No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 158 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two nights in marmadukes
very nice friendly hotel within 5 minutes walking distance of York centre. Only downside room only had a bath, no shower, but was not a major issue. Room was also above the lounge so could hear some noise from music speakers. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Gareth O

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful, clean comfortable hotel with friendly staff
Delighted with four poster room, highly recommended, short walk to town avoiding all traffic chaos. Easy wifi, spacious bathroom. Ideal place.

Reviewed by
Sara B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and service. Our room was comfortable and tastefully appointed. The bathroom was immaculate and styled to suit the overall surroundings. We made use of one the very comfortable sitting rooms in the evening following our easy 15 minute walk from the City centre (lots to look at on the way).
Breakfast was exceptional. A light and airy dining room, smart and attentive service presenting a tasty breakfast which we enjoyed at our leisure. The staff deserve praise for their non intrusive manner balanced by friendly efficiency.

Reviewed by
christopher b

From Hornsea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Boutique Hotel
Great Boutique hotel, nice rooms, well thought out, would be a great hotel equally for personal stays too. There is no restaurant for main meals, breakfast only, however there is an in house bar and there are loads of places to eat locally and the staff are incredibly helpful in helping you locate them.

Reviewed by
Philip Caren

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast, brilliant room, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
P lamb

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs attention
Nice ambience and staff, but the buildings need attention...broken and dilapidated fan in dining room, water stains and damage on ceilings.....annexe rooms have nice furniture and curtains but not much has been spent on flooring and tiles, which lets them down. Location is great. Would stay again in main house.

Reviewed by
P Garrett

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Beautiful hotel, lovely staff and great room! We were greeted with a warm smile and showed to our room. The room was so beautiful and delicately furnished to a high standard. The bathroom was extra lovely with a massive shower! Breakfast was lovely the next day; although it was unusually busy for a Monday morning, the staff were very helpful and we waited to be seated in the gorgeous sitting room. All in all a great stay!

Reviewed by
Andrew Beech

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
a welcome break midweek , no complaints at all excellent room and service with a lovely full english in the morning.

Reviewed by
c jones

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
my partner and i stayed here for one night in march. having stayed here before we were delighted to find such a good deal on a deluxe room. the staff were brilliant very helpful and friendly. we arrived early and were able to park up without an issue. the room was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. only one thing i noticed that the bed runner was very stained, perhaps beyond washing. the bar was also open to 2am which was great. breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety. will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Georgina K

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay at this individual hotel.
Being so near the city centre is a big bonus. The staff were friendly and very welcoming, and took time to be helpful. Our rooms were spacious and spotless, with lovely period furniture. The breakfasts were a highlight...freshly cooked and very generous. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and would highly recommend this hotel as a good base for visiting York.

Reviewed by
S Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next