No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Haven In The Vale

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Grantham Road, , , Whatton, NG13 9EW
All rooms have easy access. Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms available all with en-suites. Checking in times available from 12:00pm-9pm. Rooms serviced daily. Tea and Coffee facilities in all rooms, flat screen TVs with freeview, toiletries provided in all rooms, central heating, large restaurant, food served all day from 6:30am-9:00pm, free car park, function/conference rooms, disabled bedrooms available. Also Sky TV Located on A52 between Whatton and Bottesford, rural location, 10 miles to Nottingham city centre, 8 miles to Grantham, 30 miles to East Midlands airport, nearest train station 2 miles, taxi service available, 4 miles to Belvoir Castle, fishing lakes adjoining. We are within 10 miles of all the sports centres in Nottingham. Only 8 miles from Newark Show ground and 11 miles from Southwell Racecourse 9 miles from Belton House 20 miles from Burley House. Several local Fishing Lakes. Our restaurant have a 5 star rating the top mark you can achieve.
Picture of Haven In The Vale, Whatton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff
I needed a room near the National Watersports Centre as I had to be there by 5:30 a.m. The Vale of Belvoir Hotel was less than 20 minutes away so was ideal. I asked for takeaway breakfast when I booked via LateRooms. When I asked about it on arrival the time of my departure was a problem but the lady who booked me in suggested that she could make me a bacon sandwich after the bar closed and would I like crisps and a drink too. Obviously, they would normally do a hot bacon sandwich when the kitchen is open. True to her word she left my breakfast on reception (together with quite a few others). It might be an idea to be able to provide a cold takeaway breakfast for people who have to travel early - something like a cereal bar, a piece of fruit and a bottle of juice, although I appreciate it might be months before they have to do it again :) My room was fresh and clean and had tea & coffee and a TV. A glass for water would have been nice but not a problem as a mug does the same job. I have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inns and this hotel provided equally as good accommodation. The quilted loo paper was a definite plus for me as I hate the thin stuff you usually get. If there had been some note paper in my room I would have left a thank you note for my breakfast. Very little touches that they might consider. I didn't use the main areas but I went in to the bar to check in and thought it looked very nice, clean with new carpet. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Kay Easter

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Out in the Country Hotel and Pub
The hotel was clean but had seen better days. It could do with a good handiman to fix little points - the toilet seat was not fixed on, this took me 2 minutes to fix myself, a shelf was missing over the sink and a tile was missing around the bottom of the sink.
Some windows on the first floor had been replaced with double units but most were single glass in wooden frames which looked in bad condition.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meal was very good and good value.

Reviewed by
Philip G

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vale of Belvoir
This hotel is very good value for money. The staff are pleasant and helpful and there is plenty of parking.

Reviewed by
Christine W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like the crossroads motel
The hotel from the outside looks a bit tired, If we do have a summer the garden could do with a few benches to take advantage of the ample grounds.
Inside is clean and tidy, food is good,
The room I stayed in was clean and tidy, the bed very comfortable.
The surrounding villages have some very nice real ale pubs

Reviewed by
Lawrence R

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly helpful staff, pricey for the standard
Con: Small bed, one towel (and only hand towels available), budget furnishings
Pro: Clean room, reception kind and friendly, good shower
Overall: OK place to stay but it's priced like a better place!

Reviewed by
J Gluth

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So close to being excellent
On arrival, the hotel looks a little tired from the outside however they are having painting etc done so I'm sure it will look better soon. The receptionist was pleasant enough and when directed to the room, I was pleasantly surprised. It had obviously recently been renovated and was to a very high standard - the bed was excellent, the room was clean and the bathroom was virtually new. Unfortunately the advertised "Wi Fi in rooms" didn't transpire as I was too far away to pick up a signal which was a little frustrating as I book hotels on the basis that I can work in my room. However I decided to take my work into the bar where all the staff were stood around chatting and I did feel that I was somewhat of an inconvenience to them. Their conversation was not what I would call appropriate in front of customers but the bar and restaurant area themselves were very pleasant. The evening buffet was cheap but of a fairly poor quality unfortunately - a complete contrast to the cooked breakfast in the morning which was excellent !!
Overall, excellent value for money - really would be 10 out of 10 if you could sort out the wi fi and invest in a little Customer Service Training !!

Reviewed by
Ian G

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold welcome struggled to improve after that
When we arrived there was nobody to greet us at a freezing cold reception area. Once we found our way into the bar we then found somebody to check us in. Once check in we went to our room which was freezing had not been cleaned very well and had paint flaking off one of the walls. After a fairly long journey we were looking forward to having a warm drink but although there was a kettle and drink making ingredients there were no cups. So after turning on the heating to try and warm up the room we went to find some one to get us some cups. On getting to the bar area we were told that they would get some cups to our room after 6 o'clock as they couldn’t do anything till then as they were short staffed and could do it till the next shift came on. So we were forced to purchase a drink from the bar. On going back to our room to get ready for our night out the room had warmed up so we got ready and left our room at 7 o'clock with still no cups turning up. We returned to our room after our night out and had a comfortable nights sleep. On waking up in the morning and wanting a drink still no cups had arrived so as it was 7oclock I went down to the get some cups from the restaurant as it was suppose to open at 7 but there was nobody down there the door was locked and in darkness there were some fishermen outside banging on the door as well training to get in for breakfast. Eventually somebody turned up at just before half seven and we finally managed to get some cups and take them to the room ourselves to have a drink. After having a drink we went down for breakfast which once we sat down was quite pleasant and the hosts were quite chatty and welcoming although nice was a little to late. A comfortable night but severely lacking in any customer service

Reviewed by
P Barker

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Working away with home comforts
Excellent stay in this hotel, clean comfy rooms with friendly helpful staff. Lovely hearty full english.
Would stay again if and when next working or travelling in this area.

Reviewed by
L Blake

From Eastleigh, England
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
After reading previous reviews we weren't sure what to expect. However room was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The only suggestion we would make would be to put a full length mirror in the room.

Reviewed by
Lisa M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vale of Belvoir Inn & Hotel
Order an evening meal which came pretty quick but had to send back as it was not cooked as ordered,it then took over forty minutes for replacement to arrive which was ok buy not the correct weight as described in menu and price was much higher than most 5 star hotels

Reviewed by
a carter

From Romney Marsh, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next