No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Town House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh, EH2 3BN
Welcome to Edinburgh Townhouse...

We would like to offer you a very warm welcome to both the city of Edinburgh and to our Guesthouse situated amidst the Georgian elegance of Edinburgh's “New Town”, and only a few steps from the world famous Princes Street. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at,The Edinburgh Townhouse your home away from home catering for both the business and leisure traveller. our well appointed accommodation offers modern comfort at an affordable price. We look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh Town House and making your stay an enjoyable one.

The Edinburgh Townhouse is situated on the 3rd.floor off a Georgian Townhouse . Please be aware , we do not have an elevator,and is not suitable for people who have trouble climbing stairs. Set In the heart off Edinburgh's city centre.It was built back in the early 1800s. The Guesthouse offers a great location,on which to explore this great city.You could not pick a more central location, in which to stay.
Picture of Edinburgh Town House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thumbs Up for Edinburgh Town House
A very nice guest house situated in central Edinburgh. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was lovely - very cosy with a TV and en-suite bathroom. I would say it is not a good place to stay if stairs are a challenge for you though - to actually reach the reception area, you must climb about five flights of stairs and then if you've got a room in the floors above reception - this is another climb! Though stairs for me were not a problem in the slightest. The times for breakfast could have been better as well - 8-9 Mon-Sat and then 9-10 Sun. Would have liked it to be an hour and a half at least.
But overall, an excellent value-for-money place to stay.

Reviewed by
Clare R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location
Enjoyed my saty at the Edinburgh Town House.
Hospitable staff and very central location.

Reviewed by
Christine Rogerson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just an overnight stop,but no problems,warm welcome,clean and tidy room.Slightly disappointed that no cooked breakfast was available,but plenty of other breakfast options to choose from.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Edinburgh
Enjoyed the Edinburgh Town House, very centrally located for the conference I was attending, Waverley Station and the shops and restaurants. It was quiet and comfortable and the lady looking after the place was great, very friendly and helpful I would certainly recommend and stay there again.

Reviewed by
Hylda Marsh

From Isle of Mull, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff and super location
The young Spanish girl working there could not have been more helpful. She was wonderful from the minute we arrived until we checked out.
The breakfast is average but as you are more than likely eating out each day, it is sufficient.
The rooms are fine although if you are on the same level as the breakfast room the heavy doors do close quite noisily.
The location is perfect. You could not be better situated in Edinburgh central. I would recommend this hotel and would visit again. The only reason I did not score higher on value for money was because we happened to be there on a 6 nations weekend so the prices double for Friday and Saturday night

Reviewed by
O Nash

From Chelmsford, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed in one of the single rooms on the first floor. Room was small but more than adequate for an overnight stop. Very quiet, but excellent city centre location. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Gordon M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pattersons in edinburgh for gills 50th birthday
great location in walking distance of everything

Reviewed by
julie p

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, location, location
This hotel is definitely worth visiting it for three things:
LOCATION - being just a stones throw from George Street is an absolute bonus for any type of traveller. Whether you want to visit bars, restaurants, shops or the castle it is perfect.
THE BED - this is perhaps the most comfortable hotel bed that both I and my partner have stayed in. You will be guaranteed a good nights sleep as the walls are thick enough to absorb any external noise
FRIENDLINESS/HOSPITALITY- a warm welcome, even though we arrived late after a delayed train and we were able to leave our bags at the hotel even when checked out which was a HUGE plus.
Points to note when you book :
BREAKFAST is only served for one hour each morning, which unfortunately did not fit in with our timetables.
TOILETRIES are not provided, which meant we had to buy shower-gel the first morning in order to have a shower. Perhaps this is standard, but was unexpected and ultimately a little unprepared.
The SHOWER was, in my opinion, not hugely powerful, and was essentially a shower head over a quarry tiled corner.
All in all we WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN if we were visiting for a SHORT BREAK, but perhaps would require a little more luxury/space if we were staying along period of time.

Reviewed by
K Herbert

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Great place and excellent central location. Be aware that the front door of the guest house is two floors up from street level and some guest rooms can be another two flights up. There is no lift. Our host was very welcoming and I'd definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Samantha P

From Brodick, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hogmanay Gem!
Centrally located guesthouse with a friendly and attentive host.
Close to the airport bus stop and main shopping strip. Great location for Hogmanay street party too!

Reviewed by
Frances H

From Battersea, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next