No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE , YORK, YO30 6AQ
Set in secluded gardens, this Georgian hotel has free Wi-Fi and luxurious rooms with handmade beds. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal.

The sumptuous rooms are individually decorated with antique furniture and Egyptian linens. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, a flat-screen TV/DVD player and a stylish bathroom with designer toiletries.

Guests can relax in the elegant lounge bar or leafy garden. There is also a sun lounge with antique sofas, where traditional full English breakfasts are served daily.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk
Picture of Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marmadukes Boutique Hotel
My wife and I woke up on a Sunday morning and decided on a whim that we wanted to visit York, as I had been there in 1995 but my wife had never been. We booked at 09:00am for arrival at 14:00 through Late Rooms.com with no problems and phoned the hotel to book a parking spot. All good so far! Four hours later (driving from London) we arrived at Marmadukes and were warmly met in the tiny reception and shown to our room.
It was lovely and spacious, nicely appointed and with a lovely, clean bathroom that looked as though it had been recently refurbished - all shiny and sparkly! The bed was nice and comfy and the usual beverage station and mini bar were there - perfect for an overnight stay or even longer.
Marmadukes is wonderfully situated only a ten minute walk to York Minster and the town so it is very convenient for both holiday and business visitors. After a busy afternoon and evening we slept well and were treated to a lovely home made, full english breakfast with all the trimmings. There was also a vegetarian option, omelettes, poached eggs etc. Good fuel for a busy morning of walking and sightseeing!
We would definitely recommend Marmadukes Boutique Hotel and will stay there again when we visit York - hope it doesnt take another 18 years though!

Reviewed by
Jonathan Boshoff

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and relaxed stay to escape the hum drum of life.
Excellently decorated, lovely setting truly outstanding, we will return.

Reviewed by
Steve L

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in the Yorke suite, first impression wow! Cosmetically the whole suite was fabulous! A negative would be the charge of £5 to park your car, especially when your paying a high price for room. The Yorke suite we stayed in had few stains on ceiling from water damage and the laminate floor in kitchen was lifted a little, as I caught my foot on! But certain things throughout the hotel you would expect from an old building but overall very nice.

Reviewed by
Lyndsey D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

marmadukes hotel
Very nice and friendly hotel.staff where very helpful.would stay again lovely hotel

Reviewed by
s ellis

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotal
We have stayed at this hotel on three occasions over the last three years. It is wonderfully placed for an easy walk into the centre of York. The hotel is beautifully furnished and has a calm and peaceful atmosphere. The staff have always been very helpful and are very friendly. The breakfasts are fantastic, one of the best on offer with plenty of choice. The rooms are lovely, all different and well equipped. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
D Forshaw

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great central location, within walking distant to York. Our room was on the small size. Staff friendly.

Reviewed by
brian pottinger

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An awesome time
Mamadukes was a great hotel clean and comfortable accommodation and , friendly staff who seemed to take a kean interest. We arrived at check in and where shown around the hotel before being directed to our room. We paid a little extra and went for the room with the four poster bed. The room was impeccable the only thing that was missing was the soaps these arrived the following day. Not really sure why. We asked juan for a recommendation on where to go on our night out. He gave us various things to do and pointed us in the direction of some live music! Which we enjoyed.
All in all we would stay here again even the breakfast was great!

Reviewed by
Nicholas Gonzalez

From HERNE BAY, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marmaduke boutique hotel, York
Fantastic location - ideally situated in a quiet street, close to the city centre. Very welcoming staff, lovely breakfast and excellent room.

Reviewed by
John F

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience.
We had an amazing stay at Marmadukes Boutique Hotel, having booked the Loft Suite, which is the most amazing suite we have ever stayed in. The hotel was beautifully decorated with ornate furnishings throughout, and the staff were ever so helpful and courteous at all times. What can we say about the Loft Suite other than WOW!!! It was a massive room / apartment with an amazing bedroom, lounge area and dressing room, but the bathroom was to die for, a double walk-in shower, stunning roll top bath and our very own private sauna. It really was such an amazing place to stay, and the breakfast the next morning was just as amazing, well cooked and truly delicious. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and will definately be looking to come back again very soon for another stay in the Loft Suite.

Reviewed by
N Robson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too far from centre but stayed in better
Stayed the night in Marmadukes and it was a last minute booking as a surprise for an extra night before heading home.The guy who showed us to our room at arrival was very pleasant and happy to help. Stayed in deluxe room which was a nice size however had bit wardrobes and tables which seemed to take a bit of space. The bed wasn't that comfortable felt a bit old. Bathroom was standard not really to a 4* i've seen but it was all we needed really for one night. The hotel was pretty and had a nice ambience, don't think I would stay again as there's a nicer hotel down the road at only 3*.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next