No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newark Lodge Guest House

5Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
5 BULLPIT ROAD , NEWARK, NG24 3PT
Sheila & Mike offer you a very warm welcome to Newark Lodge Guest House with our Five Stars and Gold Award. Located just outside Newark and just off the A1 with full off-street parking. All rooms are ensuite with Digital Freeview T.V's plus CD player, free WIFI, Trouser Press, Hairdryer and Hospitality Tray and are extremely comfortable with a real homely touch. All toiletries are of the highest standards. One and a half miles outside Newark and close to the Newark ShowGround.
Evening meals are served just across the road from us at the Chesters Pub where Jackie the Manageress will look after you like royalty and give you a discount on food.

Sorry but we do not accept Children younger than 6 years of age, for safety reasons.
Picture of Newark Lodge Guest House, NEWARK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only downfall Is that we had to leave
Room was fabulous, spacious , elegant, meticulously presented. Ensuite stunning with deprecate shower cubicle and roll too bath too. The whole lodge has a Louis / French/ rococo theme and it works. I was blown away.
Breakfast in the morning - such attention to detail. Proper pot of tea, real marmade, butter balls, bacon from the butchers with all the fat cut off.
The hosts/ owners are such a lovely couple and absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
I applaud both if you and your lodge. You both are a gem, your lodge/ home is a gem. Gems are precious and a beauty to behold! Need I say more.

Reviewed by
Deborah Hartley

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Great place to stay well looked after.

Reviewed by
m fiddy

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newark Lodge Guest House
Excellent!

Reviewed by
Anthony Rogers

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superstar place with the warmest of welcomes & great hospitality
My husband & I stayed overnight as we were attending a Wedding Reception at Stubton Hall, this was only a 10 minute taxi ride away, which Mike had already pre-booked for us. We had such a warm welcome upon arrival. Our room was beautiful, absolutely immaculate & you sank into the carpet. The bed was so comfy we could have just slept all weekend, never mind going out. The roll top bath was such a special feature in the huge bathroom along with all the other furniture, pictures etc. The attention to detail for what you would need in the room was second to none, especially for the ladies, everything had been thought of. Breakfast was very relaxed & the food was brilliant, we could'nt have been looked after any more or made more welcome. In fact we were treated as old friends which was lovely & we can't recommend this place highly enough. We will look forward to the next time we are able to go back.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little gem
wonderful little guest house all with its old charm and lovely furnishings .A very comfortable stay and excellent breakfast all cooked to order . Mike and Sheila are great hosts and will make your stay a comfortable and an enjoyable one .

Reviewed by
juliette gordon

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Find
An amazing little hotel, extremley friendly and great surroundings.

Reviewed by
Simon Hare

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly B&B
We booked Newark Lodge at the last minute whilst attending a wedding. We were met almost as soon as we pulled up on the drive and given a friendly welcome. Our room (the twin suite) was furnished beautifully with an African theme and the bathroom was lovely and roomy. Breakfast was the best part- good choice and an English breakfast with 'real' bacon! Would recommend to anyone needing somewhere to stay in Newark.

Reviewed by
andrew b

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money stay with very good customer service.

Reviewed by
A Lynch

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent standard of accommodation and friendly staff
Charming building with a historic feel and quiet location. Plenty of parking. Owners were very attentive and hospitable. Comfortable room with lots of nice touches, and gorgeious home-cooked breakfast cooked to order! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
David F

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newalk experience
This establishment is the best presented accommodation I have ever stayed in

Reviewed by
Thomas Gallagher

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next