No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 154 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place with good location. Terrible for parking had to park on the main road or would have been blocked in. Room nice but the bed was too small and I am small. Breakfast very nice but was rushed the waitress brought us our hot breakfast twice before we had finished our cereal.

Reviewed by
R Wragg

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff, good location and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Clive H

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spent our weekend and felt very welcome staff friendly helpful room great all that we wanted .
easy way to say this nothing what so ever to say bad about are stay brilliant prefect all should go and stay.

Reviewed by
David Mutter

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break in York
The first thought that came into my head was oh the bed is tiny .i had to watch that i did not fall out in the night when i turned round. The window in room 515 did not lock and there was a flat roof outside. As for the shower it was a hit or a miss whether or not you were scolded or frozen. The breakfast was fine. Good location for visiting the tourist spots . The car parking was very tight make sure you book your car in.

Reviewed by
R Muir

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We were looking for a hotel to stay while celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in York and chose Marmadukes based on reviews given on various websites...Was not disappointed! We stayed in the 'York Suite' and it had everything we could have wanted and more...Spacious, comfortable and furnished to perfection with tasteful antique furniture. The staff were very friendly and helpful...Really made us feel welcome and that is as important as anything in my opinion. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Marmadukes had everything we could have wanted in a hotel and next time we're in York we won't have to spend time looking for the perfect hotel because we already know where to find it! Many thanks to all the staff for making our stay in York all the more memorable.

Reviewed by
Anthony D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in York
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location, nice area and only few minutes walk from City Centre and rail station. Room was fine, as was English breakfast. Only booked for one night via LateRooms at £59 for double room but would definitely return at that sort of price.

Reviewed by
Stuart O

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay!

Reviewed by
S HAWKER

From Martock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and helpful staff. The room was every bit as good as the website said it would be.

Reviewed by
C Freeman

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel good position for York attractions
We were very impressed with Marmadukes, we only stayed for one night whilst visiting our son at university. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The room was immaculate and the breakfast was adequate although not the best we've had. It is in a good position only 10 minutes walk from York Minster. We will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Reed

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We had a lovely overnight stay. Just wished we had booked for longer! Staff were excellent. Polite, knowledgeable and a credit to your hotel. Breakfast was delicious and prompt. 5 mins stroll into York which was a bonus. No hesitation in recommending. We will be back soon for a longer stay!

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next