No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hemmel B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
30 Swinhoe Road Beadnell, Chathill, NE675AG
The Hemmel is an outstanding property situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, (AONB) we are close to Alnwick, Bamburgh, Dunstanburgh, Castles. Golf, Windsurfing, Walking, Diving, Farne Islands are all on your doorstep. Local amenities approximately within 100 yards and Beadnell Bay approximately 500m away.

We have double and twin rooms each with their own toilet / shower facilities. Dogs are welcome at no extra charge.
Picture of The Hemmel B&B, Chathill at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was disappointed after ringing to cancel one of my rooms to find out they cancelled the wrong one .
was not happy after cancelling one of two room with late rooms ,and contacting guest house direct as well to find they cancelled the wrong one . we was a bed short so an extra bed was put into an already small room . no discount offered . disappointed .

Reviewed by
a driffill

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything about our two nights would be hard to fault.Nothing was to much trouble .Recommended

Reviewed by
alan brown

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic little B&B for the money - owners very friendly!
The rooms are quite small & basic but for the price they are very good value for money! They have everything you need in them & the beds very comfortable! We had a lovely 4 nights Easter break & will definitely use again.
My only negative comment is in our room the street light was shining through the window all night so could do with some black out curtains.
Overall lovely place, friendly/helpful owners would highly recommend if after value for money.

Reviewed by
M Ellison

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Friendly
Very clean and friendly. Room was a bit under furnished, only one easy chair. WiFi connection impossible.

Reviewed by
Roger W

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B in a good location
We were upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost, this had a separate full bathroom with a bath, which was welcome after the walks. The breakfasts were good and served quickly. The location is excellent , very quiet but close to the coast and two good hotel/pubs a short walk away for an evening meal. A minor problem was the hot water seeming to go off one evening resulting in a cold shower.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decent one night stop off.
decent little room with shower in the corner, clean enough, warm enough. The only thing that let it down was it smelled a bit of DOGS, and there had been a few tatty repairs...like holes in the toilet doors and filler bodged around the shower cubicle. Really nice breakfast, nice hosts, good for a one night stop off. I would use again for that purpose.

Reviewed by
k white

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet -Homely and comfortable.
A nice homely base ideal for exploring/ walking on the coast. Two nice village pubs within walking distance The Craster Arms is more modern and the meal we had was very good. We had two really good nights sleep as it's very quiet and peaceful. Owners very friendly and offered good advice would recommend and return.

Reviewed by
J ALLISON

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly welcome,.good clean accomodation.location great for nearbyattactions ie Farne islands Holy island Bambrough castle etc.
Breakfast very tasty and substantial

Reviewed by
irene mason

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly place
The Hemmel is a friendly run B&B. Our room was compact, as having booked a family room through late rooms.com, they had in fact only booked us a double room. However, the owner quickly told us this was not a problem and squeezed in a single bed. This made the room a bit tight to move around in, but to be honest was not a huge problem. Breakfast was delicious. The Hemmel is a lovely place to stay and if we are around the area again, would definitely go back there. With thoughts of running a B&B ourselves, this place actually gave us some good inspiration....

Reviewed by
Anne Medlicott

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next