No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
TILEKILN GREEN , Bishops Stortford, CM22 7TJ
The 4-star Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel is a Tudor style mansion which still maintains a lot of its original features Incorporated with its contemporary decor. It is 2 miles (3.2 km) from Stansted Airport and has scenic lake and countryside views. The hotel boasts 31 larger than average bedrooms, all with a spacious walk-in wet room, a flat screen TV, tea/coffee, desk, direct dial telephones and some of the rooms offer complimentary Wi-Fi, the property also offers 12 standard double and single rooms in the Hallingbury House. These rooms , which offer fantastic value for money , have double or single beds, flat screen TV's working desks, tea/coffee making facilities and en-suite bathrooms. Guests staying in Hallingbury House are welcome to use all the facilities (and free Wi-Fi within the public areas) within the hotel.

Great Hallingbury's Lakeside Restaurant offers a diverse fusion of classic and modern dishes from around the world. The restaurant, with views over the stunning lake offers a delicious, competitively priced menu made with locally sourced and seasonal produce.

The hotel is also complemented by several function and meeting rooms suitable for all occasions from Weddings, Conferences and banqueting events.
Picture of The Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't fault the quality of the room, but the size.......
Can’t fault the finish and cleanliness of the room or the hotel, both were excellent as were the staff. But there were a few little things that got up my nose.
Room was tiny, no more than 12” to 18” floor space around 2 sides of a double bed (the other 2 sides had wall), radiator didn’t work and the shower was not much more than a trickle. I’ve stayed in Legacy hotels before so I should have remembered this next one, they charge a 2.5% handling fee for settling your bill by credit card, I don’t remember seeing anything about this at time of booking.

Reviewed by
S Wright

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car needed if staying more than 1 night
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere so if you are staying for more than just overnight for the airport you definitely need a car if you want to venture outside of the hotel. Stayed across the road in room 60. Big drop when you walked into the front door which was quite dangerous. Room was quite small and the design layout as far as the electrics were concerned was not well thought out, The 'wet-room' effect shower was awful as it soaked everywhere which was a shame as it looks so nice.
Great for an overnight if you have an early flight.

Reviewed by
Denise D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Nice setting but on the flight path for Stansted airport so too noisy.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unacceptable welcome!!
The whole experience with this hotel was dreadful! The car park is across the road (dark narrow lane) from the reception area, which of course you drag your luggage to -not great when they then send you back across the same road to the room. Even worse when your key card does not work and you cannot find anyone at the reception desk and have to go searching for the waiting staff!
Although the hotel boasts an excellent restauarant on first arriving I was told there was no room for me- when the receptionist tried to get me fitted in, the person on the other end put the phone down, not great as a solo womwn traveller at 8pm! In fairness, by the time I had eventually got to the room the second time, I was being offered a table. By this time, I had established my room stank of sewage and that the wet deck drain and tiles were in pieces in the shower- time to depart I think!
Laterooms handled my problem very efficiently and re-located me to another hotel at Stanstead, and contacted the hotel to discuss not charging me for my experience.
I was indeed contacted the next day by the manager who both apologised and assured me no charge would be made. He has also given me his details if I should ever wish to stay again.
I can only put this down to experience and am aware the room rate was not massive, however, fit for purpose is a must and I think it should be a priority for the hotel to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Reviewed by
A Brazell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, all the staff were frendly, food was great and the whole stay was to commended

Reviewed by
C Prior

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A++
Highly Recommend. Reception was very welcoming and helpfull.

Reviewed by
Paul L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service but noisy planes
Lovely hotel & staff but you need to be aware that you are in the landing path of Stansted airport. However most flights stop between midnight and 5am.

Reviewed by
Debbie M

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stopover on way to Stansted
We stayed overnight here as we had a very early flight to Stansted the next day and were really impressed with how nice the hotel staff were! We were running late and so they called us to check that we were on our way and everything was ok. On arrival they said that they were expecting us, were really welcoming and could not do enough to help us settle in. The room itself was nice and modern - we brought our baby daughter with us and they put up a cot bed in our room for an extra charge. The food was ok - a tad on the expensive side and nothing to write home about. Overall our stay was great mainly due to how friendly the hotel staff were.

Reviewed by
T O'Shea

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Single room adequate for one night but aspect looking onto wooden fence and intrusion of aircraft noise from Stansted airport spoilt experience

Reviewed by
P Cordy

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and noisy
The night we stayed was very warm, which meant we had to leave the windows open, which unfortunately also meant that the noise of jets flying directly overhead was disturbing, to say the least. A pity, because otherwise we really liked the hotel. The noise problem could be cured by installing triple glazing and an air conditioner in all the rooms.

Reviewed by
Robert Brian O

From Torpoint, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next