No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
LOWICK BRIDGE , ULVERSTON, LA128EF
The Red Lion Ulverston is a small country Inn with beautiful views, close to Lake Coniston. Good food, good beer, dogs and children welcome. There is a wide selection on the menu and it's all top quality. Everything from the staff to the decor is inviting.
Acoustic music night second thursday of every month.Beginner and intermediate players who want to play and sing with other musicians. Start 8.30 until late.
Picture of The Red Lion, ULVERSTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a nice quiet experience
i've had a quite spacious room with a clean and big washroom. it's just 20 minutes' bus trip to Lake Coniston and the bus stop is just outside the hotel. since i arrived on a Sunday with no bus service, Steve (the owner) drove to pick me up from Ulverston train station, with a charge of only 10 pounds, while a taxi usually needs 20. there is a nice pub in the hotel, where you can talk to people living in the neighbourhood.

Reviewed by
Liming Liu

From HONG KONG, Hong Kong
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beltin little Pub B&B
Enjoyed my stay and the Breakfast was very good!! very accomodatinghosts and nice friendly people in the village.

Reviewed by
R Dandy

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog friendly
Unpretentious pub accommodation , dog friendly, value for money and fantastic breakfasts!

Reviewed by
Wendy S

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most Enjoyable
Steve and his wife were very friendly and welcoming. The Red Lion is a small country pub with a sociable bunch of locals that enhanced our stay. We will certainly stay again

Reviewed by
F Sharp

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great time
I stay away 3 or 4 nights every week and this is the first time I have entered a review. I do not enjoy staying in the many hotel chains availble and always choose an independant Pub or Hotel when I can. The Red Lion has been one of the Best, with the hospitality of Lucy and Steve fantastic. The food was superb, very tasty and served piping hot. I do not eat breakfast and Lucy provided a packed lunch including a home cooked, ham sandwich, thick and juicy. I sat by the log fire to eat and had a pint or 2 of the local hand pulled beer. Anyone wanting to stay in the county side with chickens running down the road, sheep and cattle in the feieds and a river running at the end of the lane need look no further than The Red Lion.

Reviewed by
Jerry M

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First stay in Lakes area and could not have wished for a better experience. Extremely helpful and friendly staff gave a warm welcome. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
Michael Burgan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

huge breakfast
good quality breakfast, accommodation ok but a little basic

Reviewed by
M D

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in the Lake District
The Red Lion is on the south west edge of the lake district, close to Bowness and situated in a small Village quite close to Ulverston (some 10 miles). It really is a village pub with a small number of well appointed rooms for guests. We arrived with our dog (lab) and all were made to feel welcome from the very outset. With no problem having the dog in the bar while we ate, she is well behaved, and flexibility on the menu it was an enjoyable evening. The Hartleys beer was an excellent pint.
We would recommend this Hotel for a quiet relaxing stay

Reviewed by
Glyn D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Stay
Nice setting, friendly and polite staff. Room has excellent facilities but is over the bar and after driving from the South Coast we were not able to get an early sleep. Had we joined the people in the bar I am sure we would have had an excellent evening but we were tired. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
Noel A

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing country pub stay..
We booked a 2 night stay at The Red Lion having read the reviews,we were not disappointed. We were made to fell welcome ,our room was clean and comfortable,bed very comfy. Breakfast was very good and set us up for the day,we could have had more coffee and toast but no room for it! Great food at night too!

Reviewed by
Jill P

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next