No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairshaw Rigg

5Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Fairshaw Rigg, Lowgate, , Hexham, NE46 2NW
Welcome to Fairshaw Rigg, an exclusive 5*, silver awarded, bed and breakfast establishment near Hadrian’s Wall, Northumberland. Our guests always enjoy a warm and friendly welcome and accommodation of a very high standard. Relax in our luxurious bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms whilst enjoying tranquillity, privacy and individual service. Fairshaw Rigg is a small working alpaca farm, we specialise in breeding top quality black alpacas, most of which graze happily next to the house. Situated just 2 miles SW of the famous market town of Hexham, Fairshaw Rigg is near many places of natural beauty and historic interest. Hadrian’s Wall is very close by together with numerous other Roman sites. There is a wide choice of places to eat locally but none are in easy walking distance.
Picture of Fairshaw Rigg, Hexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous B&B
A really nice family, very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Accommodation was spotless and all very nice quality.
Will be returning at some point. Lovely to have fresh nilk in the fridge.
The breakfast was home cooked and lovely.

Reviewed by
Helen T

From Saltburn-by-the-sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A precious little find!
We chose this property for it's location close to Hadrian's Wall. It is rural, with beautiful open views and pleasant drives en route. The hosts were very welcoming and attentive without being fussy, interesting to speak to and knowledgeable about the area. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, perfectly clean and very well equipped with any extras made available on request if they weren't already in the fridge or cupboard down the hall! A king size bed with alpaca duvet - beat that. Our only suggestion may be a brighter reading lamp in place of one of the bedside lamps as the windows to the room are only small so little natural light. A very homely place to spend a few days in the area.

Reviewed by
mihajlo m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent----so glad we found this B&B
We were very impressed with Fairshaw Rigg. The room was very clean. Paul and Catherine were warm and friendly and seeing to our every need. The bed and pillows were a most welcome comfort! We were tired when we arrived and had a wonderful rest. The breakfast was delicious from the homemade bread, jams, fruit compote, and the choices offered for our meal. It was one of the loveliest experiences we have had. We will definitely recommend this to our friends.

Reviewed by
Mack C

From South Jordan, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

does exactly what it says on the tin
everything was perfect , nothing was to much trouble,great hosts,breakfast choice, presentation and service was above expectation,had dinner at owners recommended pub/restaurant on the first evening, again great choice, visited Newcastle, Hexham, Seahouses, Bamburgh, Holy Island, Bedlington,(to visit friends) on reflection, maybe a little to much mileage for three days,first time visit to Northumberland,but not the last,

Reviewed by
A NEVITT

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found this family run bed and breakfast very comfortable. We stayed for three enjoyable nights whilst touring around the area, the owners were very friendly. The breakfasts were very good and set you up for the day, home made bread every day and the porridge was excellent. Will return if we are in the area again.

Reviewed by
stephen m

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous B&B
Lovely comfortable room, really fresh and clean. Really friendly owners who made us very welcome. Nice to have fridge with fresh milk in corridor. Breakfast with home made bread was really good. Dined at two of the owners recommended restaurants which were both nice but there were plenty of places in the area to choose from. First time we have slept under an alpaca duvet! Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewed by
A Moir

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We chose this accommodation as a centre for visiting various sites along Hadrian's Wall.
The accommodation was very clean, breakfast was freshly prepared and adequate and it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. It was a very convenient centre for our visit to Northumbria and Kathryn & Paul were very congenial hosts. Should we go to that area again we shall most certainly choose Fairview Rigg.

Reviewed by
Alan M

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant rural stop
"Holiday cottage" feel to the room. Pleasant and reasonably appointed. Enjoyable.

Reviewed by
N Evans

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant, we could not have been made to feel more welcome...
A really nice family, very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Accommodation was spotless and all very nice quality. Lovely, light orangery and great views...

Reviewed by
Nick B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfully relaxing stay
My room was clean and beautifully decorated. I was made very welcome and throughly enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
C Rawson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next