No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 159 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marvellous hotel in a great location
wonderful hotel with genuinely warm and inviting staff members
Loved every minute we stayed there
The room was large and loved the feel of it ...right down to the creaking floorboards
There was a 4 poster bed in our room which was really tall but so comfortable
The bathroom was fairly sizeable with a large roll topped bath great for a good soak
There was plenty of storage space which was great
Loved the verandah where after a good night out in the city centre we sat and drank wine during the mild evening
The hotel is in a fantastic location only 10 minutes walk from the centre
Only draw back is that parking is at a premium so book up in advance
Breakfast was really nice and the restaurant nice and accommodating
I will definitely go back ....loved every minute

Reviewed by
d meredith

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for just one evening. Excellent location and value for money - we got a very good deal. It wasn't a problem but it would be helpful to know that parking is an extra £5 per night, or if there is room on the street you can park free of charge.

Reviewed by
S Hooper

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel :-)!! 5min walk into york. Staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back !

Reviewed by
R Merrill

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honeymoon
Our stay was almost perfect, the only gripe was the rude assistant manager we encountered on arrival. When we were asked to leave our car keys at reception so they could move the car if needed, she informed us that if they pranged our car whilst moving it then we would be liable for any damage. When we asked for our keys back, she almost threw them back. It was quite a belittling experience. On leaving we told the manager who was quite shocked and said she would rectify this unacceptable behaviour.

Reviewed by
P Hampson

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kitchen was inadequately equipped and I had to request cups,saucers,glassesetc . Bed would benefit with decent square pillows rather than assortment if decorative cushions

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Stay
Staff friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely stay would go again.

Reviewed by
M Lee

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room!
The room we stayed in was atmospheric, unique and gorgeous with many antique features. The only disappointment was the breakfast - the hotel had run out of mushrooms, so the vegetarian option ended up being a little boring. If I'd known, I would have ordered something else. Otherwise, a great place to stay situated up a quiet street not far from the centre of York.

Reviewed by
R Hall

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spent a night here. Lovely room nice breakfast. Sole complaint - no shower, bath only which is not great if you are 6'2 like me,or more.

Reviewed by
colin d

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were involved in a serious road crash and admitted to hospital. I still managed to inform the hotel we would be unble to stay. However , we were still charged for the room. Very disappointing!

Reviewed by
david w

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab hotel , very friendly and helpful would go back again :)

Reviewed by
l shortland

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next