No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexa House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
26 RIPON ROAD , HARROGATE, HG1 2JJ
Alexa House is an elegant Victorian detached house with a contemporary feel. The well equipped bedrooms are bright and airy and provide luxury White Company toiletries and Yorkshire Tea to enhance your stay. There is a private Car Park at the rear of the building and some adjacent ground floor rooms. Breakfast is served in the light and spacious dining room and includes a selection of fruits and nuts, local farm eggs, fresh fish, and local preserves. You can be sure of a warm welcome whether you are on business or here to enjoy Harrogate’s superb shops and restaurants or explore the magnificent Yorkshire Dales.
Picture of Alexa House, HARROGATE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rude Very Poor Value.
Rude welcome "ihad given up on you expected at 2pm i had not put this in then informed 14.00 meant 2pm. Alexa house has a contact number so could have phoned me. Room smallest single i have ever seen, more of a broom cupboard. TV signal very poor,gave up, due to my welcome just left it. In bathroom at side of extremely small shower left over shaving debris (soap containing bristles) and a further shower soap stain. Very noisy as facing the main road. Could not get the radiator to work. Not in my opinion worth £49.00.

Reviewed by
julie k

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room and a great welcome.

Reviewed by
K Higgins

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent b&b
This b&b was excellent already beautiful rooms, greeted by a warm friendly owner, with a short stroll to the town centre would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
wendy g

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away in Harrogate
Great looking house-Very Clean and tidy-Great distance from town centre-friendly welcome- Sandra was very helpful and gave us some free tickets to the local Antiques Fair. Good breakfast selection and very nice Full English. Only down side was the attic bathroom was small and the bath was tiny but great fun to use. The Bedroom was big enough- but suggest you ask for first floor room. The whole Guest House was spotless and had a lounge where you can relax. overall good nights sleep and a warm relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Ian McBean

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great welcome, friendly staff who are there in the background with assistance but left in peace if that's what required. Breakfast is wonderful!

Reviewed by
jane w

From Northolt, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

alexa house
excellently run hotel

Reviewed by
Patrick Kilfoyle

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basics overlooked.
We booked a superior room only to be informed on arrival that our room had 'inadvertently' been allocated to someone else and we were 'downgraded' to a double room with a broom cupboard for a bathroom.
Other basis issues were UHT milk in room was 'well off' and no glass tumblers in bathroom. May sound trivial but you expect better for a four star accommodation !
Quality of breakfast also not good.
Accommodation very clean and proprietors welcoming but overall very disappointing stay.

ManagementResponse

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately there were 2 bookings with similar names and I mistakenly allocated your room to the wrong people I did give you a cash refund and apologised profusely. I wonder why you did not enjoy your breakfast as they are all freshly cooked to order and my guests rave about the quality if you had told me at the time I would have endeavoured to put it right. Apologies again. Sandra

Reviewed by
Philip D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mean breakfast
Guesthouse is in good location and managed to find car park at rear with my sisters sat nav on her phone. Got checked in fine, could have done with offer of help with bags up the stairs as my sister was not well with long term condition. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was half seven til nine, bit early we thought for a sunday. So everyone came down for last half hour. Was asked if wanted full breakfast, but asked for sausages and poached eggs. Along came a huge white plate with one small sausage and one egg. We had to ask for toast. No mention of free cake that is mentioned on the website for a sat afternoon. Definitely felt on a conveyor belt, need to work on friendliness if want guests to go back.

Reviewed by
Melanie C

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay in Harrogate
Lovely stay in this Bed and Breakfast. I would recommend it to others and would stay there again in the future.

Reviewed by
Jessica T

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Timers
Great welcome, food was very good. My single room was adequate altho small but warm and cosy with good en-suite.
I would definately stay again and recommend to friends

Reviewed by
M Armstrong

From Christchurch, England
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next