Reviews - The Great Hallingbury Manor


TILEKILN GREEN, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7TJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Giovanni G

  • October 2015

The Great Hallingbury Manor


  • J Greig

  • September 2015


Really nice relaxing place to stay

  • K Parr

  • September 2015

Disappointed !

my first stay and what a disappointment.

my double room was a building site so after complaining I was moved to the hotel to what was described as a superior room. what made it superior I don't know because I found in the morning that the shower ran only cold water and the floors were filthy. when I checked out and informed reception "total disinterest" was the best way to describe their response. not even an apology as they took my payment. Also as previous guest have commented is the low flying jet noise. I expected some but wow. It would have helped if the window in my superior room actually locked. I wonder what the windows were like in my original standard room / building site. I hope never to find out as I hope never to return.

  • Diane L

  • July 2015

Friendly and nice surroundings

I have visited the hotel before but this is the first time I stayed.

The room was a little tired but very clean. I loved the wet room and complimentary shower get etc. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The noise from the planes did not concern me.

  • Adrian C

  • June 2015

The Great Hallingbury Manor

Nice Hotel - only thing that lets it down is the fact it is under the flight path to Stanstead Airport.

  • K Li

  • April 2015

If you don't mind the noise, stay there!

When I arrived, noticed the hotel is in a lovely setting.

Soon I realised the hotel was under the flight path of stansted airport. Close enough to see the landing gear. After I checked in at the main building, then got sent away to the sub building opposite the main block for my room, I was hoping the room looks as modern as the reception, and it wasn't. No double glazing, nor secondary glazing, window has a big gap too. When the plane fly past, it's no different to being in my room or outside. And when the plane fly past, the TV went fuzzy and lost signal until it's gone. Then another plane came in 5 mins after, Continued until 26 minutes past midnight. Then it started all over again at 6:04 am.

If you want a quiet evening, don't go there. But if you just want to stop by and enjoy the view from this place then worth a visit.

  • Gerry M

  • April 2015

Good value for money

Only downside is the noise from the planes .

Great place to stay.

  • Peter T

  • April 2015

Nice Spot

Nice relaxed spot here with a very good kitchen.

Be aware of some plane noise but good double glazing does the job.

  • Malcolm Ledger

  • March 2015

Clean, comfortable and good value.

  • n rooney

  • March 2015

only one night stay, but i was treated as if it was a week by the staff

would absolutely stay again