Reviews - Speech House - a Bespoke Hotel



Price From 167.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • T Hofer

  • September 2015

great little jotel

I enjoyed my stay at this little hotel with all the external rooms.

The food is extraordinary good. I was more than positive surprised. The room was very silent and I had a good sleep. The wifi is ok, could be faster, but where not.

  • natasha young

  • August 2015

Customer service above and beyond

This was my first visit to speech house and I will definitely be returning, the members of staff went above and beyond the entire trip.

they are happy, helpful and nothing seems to much trouble. We ate in both restaurants and both were fantastic especially the a le carte menu.

  • Esme W

  • June 2015

A delightful and relaxing stay.

The speech house is beautifully situated in the middle of the forest.

The hotel is old fashioned in the best way possible with gorgeous features. It's not super swanky and the dining areas are not very modern or glamorous but this wasn't a problem because everything was delightful. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is sublime and the beds comfortable. We overslept (checkout is 10.30) but didn't get a call until nearly 1pm with no extra charges. I'd definitely come back.

  • Elaine G

  • April 2015

Extremely Comfortable stay

Arrived on Saturday for the Forest of Dean half marathon the next day.

Reception was quick and efficient and informed us of choices of eating. Advised to book if eating in restaurant as only one table left. The room was large and comfortable. Had coffee in the orangery which was relaxing. Went to dinner and the food was fantastic - well presented and cooked perfectly. Newspaper was ordered for the morning and was ready and waiting and the breakfast was also a fabulous choice. Staff checked all was well and were friendly and approachable. Would recommend.

  • Marion R

  • January 2015

Comfortable special find Hotel in the Woods

Speech House was a wonderful find Hotel in the Forest of Dean.

Lovely walks to be had in the woods surrounding the Hotel and the rooms were so, so comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We shall definitely be going to visit again.

  • Geoff C

  • September 2014

Great hotel in Forest

Upgraded to Wedding Suite ...

Big well decorated room ... The biggest 4 poster bed in the UK. V comfortable ... only downside - need to be prepared for a bit of traffic outside - but easily forgotten with the quality of room, staff, surroundings and building ...

  • Dave H

  • August 2014

Lovely hotel if a little tired looking inside

We stayed 1 night.

Hotel interior is pleasant if a little dated. The whole place could do with a lick of paint inside. Having said that the staff were very pleasant and the food was lovely, if a little pricey as is common in hotels. Table service was however very slow e.g. we ordered drinks with our food, and these arrived barely before our meals. The same happened when we ordered drinks between courses. On leaving was given a discount voucher for a stay booked within 6 months which we may well use as the location is great for walking, moutain biking etc

  • Emma H

  • August 2014

Great location but noisy at night

The location of the hotel is great but unless you're willing to drive to other places you are going to have to eat here.

Both nights we stayed there were weddings in the marquee. It didn't bother me as I can sleep through anything but hubby struggled with the loud music. We ate in the orangery both nights. The food from the bar menu was definitely so so but the specials were delicious. I don't know why there was such a difference I struggle to believe they were made by the same kitchen. It was relaxing and nice. The staff were great.

  • Laura D

  • August 2014

Speech house hotel

From the photo which is shown on late rooms it fails to show the busy main road right outside the hotel so unless you are used to the sound of cars from your bedroom window it's not a quiet hotel but everything else was nice

  • michael d

  • July 2014

disappointed with reality after looking @ website

weary traveller meets tired hotel.

needs a bit of tlc and food in restaurant overpriced and average

will not return no vfm