No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 154 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
Without a doubt, the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. Gorgeous decor, incredibly comfy bed and lovely staff. I'm looking for any reason I can to return!

Reviewed by
D West-Roebuck

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super stay in stylish hotel
Booked this at last minute - had I shopped for hours couldn't have done better.Warm friendly welcome before being shown to our room. Despite being an attic room it was very airy and stylish, as promised we had a super nights sleep in a very comfortable bed and after a good breakfast from a varied menu we walked the short distance in to the city.

Reviewed by
e mcknight

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel situated off main road about a 10minute walk from york minster, hotel staff very freindly and welcoming, giving restaurant advice and things to visit. Check in quick and easy. Breakfast was included with continental and full english on offer, breakfast staff also friendly and polite, food top notch. Room was warm and comfortable, we were situated on the top floor had a peaceful nights sleep. Definitely recommend and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Heather G

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So romantic
My partner and I loved this gorgeous Victorian hotel. The bed was so comfy and there are a ton of details in the rooms which really made the experience perfect for us- personally I loved the chandelier in the bedroom and the toiletries in the bathroom. The Breakfast was perfect and you get plenty of choice. I would highly recommend this for a couple's getaway or even a wedding.

Reviewed by
F Rogers

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfied customers
We enjoyed our stay and would use this hotel again.The furnishings are antiques with beautiful chandeliers.,giving a relaxing ambience!IIt was

Reviewed by
Sylvia R

From Clitheroe, England
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
5 minute walk to the centre of York , lovely hotel, great room, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Andrew Cross

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to to stay

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel
Beautiful stunning place to stay out if this world. Very, very friendly staff manager. Not one fault.

Reviewed by
Susan O

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Weekend Break
The Marmaduke is in an ideal position, only a 10 minute stroll into York centre. The receptionist along with all the staff are very friendly and willing to help you at all times. The room was nice and spacious although the ensuite in the attic rooms had a slopping roof which you could bang your head on (which we did). Overall a very pleasant stay and enjoyable weekend.

Reviewed by
Les Birchall

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful, a gem of an hotel
Beautiful old house just out of town centre but only a short walk so ideally placed. Gorgeous traditional style rooms but in a modern not old fashioned way. Will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
M W

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next