No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Plume of Feathers

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
MITCHELL , NEWQUAY, TR8 5AX
The Plume of Feathers - restaurant, pub and bed and breakfast accommodation - is located in Mitchell, Cornwall, within close driving distance of Newquay (including Newquay Airport) and Truro.

Having built up an excellent reputation for pub dining The Plume’s extensive menu and daily specials has something for all, where the emphasis is on fresh quality seasonal ingredients and attentive service.

But the The Plume of Feathers is more than just excellent food and service. The old stables and barn have been superbly converted to create eight cosy bed & breakfast rooms.

Hidden away behind the main building,
we have lovingly renovated the once dilapidated stable barns to house five stylish rooms, with adjoining courtyard and meandering garden paths. King size wrought iron beds, beautiful bathrooms, shuttered windows and neutral décor are all conducive to sound sleep.

Picture of The Plume of Feathers, NEWQUAY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great

Reviewed by
Caroline Smith

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and position.Great pub which was an added bonus

Reviewed by
Dean Knowles

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room, very hot night with little ventilation........
The overall impression is that of a lovely place to stay, unfortunately the wifi in the room was not working which isn't great when you are on business, however the room itself was lovely (room 3), it was a very hot evening and the room only has a very small window to leave open. The breakfast was delicious, the Caeser salad was 'ok' I the bar area in the evening. Would I come back......yes but probably in the cooler months. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Even the chap that's cars handbrake failed and ran in to my car in the car park was kind enough to leave his telephone number to sort out the repairs!

Reviewed by
Sean O

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
We booked this accommodation quite last minute, but were not disappointed at all! We received a very warm welcome from Paul the owner who took us to our room. The decor was very tasteful and up to date. The breakfast was included in the price and was all local produce, and the bonus was that our little dog was allowed to join us! We think we've found a little gem!!

Reviewed by
C Ettery

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very polite and helpfull, exelent accommodation

Reviewed by
K Miles

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and food
Lovely place to stay; great shower and massive room but not necessarily worth the amount I paid for. Staff were great and lovely breakfast. Would go again next time I'm in the area!

Reviewed by
Emilia S

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying visit to Cornwall
Booked at the very last moment and telephoned to book a table for dinner as we know it is very popular.
The rooms were ideal and shared a bathroom. The shower was really hot and powerful. Nice big televisions in the rooms. The room at the front had french windows and looked over the garden where the camelias were flowering. I was disappointed to look out my window at the back over wild brambles and hedges. However in the morning this was full of little birds busy building nests and singing their hearts out..
The meal was excellent with lots of local ingredients. We asked for the table over the well but there were too many of us to sit around it.
Breakfast was another feast with my party eating smoked salmon and poached eggs.
Only one complaint. The metal bed springs made a lot of noise everytime someone turned over in their sleep. But I'd had too much good Australian wine to take much notice

Reviewed by
AMANDA L

From Winscombe, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class accommodation & Excellant food staff very helpful and polite

Reviewed by
John Goss

From Sandy, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.