Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel

4

4-5 ST. PETERS GROVE, YORK, YO30 6AQ

Price From 242.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (158)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Antony F

  • May 2014

A real gem - I'll definitely be coming back

I had a fantastic stay at Marmadukes Townhouse Hotel in York.

The room was clean, large, with a wonderful en-suite bathroom and tastefully furnished. The staff were pleasant, vey helpful and the hotel itself is located just 10 minutes walk from all of the sights in the City walls. Excellent value for money - I'll definitely be coming back.

  • J Laycock

  • May 2014

fabulous townhouse and location

Just 10 minutes walk from the minster and with on site parking if you book ahead is a great advantage to drivers, the hotel itself is decorated in a period style that gives an air of elegance and a change from the uber modern look that many go for nowadays however wi fi is available if you need to keep in touch.

There is plenty of comfortable lounge seating for quiet reading. The star might be the breakfast, well presented, delicious and with a reasonable choice of breakfast things and served till 10.00 am . Staff were on the ball too. There is a bar but didn't see anyone using it but maybe because there are so many in York anyway. All in all a great few days this place provided great accommodation at a very competitive price considering parking (as an extra) and breakfast included, would definitely book again !

  • H Dower

  • May 2014

Fantastic Stay

Lovely room.

Friendly knowledgeable staff who were happy to assist. Nice breakfast.

  • Martin C

  • May 2014

Nice hotel convenient walk to City Centre and walls.

A good friendly hotel situated on a quiet street just 20 minutes walk from York City centre.

Nice rooms and very good breakfast conservatory. Friendly staff. Would recommend and will stay here again if visiting York.

  • Kate G

  • May 2014

All superb.

The only draw back was Marmadukes have stopped serving dinner on site. Apparently it is possible to book dinner at a sister hotel - but this option was not possible during our stay as the places were limited and no booking was available. The reception staff worked hard to find us somewhere - but in the end we had to find somewhere ourselves - which took quite a bit of time and effort no our part. A pity Marmadukes no longer serve food - it was always suberb. The matress on the bed was very tired - the springs were very worn. In fact we had to sleep at the foot end to prevent back ache. Otherwise v nice hotel and atmosphere.

  • Martin H

  • May 2014

Very attentive staff, lovely room, breakfast let it down for us.

My partner and I stayed in room 504 which was in the anex building.

The room was very clean and well decorated and was very quiet. The staff were excellent and were very attentive, nothing as too much trouble. Unfortunately we couldn't get a wifi signal at all, but there was a Internet connection point for laptop, if we had taken one. We had breakfast at Marmadukes, which for us, was quite disappointing. There were 4 cereals on offer, fruit, yoghurts and croissants,( I am being very picky here, but there was no jam available for my croissant) the toast was brought out 5 minutes before my cooked breakfast, which then was cold, and when ordering cooked breakfast which was sausage, bacon, eggs, black pudding, tomato, mushroom.....I asked if there were beans, they don't have them, and my "mushrooms" was in fact- half a mushroom, and "tomatoes" was a slice of grilled tomato, which made my breakfast quite dry. Overall, a very nice stay, but breakfast let it down somewhat for us.

  • W Ward

  • April 2014

Fantastic room in a great town

I really liked Marmadukes - the staff were unfailingly helpful and the room was very nicely furnished.

It's about 7 or 8 minutes easy walk from the town walls.

  • Damien Herbert

  • April 2014

Excellent stay in York

Great staff and accommodation loved it and will return .£

  • Z Dawson

  • April 2014

City break

Fantastic room with a view of the minster.

Very helpful and polite staff

Luxurious room.

Fabulous stay!

  • michelle rose

  • April 2014

excellent hotel very friendly staff and made to feel very welcome. Lovely location too.

Only stayed for one night but wish I could have stayed longer, my husband and I really enjoyed our short stay and will definitely be back for longer next time.

The staff were all lovely and nothing was any trouble. Made to feel very welcome. Thank you