You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Buckatree Hall Hotel

3

Buckatree Hall Hotel The Wrekin, Telford, TF6 5AL

Price From 115.39 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Mason

  • June 2016

Buckatree Hall Hotel

Loved the room, loved the location.

Staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay again

  • D Burton

  • June 2016

Very clean, good food, very helpful. Thank you.

Will come back.

  • Robert B

  • May 2016

Buckatree Hall Hotel

Good night sleep, I have used this hotel before several times and I like it, took my wife there and she also liked it.

Good location and views.

  • Karen G

  • March 2016

Welcoming, warm and hospitable. Great place to stay.

special thanks to Alex who was an absolute star prior to the visit and during it.

  • Colin A

  • January 2016

Proceed with caution

Having paid the extra for a 'Superior' room, we were not impressed.

The first impression came from the extractor fan in the bathroom, which sounded like a couple of trucks competing to see which could make more noise. The 'balcony' had cigarette ends on the floor and comprised a small space from which one could lean on a dirty wall and gaze through an aperture in the sloping roof. There were no chairs on the balcony, because it wasn't big enough to contain a pair of chairs. While there was undeniably room to fit both of us into this aperture at the same time - although we didn't actually lean on the unwelcoming grubby sheet metal atop the wall - I did spread my arms experimentally and found that I could easily touch both sides at the same time (and, no, I'm only about 5' 8"). The view from this 'Superior' balcony was of the car park, whose most prominent feature was the three huge gas tanks in the corner. To be fair, my immediate complaint was accepted without question - I suspected that I may not have been to first to make such a comment - and we were moved to another 'Superior' room. In this, the fan worked properly and there was a real balcony. But... Only one teaspoon to accompany the two saucers and two cups, with minimal supplies to put in them - one coffee, one decaff coffee and a couple of teabags to last two guests from mid-afternoon until the following day. Do not assume that a 'Superior' room will mean a 'King' sized bed, or a 'Queen' at worst - it doesn't. Do not expect a modern duvet; your standard-sized double bed will bear sheets and blankets. If you like your breakfast bacon flabby, undercooked, lukewarm and greasy, you won't have to make a special request, as this is the standard. Your equally uninviting sausage will bear two brown stripes, to show that it has actually been cooked; otherwise, you might doubt it. The staff - uniformly friendly, cheerful and ready to help, the Buckatree's best feature by a long way - will, if you prefer, have some bacon cooked more thoroughly for you and then bring it to your table, although it won't arrive until you've almost finished. Breakfast is served - well, it is available for you to serve yourself - for a conveniently lengthy two hours. I wouldn't recommend, however, having a lie-in and leaving it until 20 minutes before the end, unless you like having to ask for eggs, beans, toasting bread, apple juice etc. to be replenished. (To be honest, I just lifted and tilted the apple juice dispenser to get the last dregs, rather than making another request; by then, I'd given up and just wanted to leave.) My partner grew up within a mile of the Buckatree ; her parents still live in Wellington. She had always known, or imagined, this to be a luxury hotel. I think that 'disillusioned' would be the most appropriate word. Within the last three or four years, I have stayed in UK hotels ranging from £15 per night to ten times that; the folks at the Buckatree really wouldn't want to hear how I'd rank it in terms of relative value for money. Would we stay there again, or recommend it to friends. Hardly - and only then for reasons of location.

  • eric smith

  • January 2016

Overnight stay

Hotel receptionist doubled as barman and waiter as very few guests in January.

He was very friendly and welcoming. We will return later in year. Location excellent on slopes of Wrekin.

  • Sue H

  • January 2016

Buckatree Hall Hotel

Good quality accommodation at a reasonable price - well that's what I thought when I booked it.

On examination of my receipt, I discovered that I'd been overcharged by £16 and that was after my friend had been overcharged at the bar by over £6. Both amounts were refunded immediately.

  • cheryl l

  • December 2015

pleasant overnight stay

overall, a very pleasant stay.

we had 2 rooms and both were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Would stay again when in the area.

  • M Howells

  • December 2015

Hotel is good but bed was not.

Uncomfortable bed springs twanged when moving

  • michael b

  • December 2015

Good Value For Money - A Hotel With Possibilities

Excellent value for money however the hotel has much more potential and could achieve more with a little extra TLC.

The housekeeping needs a shake up as there were patches of mould on the bathroom ceiling and wallpaper and mould on the wall by the balcony. The balcony had a lot of moss on it- this could have been cleared a a few minutes. The free wifi didnt work on any of our three items. The hotel is well situated for scenic countryside and walks and therefore good for a weekend retreat. Breakfast at £10.95 a little steep!