No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Crown

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
BATH ROAD, KELSTON , BATH, BA1 9AQ
** Due to recent subsidence I regret to advise that the A431 between Kelston and Bath is currently closed. There is now a toll road to Bath which is £2.00 each way.**

The Old Crown is a wonderful 17th century coaching inn, less than 3 miles from Bath city centre in the lovely village of Kelston. No machines or music, just good beer, good wine, great food and fab company, you are guaranteed to make a friend ot two! All our rooms are en suite with a shower, all have tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV with freeview. There is ample opportunity to indulge in the surrounding countryside with a refreshing walk, whether it be up to Kelston Roundhill or down to Saltford Marina. Booking is recommended in advance as we do tend to fill up pretty quick!
Check in is from between 2pm and 10.00pm but if you want to explore Bath during the day you are more than welcome to leave your bags with us!

Picture of The Old Crown, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Great location for a relaxing break as its very remote, although the repair to the road would be an advantage as the £2 each way toll road may get a little tedious for travellers staying longer. Very clean room with good facilities. Advertised as having wi-fi but the signal was so weak in the room I could not connect to it.

Reviewed by
Tony L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at hte Old Crown Kelston
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially since we had difficulty getting there due to the road closure.
Very comfortable bed.
Good hot shower.

Reviewed by
Rachel J

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and break fast
very good for the price

Reviewed by
t driscoll

From Sawbridgeworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Great room, bit worried at first as water was on bathroom floor but found shower had been dripping this as not a major issue. Great evening meal and great breakfast. Service was a bit slow but worth the wait, Would stay again when in the area.
Toilet seat could do with replacing as it was chipped, easy & cheap fix.

Reviewed by
Julie E

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldnt stay here again if you paid me!!! this should be advertised as cheap B&B
Not a very warm welcome here, room was very small, bathroom was tiny!! room was very dusty with cobwebs all over & very "dated". We had an evening meal of steak & chips this was lovely, breakfast was very poor tasted like last nights BBQ !!
Wouldn't stay here again, my advise would be go someplace better !!!

Reviewed by
L Sands

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lots of character
We stayed for two nights and found the staff friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was on the small side but this an old pub and was more than adequate for us.we ate at the pub the first night and although the menu is limited the food was delicious. Will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
p greer

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit disappointed
We stayed for one night at the Old Crown which was plenty, I would not have liked to stay any longer.
The room was very cramp and extremely noisy either from the water tank in a cupboard in the room or from the creaky floorboards every time someone above moved around.
The only good thing was the bed which was quite comfortable, the breakfast was very average and if we were paying £50 then I might have understood it but we paid a lot more and it just was not good enough.

Reviewed by
J Arnold

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Excellent VFM stay in Kelston.

Reviewed by
J Law

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room wasn't clean cobwebs in corner the room with about 3 spider dangling form it was disgusting. No glasses to have water, the coat hanger from what shop the people own the pub so they were all different and un suitable to use. I was so embarrassed as i treated my fiance to the night away near bath.

Reviewed by
A Allen

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place! Very comfortable bed! Bouncy! Lovely breakfast! 8/10!
I had a really great stay! Lovely rooms, free wifi, bouncy beds, clean. And a wonderful breakfast! A cereal for my breakfast and then the real English breakfast! Cooked by Dean, whom explained to me about the oldest working pump at the bar area and about the local prison and also the town is the birth place of the flush toilet! All in all a great experience! 8/10. Will visit again and again for sure! And will recommend to friends and family!

Reviewed by
D O'Brien

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next