Reviews - Newark Lodge Guest House



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (39)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Penny Kershaw

  • September 2015

Beautiful accommodation, real value for money.

We were attending a wedding in the area & had decided a two night stay to avoid travel on day of wedding, we had been given details of local value chain hotel to stay at which we have used before ( nothing wrong with them but they are what they are basic ) & we wanted bit more & we certainly got it, what a little gem this place is we were made to feel welcome from the minute Mike opened the door, our on suite room was luxury personified & every thing needed was supplied ( it really is the little details & provisions that set them apart way to many to list & like me you can enjoy discovering them ) breakfast cooked to perfection & served in style with the opportunity to engage in the dying art of conversation with other guests.

For me every time I entered some thing different caught my attention from excuisite art work to beautiful collectables that span time & continents, you get so much more than just a bed for the night and when you compare costs with more than the bog standard breakfast included, its real value for money. Finally to Sheila & Mike thank you again & again.

  • S Ryan

  • July 2015

Fantastic place to stay

One of the best places I have stayed.

Great value for money. Beautiful room and very nice owners. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Melville P

  • June 2015

Excellent B & B

Really worth the cost for the extra special service provided and brilliant accommodation.

  • C Jackson

  • May 2015

What a great find this is

Such a lovely guest house, everything was perfect.

We only fell upon this guest house as we were looking for a place to stay for a wedding about 5 miles away. This was the closest we could get as everywhere was booked up and I am glad they were. Mike and Sheila are a great couple and so welcoming you don't want to leave.

  • M Pascoe

  • April 2015

One night stay

The overall experience was excellent.

My wife and I will definitely book here again

  • W Upton

  • March 2015

Review of Newark Lodge

Newark Lodge was a really lovely place to stay.

We were made to feel so welcome from the minute we walked in and our room was fantastic. Very luxurious and extremely comfortable with a great size bath for relaxing.We would definitely recommend it to a friend and certainly return if we were ever in the area.

  • paul s

  • March 2015

Absolutely fantastic

Mike and his wife were brilliant.

Very hospitable. The room was fabulous, well furnished and luxurious. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Deborah Hartley

  • February 2015

The only downfall Is that we had to leave

Room was fabulous, spacious , elegant, meticulously presented.

Ensuite stunning with deprecate shower cubicle and roll too bath too. The whole lodge has a Louis / French/ rococo theme and it works. I was blown away.

Breakfast in the morning - such attention to detail. Proper pot of tea, real marmade, butter balls, bacon from the butchers with all the fat cut off.

The hosts/ owners are such a lovely couple and absolutely nothing is too much trouble.

I applaud both if you and your lodge. You both are a gem, your lodge/ home is a gem. Gems are precious and a beauty to behold. Need I say more.

  • m fiddy

  • February 2015

short break

Great place to stay well looked after.

  • Anthony Rogers

  • December 2014

Newark Lodge Guest House