No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 154 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Place, Beautiful Hotel
I picked this hotel as the price was excellent. Prior to staying I had to call to ensure we had access to afridge . My partner is diabetic and required her insulin to be refrigerated. The staff were excellent, offering use of a fridge.
The room was nicely decorated in a classic style in fitting with the rest of the hotel. We brought our own wine, so requested an ice bucket which was promptly delivered.
We hit York all afternoon and night. Getting in late I enquired about a late check out. Again, this was noproblem. Excellent service.
The next day we arrived promptly for breakfast. Again, the staff were happy to help with any queries we had. The continental breakfast was as expected, a nice, help yourself selection. We both opted for a full english which arrived quickly and was cooked to perfection. My only small gripe was there was no beans or tinned tomatoes with it, so for me, after enjoying a few shandies the night before, it was a tad on the dry side.
The final example of excellent service was when I asked if I could leave my car in the hotel car park while we went back into York during the day. Again, no problem, they even offered to move my car if their car park became too full so we could stay out longer.
Over all we had a fantastic time in Marmadukes and the excellent service enhanced our stay further.

Reviewed by
R Swan

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic staff /close to all bars town centre etc
the staff were outstanding in all departments and very helpful with directions

Reviewed by
THOMAS TUFF

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem - I'll definitely be coming back
I had a fantastic stay at Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel in York. The room was clean, large, with a wonderful en-suite bathroom and tastefully furnished. The staff were pleasant, vey helpful and the hotel itself is located just 10 minutes walk from all of the sights in the City walls. Excellent value for money - I'll definitely be coming back.

Reviewed by
Antony F

From Wassenaar, Netherlands
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous townhouse and location
Just 10 minutes walk from the minster and with on site parking if you book ahead is a great advantage to drivers, the hotel itself is decorated in a period style that gives an air of elegance and a change from the uber modern look that many go for nowadays however wi fi is available if you need to keep in touch. There is plenty of comfortable lounge seating for quiet reading. The star might be the breakfast, well presented, delicious and with a reasonable choice of breakfast things and served till 10.00 am ! Staff were on the ball too. There is a bar but didn't see anyone using it but maybe because there are so many in York anyway. All in all a great few days this place provided great accommodation at a very competitive price considering parking (as an extra) and breakfast included, would definitely book again !

Reviewed by
J Laycock

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel convenient walk to City Centre and walls.
A good friendly hotel situated on a quiet street just 20 minutes walk from York City centre. Nice rooms and very good breakfast conservatory. Friendly staff. Would recommend and will stay here again if visiting York.

Reviewed by
Martin C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very attentive staff, lovely room, breakfast let it down for us.
My partner and I stayed in room 504 which was in the anex building. The room was very clean and well decorated and was very quiet. The staff were excellent and were very attentive, nothing as too much trouble.
Unfortunately we couldn't get a wifi signal at all, but there was a Internet connection point for laptop, if we had taken one.
We had breakfast at Marmadukes, which for us, was quite disappointing. There were 4 cereals on offer, fruit, yoghurts and croissants,( I am being very picky here, but there was no jam available for my croissant) the toast was brought out 5 minutes before my cooked breakfast, which then was cold, and when ordering cooked breakfast which was sausage, bacon, eggs, black pudding, tomato, mushroom.....I asked if there were beans, they don't have them, and my "mushrooms" was in fact- half a mushroom, and "tomatoes" was a slice of grilled tomato, which made my breakfast quite dry.
Overall, a very nice stay, but breakfast let it down somewhat for us.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
Lovely room. Friendly knowledgeable staff who were happy to assist. Nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
H Dower

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely find near the centre of York
Found this place on the Internet. Stayed in the York suite (with kitchen) for 3 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. The room had a less than perfect finish (e.g. locks that didn't lock, wet room with floor that caused water to puddle rather than drain away, broken roller blind on one door, very little equipment in the kitchen), but this in no way detracted from our stay. Great value for money. Only about 10 minutes walk from the York Minster. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Joy Healey

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic room in a great town
I really liked Marmadukes - the staff were unfailingly helpful and the room was very nicely furnished. It's about 7 or 8 minutes easy walk from the town walls.

Reviewed by
W Ward

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love Marmadukes!
Having stayed before we weren't disappointed when we returned, with a great last minute booking deal. Love everything about Marmadukes - beautiful Victorian villa with antique furniture & in a great location, just a short walk into town. The rooms are a bit small but what they lack in space they make up for in character! Was difficult showering in the roll top bath with no curtain but who cares when you've got a roll top bath anyway?!! We will be back.

Reviewed by
K Hall

From Vouleme, France
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next