No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 7 Hotel Diner

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
LONDON ROAD, POLHILL KENT, HALSTEAD, TN14 7AA
We believe that your stay with us should be special, whatever the occasion. So as you would expect from 7 Hotel, our rooms with bath or shower are anything but basic. All rooms contain handmade beds and include tea and coffee making facilities. All 26 rooms have been lovingly designed and decorated by a team of highly skilled professionals. Every piece of furniture has been custom designed, for both style and for comfort.

For those with a technological mind, all our rooms contain Flat Screen TV’s with a range of terrestrial and digital channels and there is WiFi broadband access throughout. In the morning, why not pick up your newspaper from outside your door, settle down with a mug of coffee before coming downstairs to the 7 Diner for a breakfast you won’t forget! Or for those of you in a rush, why not book your “breakfast to go” and get on the road early!

We offer a range of rooms; singles, doubles and twin rooms. Plus our extremely popular family rooms and new Loft suite which sleeps up to three people, Please note ALL our rooms are non-smoking.

Our Diner offers the best in local and regional produce. Delicious chargrilled steaks, Burgers, Salads, Chicken, Gumbos and ribs and for desert ? irresistible smoothies and desserts will be freshly made in our imamculate open kitchen - adding a dash of Chef’s flair for your entertainment! Our Diner has been exclusively styled and designed to reflect that great era of 1950’s American Diners and the heyday of 1960’s Great Britain!
Picture of 7 Hotel Diner, HALSTEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

50s/60s style!
Hotel accomodation was very good and the American style Diner was brilliant, loved the juke box and the music!

Reviewed by
Norah Barnes

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable retro experience
This American diner with rooms is new venture along a fairly busy road, and manned by friendly glamorous looking retro dressed reception girls of The Only Way is Essex type. With everything fresh the establishment oozes a certain style and is definitely attractive. Breakfast was good, but nothing special and tea or coffee is not included. I had booked a superior double but am sure we were allocated a standard room, as it was tiny. The bed frame had sharp corners, so careful negotiating around was called for. When checking out I asked for the difference between a standard and a superior room and received a vague reply. As the stay was for one night only I was not too bothered, but will make sure next time I get a more spacious room. Yes, there will be a next time, as I like the concept.

Reviewed by
Magdalena Rondeboom

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate, but I could do better
The Late room price was more expensive than advertised price at Hotel. Tried to ring to confirm slightly later arrival time than originally stated. Could not get reception had to leave message. No one rang back that day. Room very small, double bed small. It served its purpose, but there must be nicer places to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
Peter A

From Ledbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a suprising value overnight stay
The room and fittings including the bed looked and felt like new.
We only had breakfast there, but this was first class and most enjoyable.
My wife had the full english and i went for the all day american both very
good value for money @ only £4.95 each. The set up was 50's america
old yankee car photos and juke box. Would have no problem going back.

Reviewed by
gwyn h

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 Hotel Diner
Clean if small room, friendly professional staff and good car parking. No gripes @ £65.00

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Room was very hot and at the front of the building so noisy if you had the window open. No air conditioning and a fan that just moved the hot air around but we were in the middle of a heat wave.

Reviewed by
S Gosling

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
Room small but lovely and practical and large flat screen TV. The hotel is on a main road which was noisy as due to the heat we had to sleep with the window open.
Only enough milk in the room for one drink each.
Dinner in the restaurant good but expensive. Breakfast disappointing as the pancakes were rock hard.
Overall good value for the price I paid £30 for the room, but I wouldn't have wanted to pay the full price.

Reviewed by
s parker

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, room too hot!
Our stay was lovely, the staff were nice and welcoming. The food was outstanding! Loved the breakfast, highlight of our weekend! Only negatives are that the hotel could do with a coat of paint, as the walls all look quite dirty, also our bathroom needed a good clean. Unfortunately our stay was during hot weather, this meant that our room was unbearable, tiny window that hardly opened, and only one small fan.

Reviewed by
K Waud

From Horsell, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny room
Stayed there for one night, our second visit. Room so small it was claustrophobic, even smaller than one we had last time. Very clean and modern but at back of hotel looking onto kitchens and extractors etc, so very noisy. Extremely hot even with fan on all night, as could not have window open. No bath and nowhere to put anything down in shower so had to keep opening shower door. Restaurant quite expensive for what you get and got charged for something we had asked for as an alternative.

Reviewed by
Dorothy F

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pearl set on a busy road
I expected to find a typical motel - this place is set on a very busy road, however once inside I was pleasantly surprised. Really friendly staff, friendly and happy to go the extra mile. Contemporary, clean room with lovely modern bathroom. Fantastic American style diner attached where I enjoyed a full American breakfast while my husband had full English. Outside area really bright and modern with kids play area. Would thoroughly recommend.

Reviewed by
j shannon

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.