No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Haven In The Vale

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Grantham Road, , , Whatton, NG13 9EW
All rooms have easy access. Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms available all with en-suites. Checking in times available from 12:00pm-9pm. Rooms serviced daily. Tea and Coffee facilities in all rooms, flat screen TVs with freeview, toiletries provided in all rooms, central heating, large restaurant, food served all day from 6:30am-9:00pm, free car park, function/conference rooms, disabled bedrooms available. Also Sky TV Located on A52 between Whatton and Bottesford, rural location, 10 miles to Nottingham city centre, 8 miles to Grantham, 30 miles to East Midlands airport, nearest train station 2 miles, taxi service available, 4 miles to Belvoir Castle, fishing lakes adjoining. We are within 10 miles of all the sports centres in Nottingham. Only 8 miles from Newark Show ground and 11 miles from Southwell Racecourse 9 miles from Belton House 20 miles from Burley House. Several local Fishing Lakes. Our restaurant have a 5 star rating the top mark you can achieve.
Picture of Haven In The Vale, Whatton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3rd visit and I'll be back
I can't see what reviewers moan about..ok, the price has crept up a bit and the guy behind the bar on Friday was nothing short of thick, but other than that it's fine. The food is good, breakfast excellent, rooms warm and sheets clean - and quiet. Overall, the staff are helpful and cheerful - except Mr Friday, who despite being there 5 months didn't know where our room was, couldn't work out what a special steak night deal meant and didn't know what beer he was serving. I'll be going again.

Reviewed by
Charles Cooper

From Dunkeld, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff food was very nice had meal in the evening was very good and plenty on the plate to i would reccommend a change of mattress in the room i was in as you could feel the springs on your body that aside had a pleasant stay

Reviewed by
christopher leigh

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best!
Clean room and nice ensuite with good shower and hot water. Used only one towel 1st night, so folded unused towels and put on window sill. On my return to the room, I found all 4 towels slung over the rail, so I had no idea which were clean. The mattress was so worn that the coil springs were sticking through, although the sheets were clean.
I couldn't lock myself into the room at night, although the key worked from the outside. I put a chair against the door as a precaution.
Money was charged to my credit card FIVE days before I arrived!
The staff were pleasant but overstretched, especially the barman.

Reviewed by
P Richardson

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable accomodation
Perfect with the own restaurant and bar in the hotel, because it's not so close to arestaurant nearby.

Reviewed by
Magnus Zingmark

From , Sweden
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet place
Nice hotel, just off of a main road but far enough away for it not to be loud. Food in the bar was very good too

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant owner, extraordinary housekeeping!
Very basic room, only stayed for a wedding elsewhere so was just about acceptable. Owner very polite and obliging, booked a taxi for us on request. Housekeeping were extremely rude, unlocking our room and entering well before check out, and doing the same to our friend along the corridor. On check in and check out, guests must navigate a mountain of towels and sheets thrown down the stairs without breaking their necks - hard to do when they cover the first four bottom steps and most of the hallway, and especially difficult with luggage in your hands. Never seen anything like it!

Reviewed by
Jo W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel clean staff clean food spot on . What can I say about helen the breakfast chef nice and cheerful every morning

Reviewed by
paul blackburn

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing to write home about
The accommodation was just passable.
The TV antenna was an indoor arrangement and inadequate for even half reasonable reception.
There were no spare power sockets, had to unplug a bedside lamp and scramble behind a bedside table to charge my phone.
The bath tap leaked the whole time.
The English Breakfast was good but all four of the various steak dishes were off the menu on the first night so I dined elsewhere for the rest of my three day stay.
The lounge and Wi-Fi area is cleared and locked when the bar closes.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK if your part of the travelling community
Monies were taken for accommodation before arrival not part of the booking agreement ! What if I had intended to pay via different card/method ?

Reviewed by
M Davies

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a spooky place
fancy arriving axt a &B and finding an empty hotel. No one at the reception, just a brief note left on the desk to tell you your room number and breakfast time. this was very unpleasant and had we not paid we would have left the place straight away. In themorning we had tolook for the dining room, call someone by banging on the counter, here again, quite pleasant. Breakfast was probably planned for hard labourers...we just wish we had never chosen this place and we won't recommend it to anyone

Reviewed by
JEAN MICHEL L

From DENICE, France
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next