No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Town House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
38 North Castle Street, Edinburgh, EH2 3BN
Welcome to Edinburgh Townhouse...

We would like to offer you a very warm welcome to both the city of Edinburgh and to our Guesthouse situated amidst the Georgian elegance of Edinburgh's “New Town”, and only a few steps from the world famous Princes Street. A warm friendly welcome awaits you at,The Edinburgh Townhouse your home away from home catering for both the business and leisure traveller. our well appointed accommodation offers modern comfort at an affordable price. We look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh Town House and making your stay an enjoyable one.

The Edinburgh Townhouse is situated on the 3rd.floor off a Georgian Townhouse . Please be aware , we do not have an elevator,and is not suitable for people who have trouble climbing stairs. Set In the heart off Edinburgh's city centre.It was built back in the early 1800s. The Guesthouse offers a great location,on which to explore this great city.You could not pick a more central location, in which to stay.
Picture of Edinburgh Town House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than we thought
We had the upstairs room where we had to share the bathroom - we are used to having en-suite but this did not cause any problems as there were only two rooms sharing and we barely saw the other people. The bathroom had just been modernised and a shower cubicle replacing the bath which was much better.
The room itself was basic but clean - We had a double bed which was very comfortable and a single which was not used. There was a slight problem with the sloping ceiling but we just moved a set of drawers and this was rectified.
The only downside was the stairs - 5 flights to our room but we managed fine. and received help with our luggage which was welcome.
The staff were very friendly, courteous and very friendly at all times .
My wife and I would go back there next time we are in Edinburgh - definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
D Cooper

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice clean room with very welcoming and helpful staff. No cooked breakfast though.

Reviewed by
P Gilhooley

From Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location - No frills B&B
It's all about location: 2 minutes from George Street, 4 minutes from Princes Street, fabulously close to everything and when you step outside the door first thing you see is the castle. The B&B itself is good value for money - you get a no frills room with all you need (including a hairdryer) and a lovely breafast too. Very friendly housekeeper. Please note that the B&B is in a picturesque listed building which also means it does not have a lift and just single-glazed windows.

Reviewed by
A Jung

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good stay for what we required - however lots of stairs!!

Reviewed by
D Kesur

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very basic
very welcoming and friendly

Reviewed by
kathleen hill

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay During The Fringe
I stayed with my partner for 3 nights during the Edinburgh Fringe.
I booked the room (triple with shared bathroom) with Laterooms well in advance (6 months) to secure a good rate, knowing that prices hit the roof the closer to August you book. I had a slight scare when in March I was contacted by the manager/owner who told me my credit card details hadn't filtered through from Laterooms and that my room had been allocated to someone else...however, this was quickly rectified by a very kind offer for a free upgrade to another triple room (with an ensuite) - phew!
Upon arrival I was extremely pleased with the location, on Castle Street - a stones throw from Princes Street. There are a few flights of stairs to climb to get to the reception area/dining room which might be problematic for those who are elderly or who have mobility problems or babies with pushchairs, but otherwise they shouldn't pose too much of a problem.
Check-in was straightforward, and conducted by the manager/owner himself who was very welcoming and showed us to our room. The room itself was excellent - spacious, with one double and one single bed with a small ensuite shower room. Wonderful view of the castle out of the big sash window overlooking Castle Street. The room (and indeed communal areas) were cleaned to a very high standard by the hard working housekeeper - not a speck of dust/dirt, fresh towels everyday - high attention to details.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again/recommend to others!

Reviewed by
C Boak

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The twin bedroom with a shared bathroom is not where as nice as the picture of the en-suite double you see on the website. The twin room is an old, small room under the roof. Felt like I was misled by the photos on the website. The bathroom has a low celling above the bath tube. It would be okay if you want to have a bath, but not suitable at all for having a quick shower as you cannot stand!

Reviewed by
N Rattanachaiwong

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money for such a central location. Three flights of stairs before getting to reception and a further flight to room a bit daunting but well worth it, and we knew the stairs were there when we booked!

Reviewed by
P Whalley

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Really basic. Fairly run down. Could not recommend it. Was very disappointed. There are many reasonable places to stay that are much nicer than this.

Reviewed by
Kieran H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very central
Great value for money, excellent location.

Reviewed by
Ingunn H

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next