No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Period hotel
It was a good location and lovely antiques and decor although it was needing some housekeeping, our pillows were very worn & flat, the shower door needed fixing.There was a problem in the kitchen but the staff tried so much to do their best. It was good value on the whole.

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All in all, a very nice hotel.
The staff were brilliant - very helpful and full of local knowledge and useful advice. Nice big room, high ceiling, great antique furniture and very comfy bed. My only gripe would be that the sash windows opened, but wouldn't stay open. Other than that, the hotel is lovely - the lounge and bar areas are particularly nice. Breakfast nice too. I'd recommend this hotel mostly for couples or small groups of friends.

Reviewed by
gary w

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff
Very helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
E Perks

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The staff were very friendly and helpful, they did everything we asked, couldn't fault it

Reviewed by
Laura Millar

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really lovely hotel
This is a really lovely hotel with very caring staff. It was a totally different experience than staying in a faceless business hotel.

Reviewed by
V Simenoff

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful place to stay very homely
On arrival the reception was warm and relaxing , room was lovely and presented well not far from york centre and was a nice walk.
would recommend and defanatly come back as the children now want to visit.
thank you for a fantastic stay

Reviewed by
b wall

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Anthony Squires

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Place, Beautiful Hotel
I picked this hotel as the price was excellent. Prior to staying I had to call to ensure we had access to afridge . My partner is diabetic and required her insulin to be refrigerated. The staff were excellent, offering use of a fridge.
The room was nicely decorated in a classic style in fitting with the rest of the hotel. We brought our own wine, so requested an ice bucket which was promptly delivered.
We hit York all afternoon and night. Getting in late I enquired about a late check out. Again, this was noproblem. Excellent service.
The next day we arrived promptly for breakfast. Again, the staff were happy to help with any queries we had. The continental breakfast was as expected, a nice, help yourself selection. We both opted for a full english which arrived quickly and was cooked to perfection. My only small gripe was there was no beans or tinned tomatoes with it, so for me, after enjoying a few shandies the night before, it was a tad on the dry side.
The final example of excellent service was when I asked if I could leave my car in the hotel car park while we went back into York during the day. Again, no problem, they even offered to move my car if their car park became too full so we could stay out longer.
Over all we had a fantastic time in Marmadukes and the excellent service enhanced our stay further.

Reviewed by
R Swan

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic staff /close to all bars town centre etc
the staff were outstanding in all departments and very helpful with directions

Reviewed by
THOMAS TUFF

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem - I'll definitely be coming back
I had a fantastic stay at Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel in York. The room was clean, large, with a wonderful en-suite bathroom and tastefully furnished. The staff were pleasant, vey helpful and the hotel itself is located just 10 minutes walk from all of the sights in the City walls. Excellent value for money - I'll definitely be coming back.

Reviewed by
Antony F

From Wassenaar, Netherlands
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next