Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (143)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Clare P

  • November 2015

2 issues

There were two issues which we feel need serious attention: Firstly there was heavy rain when we checked in and the area of car park around our car became waterlogged to a depth of an inch or more.

My husband's shoes and feet became soaked whilst unloading. Secondly the bed sounded and felt as though it was going to collapse each time we got in or out off it. There were loud bangs and movement from it.

  • Darren G

  • October 2015

Enjoyable Stay

Beautiful characterful hotel.

Executive room a lovely size, spotlessly clean and very comfortable bed.

  • Joanne Evans

  • October 2015

Beautifull Hotel

Warm welcome , beautifully furnished Fantastic service Warm cosy and relaxing and would certainly be staying again .

  • Neal F

  • October 2015

Only one night stay

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for only one night but really enjoyed it.

Good hotel with very good shower room and period furniture. Breakfast was good too.

  • Rebecca McGinn

  • September 2015

Relaxing stay

We had a great time at marmadukes hotel.

The breakfast in the morning was great, fully cooked English every morning. The hotel had two lounges which is great if you would like to relax after a long day shopping.

  • a bettle

  • August 2015

lovely period hotel

We chose this hotel because it was just outside the town centre to be sure of a good nights sleep.

Lovely period room in a hotel full of character. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

  • S Ewens

  • July 2015


Damp problem in one corner but only to be expected in an old building otherwise excellent.

  • ian s

  • July 2015

Lovely hotel

Great hotel, amazing room, great location, happy wife, perfect night 10/10.

  • Amie Birtwhistle

  • July 2015

An unexpected treat

We really enjoyed staying at the hotel, the style and decor of the hotel created a lovely atmosphere.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious.

  • Jennifer H

  • July 2015

Friendly and helpful staff

Lovely friendly greeting from staff on arrival.

The car park was very busy as several guests had just arrived for a wedding and to be honest, they were being a nuisance and standing in everybody's way; but the reception staff soon dealt with this and found us a space. Our room was plenty big enough and quite comfortable but the hotel really needs to invest in air conditioning!. We had a shower but I would have liked a bath as well really. Breakfast was ok but could have been so much better with a little more attention to detail - the toast was stone cold, my poached egg tasted a little of vinegar and I asked for it without black pudding but wasn't offered an alternative. All in all, it's a pleasant enough hotel but for £179 B&B I feel it was a little overpriced when compared to other similar properties that we have stayed at.