No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rose and Crown

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
ROMALDKIRK , BARNARD CASTLE, DL12 9EB
The Rose and Crown at Romaldkirk is an AA red star hotel situated in the north east of England, close to Barnard Castle in Teesdale County Durham. Offering free broadband, 2 AA rosette restaurant and ample free parking. Discover the undiscovered. Teesdale a land of stunning contrasts. High fells and lush meadow, whitewashed farms and stone built cottages, dramatic waterfalls, wild flowers and wonderful birdsong. The Rose and Crown is an 18th century coaching inn set on the middle of three village greens in a picture postcard village overlooking the stocks and water pump next to the Saxon church, known to the locals as ‘The Cathedral of the Dale’. Step inside the front door and discover lots of polished panelling, old beams, gleaming brasses, fresh flowers and maybe even the odd creaking stair. Savour the buzz of the bar; an oak settle with daily newspapers plus ‘the local rag’, old prints and carriage lamps with a crackling fire in the dog grate. Retreat to the quiet of the lounge; books, magazines, comfy wingchairs, the ticking of a grandfather clock, where you can enjoy a cup of tea or maybe one more brandy before bed.

There are twelve en suite bedrooms, each different in style. Seven are located in the Main House, some with beams and antique furniture others with private sitting rooms. Five are located in the Courtyard offering a more modern and contemporary style. Delightful fabrics, comfortable beds and smart bathrooms, plus lots of extras including Molton Brown accessories and Bose music systems provide the perfect setting to ensure a restful nights sleep.

Indulge yourself in the award winning restaurant. Polished oak panelling, crisp white tablecloths, candlelight and sparkling silver. A daily changing menu, delicious food – the table is yours for the night. Relax in the Brasserie with its intimate atmosphere, candles in waxy old bottles and big pictures. Guests of The Rose and Crown will enjoy a tasty meal whilst soaking up the surroundings.

Forget your car and explore from the inn, footpaths leave in every direction from the village. Wander along the old railway line or maybe join the Teesdale Way as it winds its way along by the river. Nearby are old market towns and castles, the world famous Bowes Museum, spectacular Raby Castle, charming Eggleston Hall walled gardens. Further afield is Durham Cathedral, Beamish Open Air Museum, the Yorkshire Dales, the High Pennines of England, even Hadrian's Wall and lots lots more.

Guests can indulge in their favourite pastimes in this area of outstanding natural beauty with superb walking in river valley or on the fells – The Pennine Way, Coast-to-Coast Walk, Teesdale Way and lots more walks are nearby. Try mountain biking par excellence or just gentle cycling along the local country lanes. There are wild flowers in abundance and fantastic bird watching, game shooting on some of the world’s most famous moors plus river and reservoir fishing.
Picture of The Rose and Crown, BARNARD CASTLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Surprise
A quality hotel wrapped in a village pub!
Meals served in a period dining room by attentive staff and a traditional bedroom with excellent facilities - including the odd creaky floorboard! Forgiveable in an establishment built in 1733.
A late room deal brought the cost of the room to a just acceptable price. We had a superior room but question the superiority!
All in all a good experience.

Reviewed by
john mumby

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never fails to impress
Last stayed at the Rose and Crown, Romalkirk over 15 years ago. Good to note that very little has changed and the hotel has retained it's original charm and character. The staff are very attentive and the rooms are very unique in design. Only minor gripe was the temperature of the room (Room 9). The underfloor heating and towel rail in the bathroom could not be switched off (stayed on one of the warmest days of the year to date) and made the rest of the room uncomforatbly hot. The hotel receptionist said that they had received the same comments from other guests and were looking into it. Otherwise can't fault it at all.

Reviewed by
S Coxall

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring Fling !
A well run hotel. Very comfortable and pristine. The staff were welcoming and well trained. We only had to give our room number once and they remembered us. The food was excellent.. 10/10
with a few freebies i.e. bread and olives pre dinner.....and taster canapé..smoked salmon mouse with horseradish cream......very tasty !!
Its the only hotel we've been to that had decent loo rolls !!

Reviewed by
L Wallace

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly, warm & welcoming hotel in a beautiful setting. Food & accommodation fantastic.

Reviewed by
Derek S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay.
Starting with our arrival, where we were warmly greeted, we enjoyed an excellent supper by the log fire. Our room, in the courtyard, was absolutely lovely, ending our stay with a delicious breakfast , with proper farm shop sausages and black pudding. The hotel was very well run, and clean and polished. We will stay longer next time.

Reviewed by
David E

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a lovely hotel and the location is superb. However at times the service was poor. My wife and I had three nights here as a late summer break. My impression was that no one person was in overall control and, unusually for us, we lodged a complaint. In fairness this was handled well but it was a shame because in so many other respects it ticks most of the boxes.

Reviewed by
J Mason

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation and service, evening meal expensive and poor value
Room was clean, comfortable and quiet, with a high standard of furnishings and fittings. Service was cheerful and friendly, with helpful local knowledge apparent. The residents' lounge was comfortable with some useful local information. Breakfast was good.
Evening meal was a BIG disappointment. The 4 course at £35 included a chef's choice- our selection of this was not available, despite us being only the 2nd diners there (we were given 2 separate, equally improbable reasons for this). We opted for 2 brasserie main courses instead. One, the haddock was top class, let down by poor chips. Lamb shoulder was a tiny pot of lamb meat on mashed potato, with a very tasty gravy (or "jus"), but the "savoy cabbage" looked like a pool of cat sick and tasted like hot coleslaw- not a good combination. The kitchen does not appear to be able to fulfil the pretensions of the menu. After waiting over 25 minutes for a dessert, we gave up and left, choosing to eat elsewhere on the second night of our stay.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick breakaway
found this hotel on laterooms and decided to book a couple of nights at short notice.
from the moment we arrived,we were very impressed by all of the staff.
Nothing was too much trouble,our superior room in the courtyard was excellent.
We decided to have dinner in the hotel on both nights,once in the Brasserie and once in
the restaurant. On both occasions the food was excellent.
We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
H Good

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay at the Rose and Crown.Romaldskirk.
We have stayed at the Rose and Crown many times but not since the new owners took over the running of the business.Pleased to know that everything appeared just the same,as that is what appeals to us.
Lovely friendly staff,very attentive and service with a smile!
No hesitation in staying over another time.

Reviewed by
Sally Lockwood

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good welcome, help with bags and escorted to room, a service now lacking in many small hotels. Accommodation pleasant but fairly compact. Well equipped.

Reviewed by
M W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.