No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 136 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience.
We had an amazing stay at Marmadukes Boutique Hotel, having booked the Loft Suite, which is the most amazing suite we have ever stayed in. The hotel was beautifully decorated with ornate furnishings throughout, and the staff were ever so helpful and courteous at all times. What can we say about the Loft Suite other than WOW!!! It was a massive room / apartment with an amazing bedroom, lounge area and dressing room, but the bathroom was to die for, a double walk-in shower, stunning roll top bath and our very own private sauna. It really was such an amazing place to stay, and the breakfast the next morning was just as amazing, well cooked and truly delicious. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and will definately be looking to come back again very soon for another stay in the Loft Suite.

Reviewed by
N Robson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too far from centre but stayed in better
Stayed the night in Marmadukes and it was a last minute booking as a surprise for an extra night before heading home.The guy who showed us to our room at arrival was very pleasant and happy to help. Stayed in deluxe room which was a nice size however had bit wardrobes and tables which seemed to take a bit of space. The bed wasn't that comfortable felt a bit old. Bathroom was standard not really to a 4* i've seen but it was all we needed really for one night. The hotel was pretty and had a nice ambience, don't think I would stay again as there's a nicer hotel down the road at only 3*.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Great friendly customer service

Reviewed by
Dan E

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
A good stay overall. No tv signal which we wanted when the theatre had to close but otherwise very good.

Reviewed by
E Green

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well ran hotel but not the best.
The hotel is a good 20 -30mins walk from the train station. It is 2 stately homes made into a hotel. Reception is small but well ran, our room was small,bed was good, no wardrobes just a cupboard, bathroom was large but only had a bath with a hand held shower which was disappointment. It has a bar (£4.00/pint) and beer garden which you have to leave building from the front to get to. Breakfast was ok and not the best. We paid £89 for the night which was overpriced...there will be better hotels in York.

Reviewed by
David Clark

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 Poster no good for 6ft 2 man like my husband. We never slept all night as the bed was too small.
Dusty floors and the toilet was not clean. Old carrier bags in wardrobe.

Reviewed by
C Howe

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Very nice friendly hotel in an excellent location, would definitely stay again. We liked the charm and original features and was nice to have real furniture in the room.

Reviewed by
Amanda Swanston

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel! Beautiful room , fabulous interior , friendly helpful staff. Highly recommend .
Enjoyed our stay here very much .
We booked the loft suite which was lovely .
The bathroom was fab having its own barrel sauna , large freestanding bath and double walk in shower.
Comfortable bed altho one of the blinds didn't work properly so was woken very early with the sun blaring down on us.
Also bit of a walk into town but we didn't mind this . Breakfast was good.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Would highly recommend this hotel .

Reviewed by
Corrie M

From Chesterfield , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bfast xlnt
excellent breakfast
quiet and comfortable rooms to relax in

Reviewed by
n slade

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 3 day break
our room was up in the attic, it was unusually hot the few days we stayed, room was clean, food was freshly made and if you requested something slightly different on the menu they were very accommodating, the staff were very pleasant, we asked for a room fan with it being so hot, which they sorted out straight away, the hotel is out of the way of the main roads so you are able to get a good night sleep, but it is also close enough to walk into the city centre and see all the local attractions, the only thing I would recommend is room ceiling fans and may be a bit more storage space in the bathroom, all in all we enjoyed our stay would defiantly go back but may be book a bigger room next time, we had one of the executive petite double rooms

Reviewed by
H Robinson

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next