No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Liongate House

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Liongate House, Northover, , Ilchester, BA22 8NG
Liongate House is a sympathetically rebuilt barn situated in the historic Roman town of Ilchester. Completed in 2006 using the original bricks and roof tiles, the integrity of the outer building remains whilst the inside is designed in a more modern contemporary style. Energy efficient underfloor heating together with a heat recovery ventilation system and effective rainwater recycling serving all toilets, make Liongate House an eco-friendly property to stay in. All our individually designed quality rooms offer flexible accommodation for a maximum of six guests (including children) with en-suite facilities. Our hearty breakfast includes local free-range eggs, home-baked bread, some organic produce and homemade marmalade and jams made with fruit from our garden. We are delighted to announce that we have achieved a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor which recognises our commitment to providing quality accommodation and an outstanding service for our guests.
Picture of Liongate House, Ilchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply the best B&B
There really isn't anything other than praise to give this B&B. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and extremely stylish in decor. The breakfast was plentiful, professionally cooked using high quality produce. We really wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else should we return to the area.

Reviewed by
Vicky W

From Purley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect weekend
This is easily one of the best B&BS I have ever stayed in. The accommodation and breakfasts are outstanding and the owners are very caring ,friendly and efficient. I would give it a perfect rating.

Reviewed by
Carol O`Connell

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting friends in the area. The hosts could not be more helpful and we had a lovely stay in the family room. Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
S McKiernan

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful B&B with lovely hosts
My little boy and I stayed at Liongate House and had such a lovely welcome from Liz and Graeme - the room was comfortable and immaculate, lots of thoughtful extras to make our stay a peaceful and relaxing one. The breakfast was delicious each day, and the location is great. And our hosts were so kind to us both, especially my son. This is one of the nicest B&Bs I've stayed in, and certainly the kindest hosts :-)

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for such a glowing review! It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you will visit us in the future. Best wishes, Liz and Graeme

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Wow..... Spotlessly clean with excellent facilities. Good off street parking
Nothing too much trouble for the friendly new owners. Always a great start when you are offered tea/coffee and home made cake on arrival, after a long drive.
If you are in this area look no further!

Reviewed by
graham bouvier

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing was to much trouble
I've stayed in many hotels, although it was the first time I have stayed at a B&B. Loingate House is run by a husband and wife team who make you feel at home from the time you arrive until the time you leave. Nothing is to much trouble, my room was tastefully furnished with ample room including all amenities. There are several restrants near by so finding somewhere to have an evening meal is no problem. With so many choices it can be difficult to choose a comfortable and relaxing place to stay, whether business or pleasure I would highly recommend staying here.

ManagementResponse

Dear Karl, Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write the review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to you staying with us in the future. Best wishes, Liz and Graeme

Reviewed by
K Bates

From Southend-on-Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic
We were travelling to Ilchester for a wedding and stayed here because it was close to the reception. The location is absolutely brilliant - close to so many tourist attractions. The rooms are brilliant, so clean and with everything you could want for. The hosts are really knowledgeable about the local area and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. A brilliant B&B and one that we will be recommending and would visit again.

Reviewed by
R Davies

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In a word - Wonderful
A fabulous stay in all respects, nothing could be faulted. A warm friendly welcome on arrival and during the whole stay nothing was too much trouble.
A lovely location, (don't miss Stuarts fish pond), and quality fittings matched quality service.
Spotlessly clean, lovely breakfast beautifully cooked completed with home made bread and jams.
This was a first class Bed & Breakfast and 110% recommended

Reviewed by
A Price

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
We stayed here on an overnight down to Cornwall so that we cold break up the journey. This place is a littel gem. Great location, superb facilities, great breakfast and fantastic hosts. They recommended a pub for dinner which the food was spectacular. All in all a definite stopping point on you way to the south west or surrounding area of Ilchester! We will be coming back for sure.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Liongate House B & B
A place of top quality. Very well furnished and excellent decoration, very modern. Also receive a very warm welcome from the owner upon arrival. Would defo stay there again, and all set in a very nice and friendly village/town.

Reviewed by
Dave W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next