No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Boat & Anchor Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Meads Crossing, Huntworth, Bridgwater, TA7 0AQ
The Boat and Anchor Inn rests on the bank of the tranquil Bridgwater to Taunton Canal. The Inn offers picturesque views of the surrounding Quantock Hills and is conveniently situated at the gateway to the beautiful West Country.
Picture of Boat & Anchor Inn, Bridgwater at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity ni oe goes there
A delightful setting but seems isolated when we were the only visitors except for the manager, who did her best, I suppose.
Bleak and cold venue, I would say.

Reviewed by
John Woodcock

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrendous - don't bother!
Do not book this place! From the lack of lighting in the dark to let yourself into your room to cigarette butts all over the front entrance to the pub which looked closed and was! - everything grubby - so old and dated. Landlords large dog drooling over everything - disgusting. The bed was tiny and you could feel the springs through the mattress. The eiderdown was from the 70's, the pillows were so hard I slept without one. The sink in the en suite was not big enough to even brush you teeth in. 3.45 am guests were still coming in to their rooms - the floorboards so bad you could hear them a mile away. Only one cup for any drinks and the kettle was a travel one so only held enough water for one. When we returned later that night at 10.30pm the place was closed and we had to knock and ask for cups. Bedroom window broken so could not close it. We did not try the breakfast for fear of being poisoned. The worst place we have ever stayed and for £99 for one night a complete and utter rip off. Couldn't get out of there quick enough.

Reviewed by
Beth R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 2nd stay to visit the carnival. Very friendly staff, accommodation good value, good food and drink. Dependable, no frills...just what we wanted!

Reviewed by
Dave F

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great sta
Great place to for our2 night stay, friendly welcome, and great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Neil Morton

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was small we were told not to leave the light on at night with the windows open because of the midges from the nearby canal. Worse the shower room had carpet which had not been hoovered as there was hair matted in it. I'm not exactly short - 5ft 4" but when I went to look in the mirror (the only one in the room) I could only see my eyes and the top of my head. When you went from the public bar into the hall and landing area of the rooms there was a dreadful smell.

Reviewed by
Margaret K

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very helpful friendly staff. good food. clean room

Reviewed by
c thompson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reuniting visit
I originally chose this hotel as it was not too far from some old friends I was reuniting with.
The accommodation was superb, the staff were excellent and the service was always first class.
The food needs a little work on, its not bad but it's not the best hotel food I've tasted but it wasn't bad value for money, wouldn't have minded paying a little more for better quality.
Overall I had a good experience here and will probably go back again on my next visit to the area

Reviewed by
E Griffin

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room in a hotel ideally situated for those travelling, very near to the M5 but noise was not a problem.
Excellent hospitality at the hotel and the pub food was great

Reviewed by
Trevor Reoch

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Location .but !!!
Stayed 1 night on way from Dublin to St, Ives in Cornwall.
Room was newly built/decorated but in a "cheap-cheap" way.
Nicely situated on the Bridgwater/Taunton Canal,but about 300 yrds from the M5 and very close to local rail line.
Not very hungry so ordered Ham/Egg?chips at 8.95 and was probably the worse hotel meal I ever had.
The Ham was cold and wafer thin from a Supermarket packet and would not have made a decent sandwich. Chips were good but the charged an extra ST3.00 for my wife's portion which was not included with her main course.
Bar was poorly stocked and Landlord not "Mine Gracious Host"
Paid up early in the morning and headed off!!

Reviewed by
chris b

From Delgany , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed!
Very expensive for quality of room.

Reviewed by
Donna T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next