Reviews - The Red Lion

LOWICK BRIDGE, ULVERSTON, LA128EF

Price From 153.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (19)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • N Gomery

  • January 2016

Good basic accomodation

Good atmosphere, no frills but clean, comfortable and welcoming, great for dogs (although ours stayed home!).

  • D Hardy

  • January 2016

A little Gem

Steve, the landlord met me immediately as I arrived and showed me to my room.

Service was second to none and the food was really good honest, well made, pub food all freshly cooked and nicely presented. The breakfast was epic. Really epic. Didn't need another bite until way after 3.30pm. As a lover of real ale I wasn't disappointed here. Three hand-pulls (only two on) to choose from is fine for most evenings. Beer was served first class.

Would definitely stay again.

  • k marshall

  • December 2015

A great weekend

A great welcome from Steve and Lucy and staff.

Treated like long lost friends where nothing is too much trouble. Rooms were nice and clean and warm and very comfortable. Evening meals were home cooked and delicious and the breakfast was something to behold, after eating that you won't want another thing all day. (till your evening meal again). Steve even took us into Ulverston instead of us waiting for the bus in the rain. Would we stay again YES, would we recommend The Red Lion, YES. If you want a great break at a great country pub this is the one Keith, Jeanne, Steve and Lynn.

  • Andrew P

  • September 2015

Nice, quiet place to stay

If you want somewhere away from the city life then this is the place.

A warm welcome, friendly staff and quiet surroundings make this place a perfect get-away break.

Basic 3 star rooms with en-suit , tea coffee, no iron board in room but a didn't need one so didn't ask. Freshly cooked breakfast, and decent quality shower in room.

  • E Errington

  • September 2015

Fabulous place for walkers

We stayed here after long day walking.

Steve very friendly, took us straight to our room, beef and wine were good. Food very rustic and just what we needed after the day. Very nice hotel come pub with a lovely cosy feel. Lovely fire set ready to be lit and it would have been nice to see it going and sit by it later in evening.

  • John T

  • August 2015

Gem off the beaten track

Cosy, comfortable and welcoming; slightly off the beaten track, but excellent value.

A traditional pub, so my room reflected the character of the building; but was clean, well kept and had a good en-suite. The breakfast was tasty and very well presented; and the hosts were friendly and very professional. A great find!

  • G Walker

  • April 2015

Although I arrived really late, there was food waiting for me and I was made to feel very welcome.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • D Graham

  • March 2015

This place is a diamond

Could not have had a warmer welcome.

Phil (Slovakian barman) has such attention to detail, it was like staying in a 5* hotel. The owners are lovely. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The food was good. Could not ask for more and at this price, a steal. I will certainly be back.

  • Paul Burrett

  • February 2015

Great place to stay.

Great location for the Lakes.

A small local pub in a quiet location. Friendly people (including the locals) couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome. Wholesome, freshly cooked food and large portions. Lovely breakfast that set me up for the day. Good local beer at a reasonable price. My room above the bar was clean and comfortable with everything I needed like WiFi, TV and tea making facilities. Lovely little shower room cleaned daily with fresh towels every day. Good food, good beer, nice people...what more can you ask for!

  • Robert Ward

  • November 2014

Best Breakfast - Ever!

Homely, cosy pub with a small open fire, well stocked bar, comfortable room and a big welcome.

Great value, not even allowing for the fact that full English breakfast was the best ever - bar none!