No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
TILEKILN GREEN , Bishops Stortford, CM22 7TJ
The 4-star Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel is a Tudor style mansion which still maintains a lot of its original features Incorporated with its contemporary decor. It is 2 miles (3.2 km) from Stansted Airport and has scenic lake and countryside views. The hotel boasts 31 larger than average bedrooms, all with a spacious walk-in wet room, a flat screen TV, tea/coffee, desk, direct dial telephones and some of the rooms offer complimentary Wi-Fi, the property also offers 12 standard double and single rooms in the Hallingbury House. These rooms , which offer fantastic value for money , have double or single beds, flat screen TV's working desks, tea/coffee making facilities and en-suite bathrooms. Guests staying in Hallingbury House are welcome to use all the facilities (and free Wi-Fi within the public areas) within the hotel.

Great Hallingbury's Lakeside Restaurant offers a diverse fusion of classic and modern dishes from around the world. The restaurant, with views over the stunning lake offers a delicious, competitively priced menu made with locally sourced and seasonal produce.

The hotel is also complemented by several function and meeting rooms suitable for all occasions from Weddings, Conferences and banqueting events.
Picture of The Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stopover on way to Stansted
We stayed overnight here as we had a very early flight to Stansted the next day and were really impressed with how nice the hotel staff were! We were running late and so they called us to check that we were on our way and everything was ok. On arrival they said that they were expecting us, were really welcoming and could not do enough to help us settle in. The room itself was nice and modern - we brought our baby daughter with us and they put up a cot bed in our room for an extra charge. The food was ok - a tad on the expensive side and nothing to write home about. Overall our stay was great mainly due to how friendly the hotel staff were.

Reviewed by
T O'Shea

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Single room adequate for one night but aspect looking onto wooden fence and intrusion of aircraft noise from Stansted airport spoilt experience

Reviewed by
P Cordy

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and noisy
The night we stayed was very warm, which meant we had to leave the windows open, which unfortunately also meant that the noise of jets flying directly overhead was disturbing, to say the least. A pity, because otherwise we really liked the hotel. The noise problem could be cured by installing triple glazing and an air conditioner in all the rooms.

Reviewed by
Robert Brian O

From Torpoint, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
If you're travelling from Stanstead this is a great hotel to stay in - a real find!

Reviewed by
D Dewar

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet if the wind is in the right direction !!
I chose this hotel as it was only 45 minutes from a meeting I had in Colchester the following morning.
The room was fine, comfy bed, good shower etc. However be warned if you book this hotel there may be aircraft noise and I mean noise. It felt like I was sat at the end of the Stansted runway!! Obviously this place is great for those who wish to plane spot and wave at the Ryanair planes as they go over but not if you want a quiet country hotel to stay in. I was told by the receptionist, who apologised for the noise - not her fault - that it's lovely and quiet when the planes are taking off in the other direction. This fact is true as during the lull between take-offs it was very quiet.
Apart from this fact the rest of the stay was ok.

Reviewed by
karen m

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Room was extremely noisy planes very loud as in flight path constantly also out building accommodation requires carpet wooden floor echoes and all doors slam - hardly slept a wink

Reviewed by
T Moss

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good venue
Due to overbooking, our room was down graded from superior. The ordinary room was however very good, the service was excellent and the whole facility is of excellent quality. The only down side was the early morning low flying planes from Stanstead. On balance the hotel is one I will use again, much better than the national chains!

Reviewed by
Peter Cooper

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hallingbury Manor
Helpfulness and service from the staff was excellent.
.A second chair in a room for two would have been appreciated.
A fixed eye level mirror would have been helpful in the bathroom.
We felt that the breakfast was overpriced. Scrambled eggs and Black pudding lacked seasoning and were tasteless, Tomato and fried eggs tasted slightly of old oil. Sausage, though tasty, was overcooked and was difficult to cut.
For a £10 breakfast, an individual pot of tea would have been preferable to pouring stewed tea from a flask
Double glazing in room would help reduce noise from low flying aircraft. .

Reviewed by
Joe C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a Double and we were only catered for as a single occupancy
If you like aircraft watching this is the hotel for you. I did, my partner ... an aircraft engineer at another airport... not to enthusiastic. Aircraft flew directly and lowly over our room. Must admit it kept me awake.
Room very clean, we didnt stay in the main hotel but in another building called the stable.. very echoey but because of low occupancy ok for our stay.

Reviewed by
Sally Newman

From Barkway, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed bag!
The good; clean, well appointed spacious rooms, comfortable beds, great showers, very close to Stansted airport, beautiful grounds.
Not so good; wifi only available in main building, luke warm so, so coffee (small thermos flask on tables please), breakfast starts at 06:30 but cooked breakfast only came along 20 minutes later, luke warm leathery omelette (supper meal) over stuffed with salmon, aeroplanes fly directly overhead, maybe 100m high, very very noisy not good for light sleepers.

Reviewed by
E M

From Dingwall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next