No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast, brilliant room, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
P lamb

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Beautiful hotel, lovely staff and great room! We were greeted with a warm smile and showed to our room. The room was so beautiful and delicately furnished to a high standard. The bathroom was extra lovely with a massive shower! Breakfast was lovely the next day; although it was unusually busy for a Monday morning, the staff were very helpful and we waited to be seated in the gorgeous sitting room. All in all a great stay!

Reviewed by
Andrew Beech

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs attention
Nice ambience and staff, but the buildings need attention...broken and dilapidated fan in dining room, water stains and damage on ceilings.....annexe rooms have nice furniture and curtains but not much has been spent on flooring and tiles, which lets them down. Location is great. Would stay again in main house.

Reviewed by
P Garrett

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
a welcome break midweek , no complaints at all excellent room and service with a lovely full english in the morning.

Reviewed by
c jones

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
my partner and i stayed here for one night in march. having stayed here before we were delighted to find such a good deal on a deluxe room. the staff were brilliant very helpful and friendly. we arrived early and were able to park up without an issue. the room was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. only one thing i noticed that the bed runner was very stained, perhaps beyond washing. the bar was also open to 2am which was great. breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety. will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Georgina K

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay at this individual hotel.
Being so near the city centre is a big bonus. The staff were friendly and very welcoming, and took time to be helpful. Our rooms were spacious and spotless, with lovely period furniture. The breakfasts were a highlight...freshly cooked and very generous. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and would highly recommend this hotel as a good base for visiting York.

Reviewed by
S Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel friendly staff close to centre. ..thankyou for the upgrade to 4 poster room.

Reviewed by
A Oates

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Enjoyable Weekend
We enjoyed our stay at the Marmadukeshotel,a nice quiet place and we were made very welcome. We hope to make a return visit in the future.

Reviewed by
John Stadden

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room but car parking problems!
The room was beautiful and booking through late rooms meant we had a great deal. The only downside was that the hotel was advertised as having a car park however due to limited spaces we were unable to park and had to pay an extra £7 charge to leave our car in another car park. This was fairly near to the hotel but was still not the relaxing start to the stay that we would have hoped. Other than that the staff were very friendly, the hotel was in a great setting and we had a wonderful stay!

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and Quiet!
Marmadukes is perfectly situated within walking distance of the City but just far enough away you do not hear a thing at night! The staff are very welcoming, breakfast great and it feels very much like a family run hotel. It's really nice if you want anonymity or to be involved.

Reviewed by
Clive W

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next