No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pack Horse

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
The Pack Horse, 1 Plymouth Road, , South Brent, TQ10 9BH
The Pack Horse Inn is the oldest existing Pub in South Brent, Devon. It has medieval origins & one of the beams in the pub is said to be off a medieval ship. The Pack Horse existed in the 14th century and could even be as early as the 13th century. An old English welcome greets you at our family run Inn, with local real ales, friendly atmosphere & a large open fire. Escape the hurly-burley of modern day life & enjoy old world charm, real food, drink & good company at The Pack Horse. Built in the medieval times as a resting place for the packhorse trains that carried goods between the farmers & miners on Dartmoor & the trading towns closer to the coast, today it offers comfortable, well equipped bedrooms and a home cooked breakfast, with all dietary needs catered for. Should you wish to eat we have a wide range of fresh local produce, home cooked meals, baked pizzas from our pizza oven & fresh battered fish. The last Saturday in the month we will be having live music. Please contact us or take a look on our Facebook page if you would like more information. The property is ideally located in the centre of the historic village of South Brent close to the A38 Devon Expressway, halfway between Exeter and Plymouth. The Pack Horse is great for hikers, with convenient access to Dartmoor & 20 minutes to the seaside. Bring the rod, as its also a good spot for fishing! If you wish to bring your own bike we have dry storage to store them. We are the only Inn in the village with its own car park. We believe we are responsible for achieving good environmental practice & operating in a sustainable manner.
Picture of The Pack Horse, South Brent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a last minute booking for a weekend away to see our daughter and nearly all the hotels around Totnes were booked due to the school holidays and the hot weather at the time.. We found The Pack Horse on Late Rooms which had 1 double room left for the 2 nights we required. On arrival we was disappointed to see repair work going on, but this was soon displaced by a warm greeting from the Landlady who showed us to our room which was spacious and fresh with a view looking out to the moors , we had keys to the main door so we could come and go as we pleased, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was cooked perfectly and with plenty of choice, by her husband who informed us he had been a chef by trade, and served by their daughter. They apologised for the repair work as they were refitting the tea room that weekend having not long taken over The Pack Horse. This was a very enjoyable weekend away and our stay was faultless and we wish them all the best with this new venture.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Llanarth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

D Holdsworth stayed in July 2014
The room was very nice and the staff were very friendly.
The only slight gripe I had was the car park entrance. Although a Transit managed to get through, I wouldn't have risked my car due to lack of turning circle and very narrow road outside the entrance. There is a free car park though within easy walking distance, so there was no real issue with this.
Wouldn't stop me staying again.

Reviewed by
D Holdsworth

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accomodation/food/staff.
After initially feeling awkward walking in on part of the folk fest' being held at the pub we checked in and settled for the evening. Pizza seemed to be their specialty food-wiseand they were very good! The Otter ale also went down very nicely. Staff and locals were friendly and chatty. Room was tidy/ clean. Breafast okay too. All in all a pleasant stay and good value.

Reviewed by
M MORGAN

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We stayed here for one night while attending a function in a nearby town. We were welcomed on arrival in a very warm and friendly way and shown to a very nice twin room, which had everything that we needed. Breakfast was good and the family running the establishment were very attentive and helpful. We would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sue D

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation at a country pub
The Pack Horse provided a spotlessly clean room for a very reasonable price. I'd expected to use a public car park but was pleased to find a small car park for visitors alongside the pub. The only disappointment was the absence of the chef but the friendly landlady offered to cook a basic meal instead.

Reviewed by
Peter Q

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must stay
Everything was perfect, room , breakfast, evening meal and customer service and all for a fair price.
A real hidden gem.
Can't wait to be able to stay again.
I can recommend The Packhorse to anyone for a short or long stay.

Reviewed by
Rachelle C

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On our way to Falmouth
We booked this country inn to break up our journey to Falmouth. On arrival the pub was closed for a private function, and it transpires that this inn and the Oak round the corner close for lunch (which we discovered is due to lack of custom). Anyway we thought the room was very nice and comfortable and after a few drinks in the evening decided to eat in. The food presented appeared to be freshly prepared and both myself and wife thought the food was excellent. Although some of the locals seemed a bit stuffy, on the whole it was a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
craig smith

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No warm welcome evening meal rubbish

Reviewed by
D Humphries

From Stourport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little town great room!
Me and my GF we start our travel staying in the little town after been in other places, when we just arrive it was a bit type of a noisy bar, but then after meet the guy in charge it was a lovely bloke that explain us everything about the place and the town, the room it was huge compare to other more expensive that we book and immaculate clean with nice toiletry, just to say that is a great room to stay if you are around those areas.

Reviewed by
Miguel Angel T

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very good - excellent place to stay
This is a great place to stay. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and beautifully presented - and everyone working there was kind and welcoming. The pub downstairs is a proper pub that serves very good food too. Would definitely recommend and definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
Rachael H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next