Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (143)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • K Hall

  • September 2014

Love Marmadukes!

Having stayed before we weren't disappointed when we returned, with a great last minute booking deal.

Love everything about Marmadukes - beautiful Victorian villa with antique furniture & in a great location, just a short walk into town. The rooms are a bit small but what they lack in space they make up for in character. Was difficult showering in the roll top bath with no curtain but who cares when you've got a roll top bath anyway?!. We will be back.

  • R Hall

  • August 2014

Lovely room!

The room we stayed in was atmospheric, unique and gorgeous with many antique features.

The only disappointment was the breakfast - the hotel had run out of mushrooms, so the vegetarian option ended up being a little boring. If I'd known, I would have ordered something else. Otherwise, a great place to stay situated up a quiet street not far from the centre of York.

  • colin d

  • August 2014

Spent a night here.

Lovely room nice breakfast. Sole complaint - no shower, bath only which is not great if you are 6'2 like me,or more.

  • david w

  • August 2014

We were involved in a serious road crash and admitted to hospital.

I still managed to inform the hotel we would be unble to stay. However , we were still charged for the room. Very disappointing!

  • l shortland

  • August 2014

fab hotel , very friendly and helpful would go back again :)

  • donna r

  • August 2014

Fantastic Hotel

I took my boyfriend for his 50th, when I got there, they offered me the Loft Suite for an extra £30, amazing room and I know its normally quite pricey for that room so I was really chuffed that I got a fantastic bargain..

My boyfriend was well impressed with the room too. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect, just a 5 mins walk into the centre. the food and cleanliness was perfect. Couldn't fault this Hotel, We're definitely going again.

  • Lewis P

  • August 2014

Lovely little getaway

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding.

Reception staff were very friendly and efficient and offered to take out bags up to the room. The room was clean and well furnished. Very quirky with an antique style. The bathroom was large and shower was very powerful. Breakfast was delicious. You could choose from the continental buffet and then order from the menu. The full English was great and the eggs and soldiers looked amazing. The hotel is very close to the main town and just a short walk to all attractions. We had a great stay here and would have loved to have stayed longer!

  • R Wragg

  • August 2014

Nice place with good location.

Terrible for parking had to park on the main road or would have been blocked in. Room nice but the bed was too small and I am small. Breakfast very nice but was rushed the waitress brought us our hot breakfast twice before we had finished our cereal.

  • David Mutter

  • July 2014

spent our weekend and felt very welcome staff friendly helpful room great all that we wanted .

easy way to say this nothing what so ever to say bad about are stay brilliant prefect all should go and stay.

  • Clive H

  • July 2014

Very helpful staff, good location and comfortable room.