Reviews - The Red Lion



Price From 158.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Andrew P

  • September 2015

Nice, quiet place to stay

If you want somewhere away from the city life then this is the place.

A warm welcome, friendly staff and quiet surroundings make this place a perfect get-away break.

Basic 3 star rooms with en-suit , tea coffee, no iron board in room but a didn't need one so didn't ask. Freshly cooked breakfast, and decent quality shower in room.

  • E Errington

  • September 2015

Fabulous place for walkers

We stayed here after long day walking.

Steve very friendly, took us straight to our room, beef and wine were good. Food very rustic and just what we needed after the day. Very nice hotel come pub with a lovely cosy feel. Lovely fire set ready to be lit and it would have been nice to see it going and sit by it later in evening.

  • John T

  • August 2015

Gem off the beaten track

Cosy, comfortable and welcoming; slightly off the beaten track, but excellent value.

A traditional pub, so my room reflected the character of the building; but was clean, well kept and had a good en-suite. The breakfast was tasty and very well presented; and the hosts were friendly and very professional. A great find!

  • G Walker

  • April 2015

Although I arrived really late, there was food waiting for me and I was made to feel very welcome.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • D Graham

  • March 2015

This place is a diamond

Could not have had a warmer welcome.

Phil (Slovakian barman) has such attention to detail, it was like staying in a 5* hotel. The owners are lovely. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The food was good. Could not ask for more and at this price, a steal. I will certainly be back.

  • Paul Burrett

  • February 2015

Great place to stay.

Great location for the Lakes.

A small local pub in a quiet location. Friendly people (including the locals) couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome. Wholesome, freshly cooked food and large portions. Lovely breakfast that set me up for the day. Good local beer at a reasonable price. My room above the bar was clean and comfortable with everything I needed like WiFi, TV and tea making facilities. Lovely little shower room cleaned daily with fresh towels every day. Good food, good beer, nice people...what more can you ask for!

  • Robert Ward

  • November 2014

Best Breakfast - Ever!

Homely, cosy pub with a small open fire, well stocked bar, comfortable room and a big welcome.

Great value, not even allowing for the fact that full English breakfast was the best ever - bar none!

  • Christopher C

  • November 2014

Excellent little place to stay

I booked in a couple of days beforehand, it's a great little place above the Pub which wasn't noisey.

Parking and WiFi included.

Breakfast was brilliant, and staff very helpful.

Previous reviews say the place needed decorating, the exterior of the Pub had been decorated and it's very smart.

  • Sam P

  • September 2014

Lovely stay at the Red Lion Inn

We booked in for a one night stay at this inn which is set in such a lovely area of the Lake district.

The views from our room and from the beer garden were beautiful. This is an ideal location is you want to access Conniston, Windemere etc and is near Grisdale forest too.

The inn is small, only 3 rooms available, however our bedroom was surprisingly spacious. If your looking for a modern style venue this is not the place for you. Think lovely beamed ceilings etc.

The evening dinner menu was great, hearty food and very big portions. Id recommend the salt and pepper squid and cumberland sausage.

  • Leslie Platt

  • August 2014

Made to feel very welcome

The bar was busy when I arrived but the landlord saw my luggage and straightaway came to conduct me to my room.

No fuss, no nonsense. My evening meal was excellent as was the beer. There was a folk music evening (2nd Thursday in the month) which was well-patronised. Local people in the bar were welcoming and made me feel at home. A good atmosphere. Breakfasts were very good. The exterior of the premises looks to be in need of some re-decoration, but don't let this put you off staying. The landlord and his colleagues gave good service throughout my stay.