No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Scarman (Warwick Conferences)

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The University of Warwick Gibbet Hill Road, Coventry, CV4 7AL
Offering 204 luxury en suite bedrooms, Scarman is one of the largest residential facilities based at the University of Warwick.

Size isn't everything, however - and at Scarman, we agree. It's our dedicated, professional team that truly makes this venue unique, working tirelessly and efficiently behind the scenes to ensure that your stay goes to plan.

Exceptional catering, served by our award-winning chefs completes an already outstanding, world-class package. All guests have full use of the campus sports facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor swimming pool and tennis centre.

Scarman is particularly suited to meet the needs of the business traveller. We do not accept booking from under 18's. Free WiFi throughout.

We are located within 20 minutes easy access to the Birmingham NEC and International Airport.
Picture of Scarman (Warwick Conferences), Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well ran and a quality stay.
Excellent service and a well equipped room. Every thing you should need was on hand and was of a high standard.

Reviewed by
David M

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
the hotel was very good, in a good environment, the customer service desk/reception always happy to help

Reviewed by
Gbemiga Arolasafe

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family graduation from Warwick
Accommodation was excellant and staff readily there to help and oblige with any enquiries.

Reviewed by
c woodcock

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accommodation
Although at the higher end of the pricing scale for this level of accommodation, this was an excellent venue. The food was great and the on hand coffie and snacks were first class. it is light and airy and parking and access excellent.
The rooms , once located along the boring and lengthy corridors, are good, clean comfortable and everything in good condition. a refreshing feature is the windows are openable for fresh air. Such a pleasent change from hermetically sealed boxes that prevail nowadays.
All told a very enjoyable and relaxed place to stay. recommended.
My advice to Hotelliers is improve the corridors, themed styles to each one and get some pictures up to relieve the insipid monotony. JK

Reviewed by
Jonathan K

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
Great place to stay on business.
Really good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Angus R

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Excellent location

Reviewed by
A Rogers

From Flint, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine
high price, but very quiet place.

Reviewed by
Vittorio M

From Italy
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on the food front i felt the menue was limited if eating in dinning room and very expensive for busi

Reviewed by
peter c

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car parking was spacious, gave easy access to the rooms, and felt safe
The reception staff were lovely and *very* helpful when I came to them several occasions with unusual requests. As a minor point, I was left wondering where my room was and where the dining room was, as instructions to these places were vague (I was told to go to an outside door and then left to guess where my room was; and vaguely pointed in the right direction for the dining room, which was somewhat further around corridors than expected).
The room itself was excellent, spacious and well appointed, with TV, a 'pillow menu' and various other items such as hair dryer ironing board and the usual complementary stuff that goes with good hotels, inlucding a bottle of water (though no shoe cleaning materals). The bed was comfortable, and the whole room was clean and airy.
The big disappointment however was breakfast. While it would appear that there should have been several staff on duty, in practical terms there were none in the dining room/servery area, (although there was one person on duty outside the dining room checking you were a guest). There was no introduction to the style of service (which was actually self-service, student-style). The brown toast was brittle, suggesting several-day-old bread. It took several efforts to find someone to get tea. Worcester sauce was not put out for guests to use, despite being available for use. On the plus side, there was a good spread:th usual Briitish breakfast, there were a range of tinned fruits, yoghurts, continental pastries and cereals. Overall, however, this dining room expereince was not what I would expect for the price which was comparable to the 4 * hotels. Rather, it was the experience that I had as a student staying in halls of residence.
On the interesting side.... I was woken by a dawn chorus of Canada Geese on the small lake nearby, an experience I have not had before!

Reviewed by
A B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting Warwick University
On entering the hotel we received a warm welcome from the receptionist. The en-suite room was warm, spacious and spotless. The beds were very comfortable. A welcome tray with complimentary beverages was available, The room was equipped with television, radio alarm clock, iron, ironing board, trouser press, hairdryer & toiletries Free .Wi-fi access was available, Breakfast choice was plentiful and enjoyable, In the lounge there was coffee, tea & snacks available throughout the day. On the first floor there was an internet cafe & gym. Plenty of areas to sit and relax. The staff were very helpful nothing was a trouble for them. I was caught out in a sudden downpour which soaked me thoroughly. The reception & housekeeping staff provided excellent service . Would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Dorothy M

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next