No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kitchen was inadequately equipped and I had to request cups,saucers,glassesetc . Bed would benefit with decent square pillows rather than assortment if decorative cushions

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room!
The room we stayed in was atmospheric, unique and gorgeous with many antique features. The only disappointment was the breakfast - the hotel had run out of mushrooms, so the vegetarian option ended up being a little boring. If I'd known, I would have ordered something else. Otherwise, a great place to stay situated up a quiet street not far from the centre of York.

Reviewed by
R Hall

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spent a night here. Lovely room nice breakfast. Sole complaint - no shower, bath only which is not great if you are 6'2 like me,or more.

Reviewed by
colin d

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were involved in a serious road crash and admitted to hospital. I still managed to inform the hotel we would be unble to stay. However , we were still charged for the room. Very disappointing!

Reviewed by
david w

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel , very friendly and helpful would go back again :)

Reviewed by
l shortland

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
I took my boyfriend for his 50th, when I got there, they offered me the Loft Suite for an extra £30, amazing room and I know its normally quite pricey for that room so I was really chuffed that I got a fantastic bargain.. My boyfriend was well impressed with the room too.
The staff were fantastic, really friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect, just a 5 mins walk into the centre. the food and cleanliness was perfect. Couldn't fault this Hotel, We're definitely going again.

Reviewed by
donna r

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little getaway
We stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding. Reception staff were very friendly and efficient and offered to take out bags up to the room. The room was clean and well furnished. Very quirky with an antique style. The bathroom was large and shower was very powerful. Breakfast was delicious. You could choose from the continental buffet and then order from the menu. The full English was great and the eggs and soldiers looked amazing! The hotel is very close to the main town and just a short walk to all attractions. We had a great stay here and would have loved to have stayed longer!

Reviewed by
Lewis P

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place with good location. Terrible for parking had to park on the main road or would have been blocked in. Room nice but the bed was too small and I am small. Breakfast very nice but was rushed the waitress brought us our hot breakfast twice before we had finished our cereal.

Reviewed by
R Wragg

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff, good location and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Clive H

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spent our weekend and felt very welcome staff friendly helpful room great all that we wanted .
easy way to say this nothing what so ever to say bad about are stay brilliant prefect all should go and stay.

Reviewed by
David Mutter

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next