No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
TILEKILN GREEN , Bishops Stortford, CM22 7TJ
The 4-star Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor Hotel is a Tudor style mansion which still maintains a lot of its original features Incorporated with its contemporary decor. It is 2 miles (3.2 km) from Stansted Airport and has scenic lake and countryside views. The hotel boasts 31 larger than average bedrooms, all with a spacious walk-in wet room, a flat screen TV, tea/coffee, desk, direct dial telephones and some of the rooms offer complimentary Wi-Fi, the property also offers 12 standard double and single rooms in the Hallingbury House. These rooms , which offer fantastic value for money , have double or single beds, flat screen TV's working desks, tea/coffee making facilities and en-suite bathrooms. Guests staying in Hallingbury House are welcome to use all the facilities (and free Wi-Fi within the public areas) within the hotel.

Great Hallingbury's Lakeside Restaurant offers a diverse fusion of classic and modern dishes from around the world. The restaurant, with views over the stunning lake offers a delicious, competitively priced menu made with locally sourced and seasonal produce.

The hotel is also complemented by several function and meeting rooms suitable for all occasions from Weddings, Conferences and banqueting events.
Picture of The Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous for the money
I booked the legacy hotel as a stop over the night before a flight in the early hours of the next morning . The hotel was lovely and very good value for money.thr location from stanstead airport was very convenient,with that convenience comes the noise from the aircrafts flying above due to the short distance from the airport.would this stop me from booking here again? No .
Would I stay there again..yes

Reviewed by
Abigail W

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Legacy Great Hallingbury Manor
Very pleased with the hotel and will be revisiting in the future.

Reviewed by
a jacombs

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good experience!
We realise that this hotel is close to an airport and as such some aircraft noise is to be expected but our night was so disturbed we left feeling more exhausted than when we arrived. We were told that the aircraft noise should stop by 11pm but there may be the odd plane landing if its take off had been delayed. At 1.30am we still had planes taking off and landing very regularly and our room, although looked lovely and was very spacious, was boiling hot and the only way to let any air in was to open the door into the room. Unfortunately the door opened straight onto a walkway to other rooms so we had guests wheeling their suitcases right past our open door so this was not an option. We cannot comment of the food as we did not stay for breakfast, but, unless you are a really heavy sleeper, I would honestly recommend ear plugs if staying in this hotel.
I don't think we will be staying here again which is a real shame because the place looked lovely and the room was very nice.

Reviewed by
Sue P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab food! Don't stay in annex rooms across road
on arrival Receptionist quite rude but once she left staff were very good. Annex rooms across road far too small! Better to pay a bit more for larger room!
Food fabulous, drinks reasonable!

Reviewed by
M Rusted

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best in class
For the money I couldn't have expected more.

Reviewed by
Tony P

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay in Early November
Very comfortable, clean, contemporary hotel. Of course you are going to get aircraft noise because of where it is, but there were no aircraft movements during the night so sleep was undisturbed.
Excellent restaurant, good breakfast buffet, attentive staff.
Would not hesitate to recommend.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night near Stansted.
Hotel was a grand building with good parking behind hotel, The gardens are all lit up at night with a smoking area near restaurant , Room was good with a modern feel and modern bathroom with a good walk in shower really would class as a wet room. My room backed onto kitchen and was a bit noisy and also opposite door through to rooms so when people going through the door slammed and my door rattled. there is a bar area which has piano music played , after a while it gets annoying to listen too. The restaurant is separate but the menu is limited and hotel prices are quite expensive compared to hotels in area. Great looking hotel but only use for a night before going on hols as a treat, as can lack atmosphere, staff were friendly and helpful overall was a nice place.

Reviewed by
s pereira

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't fault the quality of the room, but the size.......
Can’t fault the finish and cleanliness of the room or the hotel, both were excellent as were the staff. But there were a few little things that got up my nose.
Room was tiny, no more than 12” to 18” floor space around 2 sides of a double bed (the other 2 sides had wall), radiator didn’t work and the shower was not much more than a trickle. I’ve stayed in Legacy hotels before so I should have remembered this next one, they charge a 2.5% handling fee for settling your bill by credit card, I don’t remember seeing anything about this at time of booking.

Reviewed by
S Wright

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car needed if staying more than 1 night
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere so if you are staying for more than just overnight for the airport you definitely need a car if you want to venture outside of the hotel. Stayed across the road in room 60. Big drop when you walked into the front door which was quite dangerous. Room was quite small and the design layout as far as the electrics were concerned was not well thought out, The 'wet-room' effect shower was awful as it soaked everywhere which was a shame as it looks so nice.
Great for an overnight if you have an early flight.

Reviewed by
Denise D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy
Nice setting but on the flight path for Stansted airport so too noisy.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next