No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harrow Inn

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
WARREN STREET , MAIDSTONE, ME17 2ED
Please give us the opportunity to welcome you to the Harrow Inn. True to its Kentish heritage our 17th Century Inn nestles in tranquil countryside by the medieval market town of Lenham. Once a forge and rest house for travelers on the nearby Pilgrims Way, the Harrow Inn continues to offer warm hospitality in a traditional atmosphere. There’s good quality English fare to enjoy under the ancient beams of the cosy bar or in the bright conservatory restaurant. Comfortable accommodation is offered in 10 pleasant and tastefully decorated rooms all on-suite. Treat yourselves to lunch or dinner by our open log fires in winter or relax outside on the terraces beside the pond area during the summer months.

With extensive grounds and ample parking convenience is combined with the personal touch in our authentic independent free house which isn't tied to any chain. We would be delighted to discuss and tailor functions and special events to your particular requirements. A private lounge can be made available for dining and business meetings as well as local clubs and societies. Complimentary wireless broadband is accessible throughout. Our friendly welcome extends to the many walkers, horse riders and well-behaved dogs enjoying this designated area of outstanding natural beauty.

A very young child (up to 5 years of age) can stay free of charge if sharing a bed with parents. Good discounts for longer stay, Mon-Fri deals.
Picture of The Harrow Inn, MAIDSTONE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Revisiting my youth
Lovely little Inn hidden in the countryside. I had a large comfortable room. The bed was comfortable, the bedding was clean, but sheets and pillows were not very good quality, you could see the mattress through the bottom sheet.
Food was perfectly acceptable. The gentleman who attended the bar and generally looked after the front of house was charming and helpful. An asset to the establishment.

Reviewed by
M Hatch

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty location, nice room
Gorgeous location out in the countryside, very pretty. Room was surprisingly big and very comfy, nice and clean. Loved the dresser for getting ready! As others have mentioned think the paper bathmat should be re-thought- cheap and nasty, would rather just have an extra towel to put down. Just a warning- if you need cab best to pre-book, we had a nightmare on the Sunday trying to get one (waited well over an hour) and there is no mobile phone reception from the B and B. Owners were very helpful in letting us use hotel phone.

Reviewed by
Zara W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Previous reviews were spot on!
Value for money - it was spot on! The rooms were a little dated and needed some money spent (Why was the showere broken - not expensive to repair), but they were clean and comfortable. Stayed 3 nights. The food was ok and plentiful, but not a destination eatery!! Then there was Colin - the host who's character makes this place ...... helpful, concerned and friendly. Overall great value for a short break (we had 3 nights), but if you want "quality" thisisn't it ..... value for money = 10/10

Reviewed by
Roger W

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a wonderful place to stay
I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my business partners. Best thing, you can only relax as there is no connection to check e-mails or make phone calls.

Reviewed by
andrea f

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay thank you

Reviewed by
ian m

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
lovely place to stay for one night ,perfect for what was required , but alittle off the beaten track !! welcoming ,lovely size rooms , very quiet !!

Reviewed by
AMANDA HAYES

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A secluded spot for a quiet stay
The Harrow Inn is quite a distance along a single track road with infrequent passing places. The upside of that location is a very quiet, peaceful place to stay overnight and a pleasant drive in the immediate vicinity of the hotel during daylight hours. As there are no street lights some might find the same journey in the dark rather alarming. We visited friends until late so I cannot say whether there is noise from the bar of an evening, but certainly there was no noise from the kitchen nor sound of deliveries to spoil a Sunday morning.
We didn't take dinner, but the "full English" breakfast was provided promptly and well cooked: sausages brown all over without being burned, bacon cooked through but not crisped, fried egg neat and not runny. If you wanted things differently I'm sure they could have been provided! Our host offered extra helpings although the portions were ample without being excessive. I would make a point of taking dinner when staying again.
The room we stayed in could be arranged flexibly, and easily accommodated the four of us (two adults and two teenage children) with plenty of space to move around without bumping into each other. Beds were fairly firm but comfortable. The ensuite bathroom's fittings were maybe a little tired but very clean, and hot water arrived without having to run the tap more tan a few moments. The décor was traditional and in good order.
We enjoyed our brief stay, found the hotel to be without pretension, and consider the price very reasonable.

Reviewed by
Gavin G

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue
Good value for money

Reviewed by
MARK H

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great hideaway.
The only problem with the location is the mobile phone signal which is non existent unless you walk to the top of the car park. Wifi is free and excellent.t

Reviewed by
R Edwards

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, pleasant location. Wasn't overly impressed with the quality of the room, although cannot fault cleanliness and hygiene level. Would recommend but not really to my own personal taste.

Reviewed by
aaron t

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next