No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rose & Crown

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Rose & Crown, High Street, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath, BA2 7SN
At the Rose and Crown you will find a warm and welcoming feeling as soon as you walk through the door, with the cosy feel of the log burner during the winter months. Adding to its relaxed and friendly atmosphere through out the year.

The Rose and Crown is known for its high quality food and drink. We have a patio area for drinking and dining and the Cloisters restaurant is available for parties, meeting and private functions. Food is served 7 days and nights a week. Our menus are designed to satisfy the smallest to the largest of appetites by serving smaller portions of the majority of our main meals and a choice of light bites. We are also allergy aware and cater for people’s needs and requirements.
Picture of Rose & Crown, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice comfortable room and staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
J White

From Bexley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Village Pub with Rooms
Nice room, shame about the broken curtain. paying for breakfast on an item by item basis pushed the cost up, so be warned. However the quality & quantity of the food was good.

Reviewed by
Jonathan A

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable rooms and we were given 2 double rooms although we had booked single rooms- which was a nice surprise and an added bonus.The evening meal was lovely and service was good. The pub had a nice welcolming atmosphere and the coal effect fire helped with this.When booking it was not made obvious that breakfast was not included. This was probably our fault for not reading the small print properly, but a reminder about this when we checked in would have been useful.The breakfast was substantial but we prefer grilled or fried bacon, not gridled.The remote control was missing for the TV in 1 of the rooms,but the staff made every endeavour to locate it and it didn't really matter as we had the 2 rooms at our disposal.

Reviewed by
A Beesley

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay for a few drinks, meal and overnight
My partner and I wanted somewhere to stay for one evening but we're planning on getting there after 9.00pm. We felt very welcome arriving quite late and the meal and wine was excellent. The room was ideal for one evening but the traffic noise was quite loud in the morning.

Reviewed by
David Cheetham

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
We stayed for the weekend to see Bath, 6 miles away. There is a good hourly bus service in and out to Bath thru some nice countryside that runs till late (tho' restricted timetable on Sun), which quite suited us. And it avoids the sometimes pretty awful traffic in Bath centre.
Rom was good, decent breakfast, would stay again. Apart from breakfast we didn't eat here but did try the Stag across the road, which was good. Nice to have a choice of pub/eating house in such a small village.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing break
On the outskirts of Bath this pub offering accommodation had friendly staff and we enjoyed a comfortable stay in a bright airy room. Both the evening meal and full English breakfast the following morning were excellent.

Reviewed by
Lindsey K

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, well equipped room, quiet location and delicious breakfast. Very good value for money and thoroughly recommended although we didn't have evening meal as were visiting friends.
One small suggestion = to have Sunday papers available at breakfast for guests as no shops open in village on Sunday morning.

Reviewed by
SUSAN B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
I stayed for one night and wished I had booked an extra day.The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable,bathroom facilities very good.
I would have like to be able to check in slightly earlier.
If I am in this area again, I would chose this place to stay.Perhaps next year for another performance at Iford Opera.

Reviewed by
Jenifer Cummings

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Two night stay in Rose and Crown as visiting Bath, Staff very pleasant, Food excellent, Pub with good atmosphere serving good beer, and room warm and comfortable.

Reviewed by
V Tucker

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation for a weekend away
We stayed at The Rose and Crown for 1 night whist attending a friend's birthday party in Bath. We had 2 rooms. It was very easy find from Bath (plenty of parking!) and we checked in without any problem. Our friend's room had not been vacuumed, but this was done quickly when we pointed it out. The rooms were comfortable and otherwise clean.We had a good nights sleep, and the breakfast the next morning was excellent - definately worth the £6 per person!
Overall, great value accommodation in a lovely village in very easy reach of Bath city centre.

Reviewed by
Katie G

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next