Reviews - Haven In The Vale


Grantham Road, Whatton, NG13 9EW

Price From 95.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (23)

57% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Maureen K

  • July 2015

A good basic hotel

Room was clean and comfortable but some defects.

Extractor in the bathroom didn't work, only one bedside lamp. Staffing levels when we arrived on Sat pm were dire. One poor woman manning reception and the bar!, breakfast a bit chaotic but plentiful. My son had a family room but no cot, despite a specific request on booking. No high chair was offered in the restaurant tho' one was brought when requested. Hotel is very conveniently situated on A 52

  • G Sackman

  • July 2015

Brilliant Stay!

Excellent experience from start to finish.

Superb food, friendly staff, lovely settings!

  • P Parker

  • June 2015

A stop at Haven Vale, Wharton UK

A lovely stay.

Warm welcome, room overlooked a field and was clean and comfortable, had tea and coffee making facilities and a small tv. There was also a soft armchair. The bathroom was compact but,bright and nicely decorated. It had a shower, basin, and wc. Two towels each were provided and there was a heated towel rail for them. The wc seat was very loose and wobbly which was a bit disconcerting. The lounge had wonderfully comfortable seating and the bar was well equipped. The restaurant was spread through the bar area and into a separate area overlooking the garden, food was excellent and plentiful. Great value for money.

  • Beth P

  • June 2015

Clean but very basic

Lovely reception and clean rooms.

Unfortunately we did not have a shower and this wasn't on the information when we booked. Room was a little tired but clean. Not bad at all for the money and last minute booking.

  • v nile

  • May 2015

awful will never stay again

On arrival we were given a double room although I had booked a family room for my husband our son & myself.

although this was not a problem as our son decided to stay with family in the area. The room was very dated. mix match furniture. shower doors broken. tissue box fell off wall when touched. light outside room was broken. reported it but didn't get repaired. certainly didn't warrant £65. went for breakfast & was told could not change anything on set menu but could have scrambled eggs as they were already made & she wanted rid of them. awful place.

  • Charles Cooper

  • October 2014

3rd visit and I'll be back

I can't see what reviewers moan about..ok, the price has crept up a bit and the guy behind the bar on Friday was nothing short of thick, but other than that it's fine.

The food is good, breakfast excellent, rooms warm and sheets clean - and quiet. Overall, the staff are helpful and cheerful - except Mr Friday, who despite being there 5 months didn't know where our room was, couldn't work out what a special steak night deal meant and didn't know what beer he was serving. I'll be going again.

  • christopher leigh

  • October 2014

friendly staff food was very nice had meal in the evening was very good and plenty on the plate to i would reccommend a change of mattress in the room i was in as you could feel the springs on your body that aside had a pleasant stay

  • P Richardson

  • September 2014

Not the best!

Clean room and nice ensuite with good shower and hot water.

Used only one towel 1st night, so folded unused towels and put on window sill. On my return to the room, I found all 4 towels slung over the rail, so I had no idea which were clean. The mattress was so worn that the coil springs were sticking through, although the sheets were clean. I couldn't lock myself into the room at night, although the key worked from the outside. I put a chair against the door as a precaution. Money was charged to my credit card FIVE days before I arrived.

The staff were pleasant but overstretched, especially the barman.

  • Jo W

  • September 2014

Pleasant owner, extraordinary housekeeping!

Very basic room, only stayed for a wedding elsewhere so was just about acceptable.

Owner very polite and obliging, booked a taxi for us on request. Housekeeping were extremely rude, unlocking our room and entering well before check out, and doing the same to our friend along the corridor. On check in and check out, guests must navigate a mountain of towels and sheets thrown down the stairs without breaking their necks - hard to do when they cover the first four bottom steps and most of the hallway, and especially difficult with luggage in your hands. Never seen anything like it!

  • Magnus Zingmark

  • September 2014

Affordable accomodation

Perfect with the own restaurant and bar in the hotel, because it's not so close to arestaurant nearby.