No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Boat & Anchor Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Meads Crossing, Huntworth, Bridgwater, TA7 0AQ
The Boat and Anchor Inn rests on the bank of the tranquil Bridgwater to Taunton Canal. The Inn offers picturesque views of the surrounding Quantock Hills and is conveniently situated at the gateway to the beautiful West Country.
Picture of Boat & Anchor Inn, Bridgwater at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was small we were told not to leave the light on at night with the windows open because of the midges from the nearby canal. Worse the shower room had carpet which had not been hoovered as there was hair matted in it. I'm not exactly short - 5ft 4" but when I went to look in the mirror (the only one in the room) I could only see my eyes and the top of my head. When you went from the public bar into the hall and landing area of the rooms there was a dreadful smell.

Reviewed by
Margaret K

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very helpful friendly staff. good food. clean room

Reviewed by
c thompson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reuniting visit
I originally chose this hotel as it was not too far from some old friends I was reuniting with.
The accommodation was superb, the staff were excellent and the service was always first class.
The food needs a little work on, its not bad but it's not the best hotel food I've tasted but it wasn't bad value for money, wouldn't have minded paying a little more for better quality.
Overall I had a good experience here and will probably go back again on my next visit to the area

Reviewed by
E Griffin

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room in a hotel ideally situated for those travelling, very near to the M5 but noise was not a problem.
Excellent hospitality at the hotel and the pub food was great

Reviewed by
Trevor Reoch

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Location .but !!!
Stayed 1 night on way from Dublin to St, Ives in Cornwall.
Room was newly built/decorated but in a "cheap-cheap" way.
Nicely situated on the Bridgwater/Taunton Canal,but about 300 yrds from the M5 and very close to local rail line.
Not very hungry so ordered Ham/Egg?chips at 8.95 and was probably the worse hotel meal I ever had.
The Ham was cold and wafer thin from a Supermarket packet and would not have made a decent sandwich. Chips were good but the charged an extra ST3.00 for my wife's portion which was not included with her main course.
Bar was poorly stocked and Landlord not "Mine Gracious Host"
Paid up early in the morning and headed off!!

Reviewed by
chris b

From Delgany , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed!
Very expensive for quality of room.

Reviewed by
Donna T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boat and Anchor Inn
Traditional type country pub .Very friendly and helpfull staff and owners. Comfortable bed. Excellent food and drink.Plenty of parking. Ideal for walkers being situated right on the canal path.

Reviewed by
graham Hodges

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
I stayed here recently for one night to attend a lodge meeting. The room was just the right size for myself and the bed was comfortable. The only thing missing was breakfast included in the price as I have stayed elsewhere with breakfast included for less than room only.

Reviewed by
M Pearce

From Minehead,Taunton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay, base point.
We stopped here for Three nights to break up the journey to Cornwall. The owner and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Pub, dinning area and conservatory were nice with a very eclectic style. We Enjoyed the beer and food which was not over expensive. Breakfast was basic with a limited choice of cereal and sadly no fruit juices. The room we stayed in was okay and bright and had a very comfortable bed but the decoration is looking tired and could do with a facelift. Location is ideal to travel to and from for other areas of interest.

Reviewed by
Clive H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a find in Bridgewater
Arriving late in the evening, I was greeted with a friendly face and shown to my room, when I woke I found a lovely view over the canal and countryside out of the window.
Breakfast set me up for a busy day.
That night a hearty dinner and pudding followed by a few laughs and a beer finished off the day.
Left in the morning with again a meal fitting for the day ahead.
I will be back in the next few weeks and will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
J Dakers

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next