No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very attentive staff, lovely room, breakfast let it down for us.
My partner and I stayed in room 504 which was in the anex building. The room was very clean and well decorated and was very quiet. The staff were excellent and were very attentive, nothing as too much trouble.
Unfortunately we couldn't get a wifi signal at all, but there was a Internet connection point for laptop, if we had taken one.
We had breakfast at Marmadukes, which for us, was quite disappointing. There were 4 cereals on offer, fruit, yoghurts and croissants,( I am being very picky here, but there was no jam available for my croissant) the toast was brought out 5 minutes before my cooked breakfast, which then was cold, and when ordering cooked breakfast which was sausage, bacon, eggs, black pudding, tomato, mushroom.....I asked if there were beans, they don't have them, and my "mushrooms" was in fact- half a mushroom, and "tomatoes" was a slice of grilled tomato, which made my breakfast quite dry.
Overall, a very nice stay, but breakfast let it down somewhat for us.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
Lovely room. Friendly knowledgeable staff who were happy to assist. Nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
H Dower

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely find near the centre of York
Found this place on the Internet. Stayed in the York suite (with kitchen) for 3 nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. The room had a less than perfect finish (e.g. locks that didn't lock, wet room with floor that caused water to puddle rather than drain away, broken roller blind on one door, very little equipment in the kitchen), but this in no way detracted from our stay. Great value for money. Only about 10 minutes walk from the York Minster. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Joy Healey

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic room in a great town
I really liked Marmadukes - the staff were unfailingly helpful and the room was very nicely furnished. It's about 7 or 8 minutes easy walk from the town walls.

Reviewed by
W Ward

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love Marmadukes!
Having stayed before we weren't disappointed when we returned, with a great last minute booking deal. Love everything about Marmadukes - beautiful Victorian villa with antique furniture & in a great location, just a short walk into town. The rooms are a bit small but what they lack in space they make up for in character! Was difficult showering in the roll top bath with no curtain but who cares when you've got a roll top bath anyway?!! We will be back.

Reviewed by
K Hall

From Vouleme, France
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay in York
Great staff and accommodation loved it and will return .£

Reviewed by
Damien Herbert

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
Fantastic room with a view of the minster.
Very helpful and polite staff
Luxurious room.
Fabulous stay!

Reviewed by
Z Dawson

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
we were only staying for a couple of nights but all the staff were very good, polite and very helpful we cannot fault them all, our room was smaller than expected as we booked the executive double thinking it was one of the better rooms was in fact the lowest in the ranking, but the room was very nicely furnished, the bathroom we had did not have a shower and the chance of controlling the water in the hand held shower attachment was slim which may explain the damp smell. yes I would return to this hotel, the staff made our stay special.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel with lots of character and the room was beautifully furnished. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming; both went out of their way to accommodate us. The choice for breakfast was great but I have marked it as a four because I did not like the bacon. Overall, a great stay and we would definitely return.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel very friendly staff and made to feel very welcome. Lovely location too.
Only stayed for one night but wish I could have stayed longer, my husband and I really enjoyed our short stay and will definitely be back for longer next time. The staff were all lovely and nothing was any trouble. Made to feel very welcome. Thank you

Reviewed by
michelle rose

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next