No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel
We really enjoyed our stay here. Room was a small double but perfect for the little time we were in it. Would definetly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Toni H

From Barrow upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Shopping in York
I would highly recommend a stay at Marmadukes, excellent customer service , five star quality, i would stay here everytime i stay at York

Reviewed by
amanda h

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid Quirky Gaff
Enjoyed our stay for NYE 2014 - nothing at all to grumble about - would stay again for sure :)

Reviewed by
A Howsam

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a four star.
Initially before arrival I regretted the decision not to pay for the parking, however upon arrival seeing cars crammed in front of each other I feel I doged an unnecessary cost. When I entered the hotel the greeting was walm and welcoming but could have been improved with further explanation of direction. Despite the good location, the staff and room its self was somewhat underwhelming. A three star rating would be more appropriate.

Reviewed by
R Biggins

From chorley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff. Room lovely but radiator not working in bathroom and furniture and fittings a little shabby in places. Bed very comfortable.
Easy walking distance to town but nice quiet position.

Reviewed by
P Rogers

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel
Great location, only 5 mins to York City centre, hotel staff very helpful, 4 poster room superb.
Had a bath in free standing vintage bath, bubbles and bubbles, superb.
Did Xmas shopping and drinking.
Bed was very comfortable with Egyptian bedding, 4 poster experience recommended.
Ordered breakfast in bed which was well worth the fiver.
I stay in hotels all over the UK every month, I live 20 minutes from York but this is by far one of the best. I will stay here again

Reviewed by
kendall edgley

From tadcaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All superb. The only draw back was Marmadukes have stopped serving dinner on site. Apparently it is possible to book dinner at a sister hotel - but this option was not possible during our stay as the places were limited and no booking was available. The reception staff worked hard to find us somewhere - but in the end we had to find somewhere ourselves - which took quite a bit of time and effort no our part. A pity Marmadukes no longer serve food - it was always suberb.
The matress on the bed was very tired - the springs were very worn. In fact we had to sleep at the foot end to prevent back ache! Otherwise v nice hotel and atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Kate G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and convenient
Lovely character and looks,bed really comfortable and fluffy towels, great location, comfortable lounges and staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Bedroom lighting frustrating, lamps too dim to read by , television fiddly to operate. Sliced bread at breakfast a bit disappointing but I did say it was good value so.... Would stay again though.

Reviewed by
R Price

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were delighted with the self contained accommodation, beautiful bedroom and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Karen B

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place To Stay In York
Lovely hotel, individual rooms furnished to a high standard, great breakfast and only a short walk to the city centre - what's not to like!

Reviewed by
Thomas H

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next