No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dovecote Inn

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Dovecote Inn, Cross Hill Laxton, , Laxton, NG22 0SX
Here at The Dovecote you will find a lovely, traditional country pub with an excellent reputation throughout Nottinghamshire and beyond, well respected for: Fine home-cooked food using the finest local ingredients. An excellent selection of cask ales. Fine wines. An extensive selection of beers, spirits and soft drinks. All served in a warm relaxed atmosphere by our friendly attentive team. We have two letting rooms at The Dovecote. They have recently been completely refurbished with new bathrooms, and are situated in a pretty barn conversion opposite the pub premises.
Picture of The Dovecote Inn, Laxton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely Inn
This is a lovely inn in a very quiet and peaceful village. The food and staff were excellent.

Reviewed by
D King

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming place to stay over
This is a wonderful retreat, the rooms offer everything you could possibly need. They are comfortable, airy and so well equipped you'll want for nothing. Delightful and restful spot.

Reviewed by
Catherine H

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We were made to feel really welcome.
The facilities were excellent.
The location and facilities were superb.
We were delighted with our experience at the dovecote inn.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

THE BEST B&B EVER
Arrived alone to such a lovely warm welcome ( David ) a true gentleman who offered to carry my bag , shown to room 2 was very happy spotless lovely fresh white linen on bed fluffy towels . Partner arriving later so took myself over to the pub was made to feel very comfortable and staff were very attentive . I work in hospitality so was pleasently supprised by the excellent customer service nothing to much trouble for any of the staff, and sorry to chef for our late dining, we just had a starter as only wanted a lite supper but enjoyed very much, would recomend Dovecote to all our friends . Keep up your standards well done . only little let down bathroom wall needs a paint touch up x

Reviewed by
J Hill

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exceptional
fantastic room-clean-very big-continental breakfast had everything we could want .the owners and staff were superb-the food in the pub was exceptional-loved the location-will definitely visit again!-don't hesitate book it !!!

Reviewed by
george wing

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent inn
The room was excellent, quiet and comfortable, in a lovely inn, in a beautiful village.

Reviewed by
Jeff Palmer

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
The 2 rooms are adjacent to the Inn in what looks to have been a barn conversion. Although the inn is very popular the location is generally quiet. The rooms were very clean and well presented and personally I loved the "in room" continental breakfast (fruit, yoghurt, toast, rolls, cereal, cheeses etc.) rather than having to go to the inn. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and have to say that it was excellent too. I would recommend the Dovecote Inn to anyone and will definitely stay again when working in the area.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful and relaxing
Wasn't sure what to expect as there was no official rating available, but the bedroom was comfortable and attractive, and it was rather nice to have a continental breakfast in the room, all the while enjoying the lovely views from every window.
Beautiful unspoilt village, and The Dovecote occupies a prime spot.
Only one tiny criticism is the chest of drawers needed fixing; but that's all.
The restaurant closes at 6pm but plenty of warning was given for this.
Would be happy to return.

Reviewed by
Melanie G

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice place to recharge
This is the second time I have stayed here and again cannot fault it.
I was due to be at a meeting in Nottingham and wanted to stay somewhere the night before that wasn't the typical bed factory and The Dovecote fits the bill perfectly. Friendly staff, great food, great service and a comfortable room.
The breakfast is continental style and provided in the room but that worked well for me and I could suit myself, and get away with the minimum of fuss having paid my bill the night before at the bar.
Would recommend a stay here with out hesitation if you want some where a little off the beaten track.

Reviewed by
Matthew B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.