No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
MAIN ST, SHAP , PENRITH, CA10 3NU
The Kings Arms Hotel offers high quality accommodation. Situated in the village of Shap in Cumbria, on the eastern edge of the Lake District, the hotel is the perfect location for exploring the fells of either the Lake District or the northern Pennines. It is convenient for the M6 as a stopover and very popular with coast to coast walkers and the sea to sea(C2C) cyclists. Whether on holiday, business, visiting friends or just passing through... you are assured of a warm welcome at the Kings Arms Hotel.

After a major refurbishment of the hotel in 2006, the bar and accommodation have a stylish contemporary design and offer everything needed in comfort and amenities. The Hotel has 7 bedrooms and has all the facilities needed for walkers and cyclists. There are a variety of room styles available including double, twin, single and family rooms. You will find our new rooms have comfortable beds and are well equipped with flat screen tv, tea, coffee making facilities, hairdryer, large powerful shower, complimentry toiletries and luxury towels.

The bar has pool, darts and quiz machine and shows major sports on big screens including all prem plus matches. The Eden valley is famous for its food and here at the Kings Arms you can enjoy wholesome value for money evening meals, daytime snacks and of course a cooked Cumbrian breakfast all from local produce.
Picture of Kings Arms Hotel, PENRITH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stop Off
We stayed over for 1 night to break up our journey heading south. We picked an excellent hotel not too far from the main road. Room was comfortable with good decor. We ate in the bar and the food was very good.

Reviewed by
Margaret Walker

From Huntly, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stopover break
Lovely friendly welcome excellent food clean modern rooms would stay again and recommend.

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm and Friendly
Our Hosts were very friendly and welcoming. And the room was clean and very comfortable

Reviewed by
R Williams

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and lovely clean room
Staff were very friendly too and the location is just off the M6 at Shap very convenient if you are on your way to and from Scotland from down South.

Reviewed by
J Simpson

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Place!
Don't be put off by the look of the place from outside. Great place, rooms very clean and modern decor. Good atmosphere in the pub. Steak was under cooked but they even replaced the whole meal and not just the steak. Good Service. Only downside at £75 per night you would expect some complimentary toiletries (shampoo, shower gel). Would definatly stop again!

Reviewed by
Simon H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had two night stay was made very welcome,more than pleased with the room and food excellent value for money would stay here again .

Reviewed by
A Grosart

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic welcoming stay
Last minute booking to break up a long car journey to Scotland. Really lovely family run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They even popped down the road to get a gluten free loaf so I could have toast for breakfast. Evening meal was absolutely smashing. Hubby said it was the best homemade steak pie ever. Generous portions, great value for money and all served with a big smile. So impressed we are hoping to divert on the way home so we can taste their Sunday lunch. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommended
Food was great including their dinner menu. Room was clean, has the basic necessities. Service was superb. Definitely worth recommending!

Reviewed by
P Bermudez

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No fuss, just right
Cannot fault the service, or the room. Great value for money. The food was good honest pub grub and again good value for money. I would happily stay again. Shap itself is a small quiet spot so not the place to be if you are looking for lively evenings.

Reviewed by
Jan L

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable clean room and owners made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
david m

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next