No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bowman Lodge

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
52 Hoole Road, , , Chester, CH2 3NL
Whether you are looking for somewhere to stay for a business trip or planning a romantic weekend away, less than a mile from Chester City centre Bowman Lodge a beautiful Victorian house is the perfect choice. Chester is a wonderful and up beat city, with good shopping and plenty of Historical sights to be seen. With its cobbled streets, Cathedral and original Tudor buildings Chester is as quaint as it is modern. While in Chester you can not miss out on walking round the famous Walls, the remains of the Romans who founded the city about 2,000 years ago. The city is steeped in rich culture including the Amphitheatre and Roman Gardens. Chester also offers a large selection of good quality restaurants. At night time Chester is a lively city with plenty of pubs and bars. A visit to Chester would not be complete without an outing to the famous Chester Zoo. Other local must-see attractions include: Grosvenor Museum, GatewayTheatre, Military Museum, Deva Roman experience, Cheshire Oaks and Blue Planet Aquarium. Bowman Lodge offers comfortable and friendly surroundings tailored to your every need. All of our rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, colour TV and ensuite facilities.
Picture of Bowman Lodge, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bowman lodge
The Guest House was adequate for our needs. It was clean and the breakfast was excellent. The bedroom furniture was a little dated, but we slept well. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the location was good for Chester central.

Reviewed by
N Skinner

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and clean
Lovely B&B, Great size family room needs updating but comfortable. Ensuite small and dated but clean and did the job.
Breakfast was good and was always asked if we wanted more. owner helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
susan r

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick Pitt Stop
This was ideal for our needs a quick pitt stop just to stay the one night. The host was accommodating and very helpful.
Room we stayed in had been modernised but unfortunately they left in old cupboards which was a shame.
Also had a dog, a few dog hairs on the bed.

Reviewed by
A Boulton

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester experience
Bowman Lodge was easy to find. The decor was tired and needs updating and needs a good clean. However, the breakfast was good and the information on local facilities and town was good.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Enjoyable stay with a nice room, great breakfast and a friendly host.

Reviewed by
Alister B

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing retreat in Chester
A really nice house with well kept rooms in a lovely part of town. Room was incredibly cosy, with all necessary amenities available. Bathroom was clean, with ample hot water. Shower room floor could use some attention, but was otherwise well kept. English breakfasts were hearty with generations pots of coffee and tea. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Reviewed by
Dilini S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

chester races
friendly owner, good location, clean accomadation.

Reviewed by
keith c

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City trip
Small room and small bed. It could be cleaner. Had a good breakfast. Ok for short stay.

Reviewed by
Marie D

From Belgium
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golf Trip
We were over for the Open Golf Championships at Hoylake. We found Bowman Lodge to be ideally located and would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
G Lowey

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok could be better
owner friendly, room was clean but bed linen in need of replacement there was a tear in one of the sheets. the bed linen had seen better days. also the net curtain was past its best. did not have breakfast but as the time was 7.30 to 8.30 were glad we didn't bother as it was too early for us. location is very good and buses frequent in to the city centre.

Reviewed by
Jean B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next