No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in York
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location, nice area and only few minutes walk from City Centre and rail station. Room was fine, as was English breakfast. Only booked for one night via LateRooms at £59 for double room but would definitely return at that sort of price.

Reviewed by
Stuart O

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay!

Reviewed by
S HAWKER

From Martock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and helpful staff. The room was every bit as good as the website said it would be.

Reviewed by
C Freeman

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel good position for York attractions
We were very impressed with Marmadukes, we only stayed for one night whilst visiting our son at university. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The room was immaculate and the breakfast was adequate although not the best we've had. It is in a good position only 10 minutes walk from York Minster. We will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Reed

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We had a lovely overnight stay. Just wished we had booked for longer! Staff were excellent. Polite, knowledgeable and a credit to your hotel. Breakfast was delicious and prompt. 5 mins stroll into York which was a bonus. No hesitation in recommending. We will be back soon for a longer stay!

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marmadukes
Great place, nice room with period furniture,comfy bed. Breakfast and service were excellent.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
John W

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York mini break
Everything about the marmaduke was spot on, from the accommodation. The breakfasts, and the very helpfull staff. Really made our stay in York a great time. Would recomend the marmaduke to anyone.

Reviewed by
ALAN M

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful Staff and good location for city centre
Lovely hotel just a few minutes walk into the city centre. The receptionists were very helpful and polite. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Tara Hilton

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Period hotel
It was a good location and lovely antiques and decor although it was needing some housekeeping, our pillows were very worn & flat, the shower door needed fixing.There was a problem in the kitchen but the staff tried so much to do their best. It was good value on the whole.

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All in all, a very nice hotel.
The staff were brilliant - very helpful and full of local knowledge and useful advice. Nice big room, high ceiling, great antique furniture and very comfy bed. My only gripe would be that the sash windows opened, but wouldn't stay open. Other than that, the hotel is lovely - the lounge and bar areas are particularly nice. Breakfast nice too. I'd recommend this hotel mostly for couples or small groups of friends.

Reviewed by
gary w

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next