No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 157 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
my partner and i stayed here for one night in march. having stayed here before we were delighted to find such a good deal on a deluxe room. the staff were brilliant very helpful and friendly. we arrived early and were able to park up without an issue. the room was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. only one thing i noticed that the bed runner was very stained, perhaps beyond washing. the bar was also open to 2am which was great. breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety. will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Georgina K

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay at this individual hotel.
Being so near the city centre is a big bonus. The staff were friendly and very welcoming, and took time to be helpful. Our rooms were spacious and spotless, with lovely period furniture. The breakfasts were a highlight...freshly cooked and very generous. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and would highly recommend this hotel as a good base for visiting York.

Reviewed by
S Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel friendly staff close to centre. ..thankyou for the upgrade to 4 poster room.

Reviewed by
A Oates

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Enjoyable Weekend
We enjoyed our stay at the Marmadukeshotel,a nice quiet place and we were made very welcome. We hope to make a return visit in the future.

Reviewed by
John Stadden

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room but car parking problems!
The room was beautiful and booking through late rooms meant we had a great deal. The only downside was that the hotel was advertised as having a car park however due to limited spaces we were unable to park and had to pay an extra £7 charge to leave our car in another car park. This was fairly near to the hotel but was still not the relaxing start to the stay that we would have hoped. Other than that the staff were very friendly, the hotel was in a great setting and we had a wonderful stay!

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and Quiet!
Marmadukes is perfectly situated within walking distance of the City but just far enough away you do not hear a thing at night! The staff are very welcoming, breakfast great and it feels very much like a family run hotel. It's really nice if you want anonymity or to be involved.

Reviewed by
Clive W

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel
We really enjoyed our stay here. Room was a small double but perfect for the little time we were in it. Would definetly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Toni H

From Barrow upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Shopping in York
I would highly recommend a stay at Marmadukes, excellent customer service , five star quality, i would stay here everytime i stay at York

Reviewed by
amanda h

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid Quirky Gaff
Enjoyed our stay for NYE 2014 - nothing at all to grumble about - would stay again for sure :)

Reviewed by
A Howsam

From Stockton on Tees, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a four star.
Initially before arrival I regretted the decision not to pay for the parking, however upon arrival seeing cars crammed in front of each other I feel I doged an unnecessary cost. When I entered the hotel the greeting was walm and welcoming but could have been improved with further explanation of direction. Despite the good location, the staff and room its self was somewhat underwhelming. A three star rating would be more appropriate.

Reviewed by
R Biggins

From chorley, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next