No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
MAIN ST, SHAP , PENRITH, CA10 3NU
The Kings Arms Hotel offers high quality accommodation. Situated in the village of Shap in Cumbria, on the eastern edge of the Lake District, the hotel is the perfect location for exploring the fells of either the Lake District or the northern Pennines. It is convenient for the M6 as a stopover and very popular with coast to coast walkers and the sea to sea(C2C) cyclists. Whether on holiday, business, visiting friends or just passing through... you are assured of a warm welcome at the Kings Arms Hotel.

After a major refurbishment of the hotel in 2006, the bar and accommodation have a stylish contemporary design and offer everything needed in comfort and amenities. The Hotel has 7 bedrooms and has all the facilities needed for walkers and cyclists. There are a variety of room styles available including double, twin, single and family rooms. You will find our new rooms have comfortable beds and are well equipped with flat screen tv, tea, coffee making facilities, hairdryer, large powerful shower, complimentry toiletries and luxury towels.

The bar has pool, darts and quiz machine and shows major sports on big screens including all prem plus matches. The Eden valley is famous for its food and here at the Kings Arms you can enjoy wholesome value for money evening meals, daytime snacks and of course a cooked Cumbrian breakfast all from local produce.
Picture of Kings Arms Hotel, PENRITH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic welcoming stay
Last minute booking to break up a long car journey to Scotland. Really lovely family run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They even popped down the road to get a gluten free loaf so I could have toast for breakfast. Evening meal was absolutely smashing. Hubby said it was the best homemade steak pie ever. Generous portions, great value for money and all served with a big smile. So impressed we are hoping to divert on the way home so we can taste their Sunday lunch. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommended
Food was great including their dinner menu. Room was clean, has the basic necessities. Service was superb. Definitely worth recommending!

Reviewed by
P Bermudez

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No fuss, just right
Cannot fault the service, or the room. Great value for money. The food was good honest pub grub and again good value for money. I would happily stay again. Shap itself is a small quiet spot so not the place to be if you are looking for lively evenings.

Reviewed by
Jan L

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable clean room and owners made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
david m

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I came to Shap to do archaeological research, and needed a place to stay over the weekend. Not only was the establishment well furnished and properly managed, but it made me feel like I was staying at home. The owners are incredibly nice and welcoming, and the staff make a point of helping you out. I fully recommend the full English breakfast in the morning, it was both filling and impossible to stop eating.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
We stopped at the Kings Arms en-route to Manchester from Fife and we are pleased that we did. It's really easy to find and literally 5 minutes off the M6. The room was larger than expected and very cosy. Great facilities and the breakfast was brilliant with options for cereals and a full cooked, the bacon and sausages were really nice.
We will certainly be back again, if you need to break a journey somewhere along the northern M6 the Kings Arms is the place to do it.

Reviewed by
m salter

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very lively friendly atmosphere in the pub, good choice of beer and the food is all home cooked and excellent value for money. The room was very clean and warm, the shower was very hot and powerful. Breakfast very good and plentiful. Will be returning. Very welcoming hosts and a friendly place to stay.

Reviewed by
g coleman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very spacious, clean bedroom and shower room.
Great food for the money.

Reviewed by
Anne D

From GALASHIELS, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant stay!
Excellent and well recommended!

Reviewed by
peter mitchell

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large clean room with all modern facilities in friendly pub.
A stopover for us on our journey south from Scotland. Looks like any old pub on the outside but the bar and rooms have been modernised recently. The room and en-suite is top-end & ultra-clean.Bed was big & nice and firm. Slept very well.
Dinner was good pub grub, try the cumberland sausage from the local butcher. Breakfast at a time to suit us was as good as it gets.
Thanks , we had a lovely stay & you made us very welcome.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Wantage, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next