No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MORLEDGE , DERBY, DE1 2AY
Choose the contemporary Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights hotel for its city-centre location and proximity to the Peak District. Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights is situated next to the Westfield Derby shopping centre in the heart of the city. Derby bus station is next door and we're a 10-minute walk from Derby Midlands rail station . Flights touch down at East Midlands Airport , 14 miles away. You'll feel relaxed when you step off the bustling street and into our sleek Lobby, with its 4-storey glass atrium. We're within 2 miles of your meetings at Rolls Royce and the University of Derby , and a 10-minute drive from Toyota's offices. You can host gatherings and events for up to 120 people in our 4 bright and modern meeting rooms, all of which are air-conditioned and have wireless Internet . Our location in Derby's city centre gives you excellent shopping, dining and entertainment options. You can take a refreshing walk in the countryside after a 30-minute drive to the rolling Peak District National Park . Back at Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights, work out in the MiniGym or unwind in your stylish Guest room. Visit Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights' sophisticated restaurant , Stresa, for anything from a quick bite to a leisurely dinner. Our inviting bar serves drinks and snacks until late and our tasty Room Service menu is available 24 hours a day.
Picture of Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, DERBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this was a zoo not a hotel

Reviewed by
Stuart C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service was professional, friendly and precise. Room was clean and tidy, only gripe was the shower
We had the luxury of the executive room which was very spacious, clean and tidy. The shower was the only problem, had to virtually stand on the taps to get under the water. Security made us feel very safe and secure, key card need to access stairs and lift so no chance of people wondering in off the street. The hotel is situated in the town near a bus station and car parks so parking and local travel was easy yet we never heard any noises from the roads around the hotel. The shopping centre opposite the car park was vast and had plenty of non-norm shops and stalls to look around. The restaurant was clean and spacious and the food was fresh and we'll stocked. Usual you'd expect fom a help yourself breakfast.

Reviewed by
Claire Elliott

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was just beautiful, it was spacious, clean and had everything you would need. The hotel even provide complimentary toiletries incase you dont have some. Great hotel will definitely come back again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Leece

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

World Superbike weekend. 24th-25th May.
My wife & I had a very comfortable nights stay with excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
M Ratcliffe

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean hotel. Good position. Helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent hotel modern clean friendly what more could you want
the room was very clean the staff friendly ,the location is good your close to every thing .

Reviewed by
tina brier

From nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay very happy with cleanliness and style of the room and hotel and staff very friendly

Reviewed by
Marek Smith

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. Hotel average.
Good customer service. Brilliant location. Food and drinks very overpriced. Clean hotel with good sized rooms. Loud air con. Bed was broken but was quickly moved to another room. Found it to be quiet even though it was in a busy city centre location.

ManagementResponse

Dear Jamie S, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy that our staff delivered at par customer service and you found our location convenient. However, I regret the inconvenience you may have had with the room you were given. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve our efforts. Sincerely, Pam, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Jamie S

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst Breakfast service EVER!!!
The breakfast service (9.20am on Sunday 1st Sept 2013) resembled a hotel from hell.... painfully slow ineffective service quality, little or no management/supervisory presence, inattentive staff, missing crockery and culterly, no glasses, had to ask for the orange juice container to toped up, empty buffet dishes, warm milk, cold bacon, no coffee ot tea offered, dirty and uncleared tables throughout, no meet and greet, missing name of the breakfast list, and the list goes on... and I witnessed this for other people as well. I've stayed in many hotels across the world, and this has got to be the worst service ever. Utter shambles!!! If you do stay at this hotel, the decor and rooms are fine (though very clinical - the reception resembled a hosptial ward), DO NOT have breakfast at £13.50 a person. You will be dissapointmented. My advice is to pop over to the nearby Wetherspoons and have breakfast there...

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry to hear about the experience you had during breakfast. I assure you it is not reflective of the normal service provided by ourselves at the Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights. As you can see from other reviews that we pride ourselves in being one of the best hotels in Derby. Unfortunately on the day, we had a large coach party who tends to come together at the same time for breakfast and the situation was compounded when we incurred few operational problems which needed the attention of the duty manager and the restaurant supervisor hence the issues that lead to the poor service . We have discussed the same in detail in our briefing so the same may not happen again in the future. Again I thank you for taking the time in writing a review as it always helps us to better ourselves in the future. Kind Regards, Thomas Panickamuriyil, Interim General Manager

Reviewed by
Philip S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

riverlights
excellent place to stay to visit the peak district

Reviewed by
Anthony M

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next