No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harrow Inn

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
WARREN STREET , MAIDSTONE, ME17 2ED
Please give us the opportunity to welcome you to the Harrow Inn. True to its Kentish heritage our 17th Century Inn nestles in tranquil countryside by the medieval market town of Lenham. Once a forge and rest house for travelers on the nearby Pilgrims Way, the Harrow Inn continues to offer warm hospitality in a traditional atmosphere. There’s good quality English fare to enjoy under the ancient beams of the cosy bar or in the bright conservatory restaurant. Comfortable accommodation is offered in 10 pleasant and tastefully decorated rooms all on-suite. Treat yourselves to lunch or dinner by our open log fires in winter or relax outside on the terraces beside the pond area during the summer months.

With extensive grounds and ample parking convenience is combined with the personal touch in our authentic independent free house which isn't tied to any chain. We would be delighted to discuss and tailor functions and special events to your particular requirements. A private lounge can be made available for dining and business meetings as well as local clubs and societies. Complimentary wireless broadband is accessible throughout. Our friendly welcome extends to the many walkers, horse riders and well-behaved dogs enjoying this designated area of outstanding natural beauty.

A very young child (up to 5 years of age) can stay free of charge if sharing a bed with parents. Good discounts for longer stay, Mon-Fri deals.
Please call in advance if you stay Sunday night and wish to use the bar/restaurant. Usually the bar and restaurant are closed Sunday evenings between December and March.
Picture of The Harrow Inn, MAIDSTONE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, quiet and value for money
Clean comfortable accommodation, slightly off the beaten track but quiet and good value for money. Breakfast was good too. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
John W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy. what..
Extremely rude unprofessional staff. Nothing more to say.check it out on trip advisor!!!

Reviewed by
s e

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in a closed hotel
It was very difficult to gain entry as everything, including the pub doors, were locked. There was a telephone number to ring but no telephone signal. It was Sunday but it was not made clear before we arrived that the bar and restaurant were completely closed so we had to drive 15 minutes to the nearest village to find dinner. This was not what we expected as the details described a bar with log fire. The toilet in the room did not flush.

ManagementResponse

Dear Madam, You have booked a room through Late room.You haven't inquired about a table in our restaurant. On our website you can see our opening times clearly stating that it is closed on Sunday evenings, which comes to say that we do not hide this fact and we do not try to mislead our customers. Today I have put a short text in the description of the property on LateRooms, hopefully LateRooms will allow this text to be added to the general description. May I point out that it is a normal practice to book tables at restaurants - you would have been bitterly disappointed with no one to blame if you come to our restaurant on a busy night and there's no table for you. You say it took you 15 minutes drive to the nearest village. Please google the distance between The Harrow Inn and Lenham centre - it will show as 3 miles - so it is 6 minutes at 30 miles per hour. Your statement that it takes 15 minutes drive to the nearest village may put off potential customers which would affect our business. And as it is not a valid and truthful statement - I kindly ask you to remove this bad review. I totally understand that you might have been inconvenienced and that you expected a few quite hours in our bar in front of the log fire. That's why if you ever visit us, I promise to cheer you up with a glass of one of our very good wines. Kind regards, Anton Stoynev, Manager of The Harrow Inn

Reviewed by
Penny S

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Free Bird
Good room but location is not ideal for commuter and breakfast was not good.

Reviewed by
m modi

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Harrow Inn
Warm welcome, lovely rooms and value for money. Will use again.

Reviewed by
d morris

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Inn
Lovely and friendly Inn, in a very quiet location.
Very good value for money, I would stay again.

Reviewed by
L tomkins

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful accommodation well worth it ,would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
kathryn s

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location in a green farm landscape in the heart of Kent.
The ost was polite and friendly,
the location perfect for a break from the city. The room was clean and warm atmosphere.
Excellent value for money!
We'll be back soon for sure.

Reviewed by
G Vilardo

From Aylesford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Second time here, consistent.

Reviewed by
chris b

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Visit
Disappointed, we have known this pub on and off for 20 years plus. Welcome was warm. Room spacious as was bathroom - clean. Evening meal was excellent. We had booked breakfast for each morning which again was excellent.
However the pub and accommodation looks and feels neglected, the owners would be wise to invest in redecoration and new beds and bedding (our bed was old and very uncomfortable).
During our stay we did not see any locals using either the pub or restaurant. Most of guests appeared to be staying there whilst working in the area. Overall this pub/inn would be ok for 1 night if passing through but if like us you are visiting family, it not ideal for a long stay.

Reviewed by
L Pyall

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next