No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Speech House - a Bespoke Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
SPEECH HOUSE HOTEL , COLEFORD, GL16 7EL
Set in the heart of the idyllic Royal Forest of Dean, this historic former 17th Century Hunting Lodge boasts fantastic forest views, charming accommodation, superb dining and free Wi-Fi and parking.

Originally built in 1676, the Hotel blends the elegance of authentic period features with stylish design and contemporary facilities. Overlooking the romantic wilderness of the surrounding forest, it’s the ideal retreat for exploring this area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Each of the comfortably appointed guestrooms provides period charm with modern facilities. Rooms are located either in the main house or the adjacent courtyard with many benefiting from four-poster beds and forest views.

For formal dining, the beamed Verderer’s Court restaurant offers fantastic contemporary European cuisine. For lighter meals and snacks, the Orangery is the perfect place to unwind after a long day.

The Hotel is just 30 minutes from Gloucester and the M5 and 40 minutes from Cheltenham and the M4. It is also near to such great attractions as Dean Forest Steam Railway, Wye Valley, Clearwell Caves and Chepstow Castle.
Picture of Speech House - a Bespoke Hotel, COLEFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but noisy at night
The location of the hotel is great but unless you're willing to drive to other places you are going to have to eat here. Both nights we stayed there were weddings in the marquee. It didn't bother me as I can sleep through anything but hubby struggled with the loud music! We ate in the orangery both nights. The food from the bar menu was definitely so so but the specials were delicious. I don't know why there was such a difference I struggle to believe they were made by the same kitchen. It was relaxing and nice. The staff were great.

Reviewed by
Emma H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Speech house hotel
From the photo which is shown on late rooms it fails to show the busy main road right outside the hotel so unless you are used to the sound of cars from your bedroom window it's not a quiet hotel but everything else was nice

Reviewed by
Laura D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel not such great food
Hotel was lovely but food was expensive for the quality, both mine and my husbands meat were tough and difficult to eat and for nearly twenty pound each I expected more, would just have a bar meal if stayed again

Reviewed by
L Worgan

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed with reality after looking @ website
weary traveller meets tired hotel! needs a bit of tlc and food in restaurant overpriced and average
will not return no vfm

Reviewed by
michael d

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

While it is a lovely hotel and apart from the poor welcome on arrival, I did enjoy my stay, but I did feel it was over priced. the hotel was clean and in particular my room. I stayed in one of the courtyard rooms due to my husbands expected very late arrival - so as not to disturb other residents

Reviewed by
angela g

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good cemtre for visiting the Forest of Dean
We were happy with Speech House and enjoyed good quality evening meals in the (cheaper) Orangery Restaurant. Speech House is an old house with a long history and the main restaurant is still in occasional use as a court room (see site). The restaurant and its annexe retain their period character and the food was very good. Loved the local forest fruits compote at breakfast!
Our room off the courtyard was modern and rather small and lacking in character, but in good condition and very clean.

Reviewed by
Michael J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, shame about the customer service
Nice place and nice room! What a shame they spoilt it by being complete a.....s!!! Woke up late on Sunday mornin and were late for breakfast but they wouldn't help us out and then wen I ordered some room service they very rudely said we had t be out by 10.30!!!!! That's very early anyway! How odd that when I asked to check in at 12 they wouldn't budge either! Rude receptionist too! Awful and wouldn't recommend the place

Reviewed by
d ormonroyd

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very last minute weekend break
We booked the Saturday night's stay late on the Friday on impulse so hadn't done a lot of homework about the hotel apart from the venue, The hotel was a real find, not only does it have a very interesting history but the accommodation, staff and restaurant are excellent. It is surrounded by all manner of places of interest too many for a weekend so we will be back,

Reviewed by
R Edwards

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced Basic Room
My room was in the annexe at the back of the hotel. There was a lot of noise from the car park right outside my door. The room was basic and although newly decorated, had a strong smell of paint. The half onions placed around the room should have been removed prior to the room being used. The shower ranged pretty quickly between cold to scalding and back again. The advertised free Wi-Fi only covered for an hour but this didn't matter as I only managed to connect for 5 minutes before the signal disappeared.

Reviewed by
S Prosser

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic second stay at this wonderful hotel
this is the second weekend break at this hotel and it was just as good as the first time. Friendly staff super room and glorious food and local ales. A warm welcome for everyone. Wonderful setting with wonderful walks if you feel energetic.

Reviewed by
terry stevenson

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next