing, all mod cons