No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Haven In The Vale

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Haven In The Vale Hotel, Grantham Road, on A52, Whatton, NG13 9EW
All rooms have easy access. Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms available all with en-suites. Checking in times available from 12:00pm-9pm. Rooms serviced daily. Tea and Coffee facilities in all rooms, flat screen TVs with freeview, toiletries provided in all rooms, central heating, large restaurant, food served all day from 6:30am-9:00pm, free car park, function/conference rooms, disabled bedrooms available. Also Sky TV Located on A52 between Whatton and Bottesford, rural location, 10 miles to Nottingham city centre, 8 miles to Grantham, 30 miles to East Midlands airport, nearest train station 2 miles, taxi service available, 4 miles to Belvoir Castle, fishing lakes adjoining. We are within 10 miles of all the sports centres in Nottingham. Only 8 miles from Newark Show ground and 11miles from Southwell Racecourse 9 miles from Belton House 20 miles from Burley House. Several local Fishing Lakes. Our restaurant have a 5 star rating the top mark you can acheive.
Picture of Haven In The Vale, Whatton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here
My fiancée and I stayed here for one night on the 7th of June. On arriving the Hotel looked acceptable, on entering the Hotel we were welcomed with dated Decore and half torn furniture, we have benefit of doubt and proceeded to check in. No one was present at the reception and went through to the bar. We were told that the room were booked was not available because there was not hot water and we were given a family room. On preceding up to our room, the cleanly an state of the hotel was less than what was expected, the room had one double and a single bed which was next to window. The room smelt of damp and when I opened the curtains the whole frame fell from the wall, when we spoke to reception they said that this had happened on more than one occasion but failed to understand that it needed fixed and if a child had been in that bed below the window it could have caused serious injury, with the protruding nails. We attended breakfast the next morning, it was cold and not eatable, orange juice and toast was all we could stomach. So on a simple note, don't waste your ££ to stay here.

ManagementResponse

When the guest, Mr Hawthorne, arrived there was a plumber putting a new emersion element in the tank and we were told it would be about 30 minutes before the room would be ready. So we up graded them to a bigger room. The curtain did come off the wall with a lump of plaster. This looks like it was pulled off deliberately. There is no damp smell in this room. This room has redecorated in March this year. I don’t understand about the breakfast being cold as it is made to order when the guest comes in.

Reviewed by
Philip Hawthorne

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money charged
The 1st room (room 4) had 2 beds, one being a single which had 2 mattresses and was impossible to sleep on. The TV also did not work. The 2nd room (room 16) also had no working TV but did have 2 beds and a shower. The whole place had the feel of a dormitory and although the shower and beds were clean, the whole place needed upgrading and painting. It was very poor quality for the money and it should not be regarded as a 'hotel'; 'hostel' would be more suitable. Avoid it unless you have to go there!

ManagementResponse

All beds are less than 6 months old all TV’s are switch off at the main switch for safety reasons. Most rooms have been painted and upgraded we have completed 26 rooms and have 7 more to finish which are being completed now. Regards, Roy

Reviewed by
S Murray

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was disgusting - there was a smell of damp in the shower, there were holes in the flooring, the walls and the shower base had come away from the wall. The shower did not work properly, and the kettle was absolutely foul - I wouldn't have made a cup of tea in that if you paid me. The walls were a disgusting mustard yellow artex, and the television (which comes with a less-than-friendly note about the remote control) was practically postage stamp sized. Top this all off with the fact that, whilst I was in bed on Sunday morning, a young boy (who I later spied cleaning one of the rooms) just walked into my bedroom without knocking or announcing himself in any other manner. This place was atrocious. The only saving grace was that at least the bed sheets seemed clean.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for letting us know the shower needed sealant round the edges. This is were the damp smell seams to be coming from. We have checked the kettle it did have a small amount of lime scale in it this has now been rectified. The young gentleman cleaner did not start work until 11.30 all rooms should be vacated by 11.00 o clock.We have spoken to him and he said he always knock before entering any room all TV’s are new and are the right size for the rooms. Regards, Roy

Reviewed by
R Hogg

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay
3rd time of staying. Very good value for money. Nice to be able to just go to the bar and eat in the restaurant. Room clean and comfortable. Ideal for me on a business trip.

Reviewed by
Derek Stacey

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would recommend very clean great food very friendly staff cannot thank them enough for a wonderful stay

Reviewed by
Michael Hayes

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good accom
Clean and pleasant hotel Friendly staff and good food Really good value

Reviewed by
D Robson

From East Boldon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived on a cold wet evening, hotel room was warm and clean and evening meal in the bar/restaurant area reasonable and tasty. Full english breakfast the following morning delicious.

Reviewed by
D Barrett

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
good basically clean accommodation near a convenient main road

Reviewed by
Frank E

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money...

Reviewed by
Yani C

From Sindlesham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointment
I stayed here about 6 months ago and couldn't fault it- this time a different story. I arrived at 7 pm to an empty reception, just as i was about to go through to the bar a gentleman said he was going through and would send someone. The girl arrived and took my name,showed me 3 debit card receipts and asked which one was mine! I was then handed my key and off she went. I was not told where my room was nor what time breakfast was in the morning. When i finally found the room it was clean enough but there was no remote for the tv so i couldn't even attempt to get a suitable picture to view and despite there being a double and a single bed in the room i defy anyone to have a comfortable nights sleep ! Upon returning my key to the empty reception in the morning there were the 2 debit card receipts from the evening before laying on the reception desk with a checking in form and keys next to them.... i take care to shred all my receipts as advised by our banks but this hotel shows no regard to their guests data protection or protecting their financial information. Shocking to say the least.

Reviewed by
patricia thompson

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next