Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (143)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • d barclay

  • October 2014

Lovely but needs to look at finer details

Wow, this was an amazing suite (the York suite) we were really impressed as soon as we arrived, but as we looked closer there were a few things 'missing' for a selfcatering apartment for example no washing up liquid or scourer(as we only stayed one night didnt want the extra expense of buying this) no oven tray or oven gloves no microwave (which would have been appreciated due to no oven glove or oven tray, it looked like there had maybe been a microwave at one point and it looked like some pictures were missing-nails in walls.

But more shocking was the smoke alarm in the kitchen-no cover and exposed wires!. That said we loved it and it wouldn't put us off going back

  • James L

  • October 2014


We could not fault anything at this hotel.

Everything was perfect. Thank you.

  • David B

  • October 2014

Excellent stay

This is a friendly hotel within walking distance of the attractions of York.

Our room was very adequate and very clean. The reception we received was friendly and helpful and we had no problem booking our car in to park at the hotel. They were happy for us to leave it there for the morning of departure while we had a look round York. The conservatory was a nice venue for breakfast and although we didn't use the bar or lounge they appeared very adequate.

  • Sarah V

  • October 2014


Thoroughly enjoyed our mid week break despite the awful weather, this hotel made it for us, beautiful & relaxing place to stay with excellent friendly staff.

  • S Hooper

  • October 2014

Stayed for just one evening.

Excellent location and value for money - we got a very good deal. It wasn't a problem but it would be helpful to know that parking is an extra £5 per night, or if there is room on the street you can park free of charge.

  • R Merrill

  • October 2014

Fab hotel :-)!.

5min walk into york. Staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back !

  • d meredith

  • October 2014

Marvellous hotel in a great location

wonderful hotel with genuinely warm and inviting staff members

Loved every minute we stayed there

The room was large and loved the feel of it ...right down to the creaking floorboards

There was a 4 poster bed in our room which was really tall but so comfortable

The bathroom was fairly sizeable with a large roll topped bath great for a good soak

There was plenty of storage space which was great

Loved the verandah where after a good night out in the city centre we sat and drank wine during the mild evening

The hotel is in a fantastic location only 10 minutes walk from the centre

Only draw back is that parking is at a premium so book up in advance

Breakfast was really nice and the restaurant nice and accommodating

I will definitely go back ....loved every minute

  • M Lee

  • October 2014

Anniversary Stay

Staff friendly and welcoming.

Had a lovely stay would go again.

  • P Hampson

  • September 2014


Our stay was almost perfect, the only gripe was the rude assistant manager we encountered on arrival.

When we were asked to leave our car keys at reception so they could move the car if needed, she informed us that if they pranged our car whilst moving it then we would be liable for any damage. When we asked for our keys back, she almost threw them back. It was quite a belittling experience. On leaving we told the manager who was quite shocked and said she would rectify this unacceptable behaviour.

  • Ian D

  • September 2014

Kitchen was inadequately equipped and I had to request cups,saucers,glassesetc .

Bed would benefit with decent square pillows rather than assortment if decorative cushions