No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pack Horse

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
The Pack Horse, 1 Plymouth Road, , South Brent, TQ10 9BH
The Pack Horse Inn is the oldest existing Pub in South Brent, Devon. It has medieval origins & one of the beams in the pub is said to be off a medieval ship. The Pack Horse existed in the 14th century and could even be as early as the 13th century. An old English welcome greets you at our family run Inn, with local real ales, friendly atmosphere & a large open fire. Escape the hurly-burley of modern day life & enjoy old world charm, real food, drink & good company at The Pack Horse. Built in the medieval times as a resting place for the packhorse trains that carried goods between the farmers & miners on Dartmoor & the trading towns closer to the coast, today it offers comfortable, well equipped bedrooms and a home cooked breakfast, with all dietary needs catered for. Should you wish to eat we have a wide range of fresh local produce, home cooked meals, baked pizzas from our pizza oven & fresh battered fish. The last Saturday in the month we will be having live music. Please contact us or take a look on our Facebook page if you would like more information. The property is ideally located in the centre of the historic village of South Brent close to the A38 Devon Expressway, halfway between Exeter and Plymouth. The Pack Horse is great for hikers, with convenient access to Dartmoor & 20 minutes to the seaside. Bring the rod, as its also a good spot for fishing! If you wish to bring your own bike we have dry storage to store them. We are the only Inn in the village with its own car park. We believe we are responsible for achieving good environmental practice & operating in a sustainable manner.
Picture of The Pack Horse, South Brent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the Packhorse hotel
We were given a lovely big room which was very clean with everything you could need.For us it was a convenient place to stay overnight for our short break touring Devon.

Reviewed by
C Tilley

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff excellent, food very good, breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jayne L

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Pack Horse
Excellent value for money. We were welcomed with the offer of either tea or coffee on arrival, such a nice touch. It shows just how much effort the owners put into going the extra mile. The room was spacious and well appointed, the beds very comfortable and a well stocked tea tray.
We ate in the bar which has a good pub menu all at reasonable prices.
South Brent is as delightful village and we were very pleased with our choice of both location and The Pack Horse Inn.

Reviewed by
B Brownlie

From Prestwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice
Nice large room, food was really good. Comfortable bed. Good location if you want to get to Plymouth or Torquay and not travel too far.

Reviewed by
Amy P

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class experience!
The name of this pub caught our eye for a last minute booking. We were so pleased we chose it. The people were so friendly and accommodating. The room was first class. (And The four poster bed was an added bonus!). We had an evening meal which was excellent home cooked food.
All round excellent friendly pub and would highly recommend and definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Cliff C

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly
This was a last minute booking in order to look at houses for sale in the area. There was a friendly welcome and the best thing about the accommodation is that it is self contained without the need to disturb anyone to get in or out.. The accommodation is Eco friendly. There is a very informative folder in the rooms which provides details of local attractions and history.Comfortable and excellent value for money. Very large breakfast cooked to order with good choice.

Reviewed by
Helen N

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On first approaching the packhorse it looks a little tatty. As does the bar / lounge downstairs. The entrance and stairs leading to the rooms is dark and uniinviting. However the room itself was lovely, but the bathroom does need updating, although clean and comfortable. Would I stay there again? Yes.

Reviewed by
m grunnell

From Southwold, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was spotless, was very surprised of quality of room owners have gone to great effort to provide good quality. Had a drink downstairs in the pub and everyone was friendly, sports on tv for my boyfriend but not over the top for me, you could still have a conversation. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Kim W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We left before breakfast but had a good meal the evening before. The room was very clean with lots of extras, well worth the money.

Reviewed by
s stimpson

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3