Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel



Price From 146.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (146)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Hooper

  • October 2014

Stayed for just one evening.

Excellent location and value for money - we got a very good deal. It wasn't a problem but it would be helpful to know that parking is an extra £5 per night, or if there is room on the street you can park free of charge.

  • R Merrill

  • October 2014

Fab hotel :-)!.

5min walk into york. Staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back !

  • d meredith

  • October 2014

Marvellous hotel in a great location

wonderful hotel with genuinely warm and inviting staff members

Loved every minute we stayed there

The room was large and loved the feel of it ...right down to the creaking floorboards

There was a 4 poster bed in our room which was really tall but so comfortable

The bathroom was fairly sizeable with a large roll topped bath great for a good soak

There was plenty of storage space which was great

Loved the verandah where after a good night out in the city centre we sat and drank wine during the mild evening

The hotel is in a fantastic location only 10 minutes walk from the centre

Only draw back is that parking is at a premium so book up in advance

Breakfast was really nice and the restaurant nice and accommodating

I will definitely go back ....loved every minute

  • M Lee

  • October 2014

Anniversary Stay

Staff friendly and welcoming.

Had a lovely stay would go again.

  • P Hampson

  • September 2014


Our stay was almost perfect, the only gripe was the rude assistant manager we encountered on arrival.

When we were asked to leave our car keys at reception so they could move the car if needed, she informed us that if they pranged our car whilst moving it then we would be liable for any damage. When we asked for our keys back, she almost threw them back. It was quite a belittling experience. On leaving we told the manager who was quite shocked and said she would rectify this unacceptable behaviour.

  • Ian D

  • September 2014

Kitchen was inadequately equipped and I had to request cups,saucers,glassesetc .

Bed would benefit with decent square pillows rather than assortment if decorative cushions

  • K Hall

  • September 2014

Love Marmadukes!

Having stayed before we weren't disappointed when we returned, with a great last minute booking deal.

Love everything about Marmadukes - beautiful Victorian villa with antique furniture & in a great location, just a short walk into town. The rooms are a bit small but what they lack in space they make up for in character. Was difficult showering in the roll top bath with no curtain but who cares when you've got a roll top bath anyway?!. We will be back.

  • R Hall

  • August 2014

Lovely room!

The room we stayed in was atmospheric, unique and gorgeous with many antique features.

The only disappointment was the breakfast - the hotel had run out of mushrooms, so the vegetarian option ended up being a little boring. If I'd known, I would have ordered something else. Otherwise, a great place to stay situated up a quiet street not far from the centre of York.

  • colin d

  • August 2014

Spent a night here.

Lovely room nice breakfast. Sole complaint - no shower, bath only which is not great if you are 6'2 like me,or more.

  • david w

  • August 2014

We were involved in a serious road crash and admitted to hospital.

I still managed to inform the hotel we would be unble to stay. However , we were still charged for the room. Very disappointing!