No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 7 Hotel Diner

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
LONDON ROAD, POLHILL KENT, HALSTEAD, TN14 7AA
We believe that your stay with us should be special, whatever the occasion. So as you would expect from 7 Hotel, our rooms with bath or shower are anything but basic. All rooms contain handmade beds and include tea and coffee making facilities. All 26 rooms have been lovingly designed and decorated by a team of highly skilled professionals. Every piece of furniture has been custom designed, for both style and for comfort.

For those with a technological mind, all our rooms contain Flat Screen TV’s with a range of terrestrial and digital channels and there is WiFi broadband access throughout. In the morning, why not pick up your newspaper from outside your door, settle down with a mug of coffee before coming downstairs to the 7 Diner for a breakfast you won’t forget! Or for those of you in a rush, why not book your “breakfast to go” and get on the road early!

We offer a range of rooms; singles, doubles and twin rooms. Plus our extremely popular family rooms and new Loft suite which sleeps up to three people, Please note ALL our rooms are non-smoking.

Our Diner offers the best in local and regional produce. Delicious chargrilled steaks, Burgers, Salads, Chicken, Gumbos and ribs and for desert ? irresistible smoothies and desserts will be freshly made in our imamculate open kitchen - adding a dash of Chef’s flair for your entertainment! Our Diner has been exclusively styled and designed to reflect that great era of 1950’s American Diners and the heyday of 1960’s Great Britain!
Picture of 7 Hotel Diner, HALSTEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Place to Stay at Great value for money
We arrived at the hotel very late at night and was met by a friendly member of staff and was checked in within minutes. Both the bedroom and shower room was spotlessly clean, contemporary and had everything we needed, the bed was really comfortable. Only thing I would suggest is that either blinds or net curtains are fitted in the ground floor rooms as it felt quite exposed. We had breakfast the next morning in the 1950's style diner it was good quality and value in a fun surrounding. All the staff were friendly, polite and professional. Would definately return to this hotel as it was also great value for money

Reviewed by
Liz N

From North Ferriby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The diner itself looked good and they had live music the evening we were there, but we didn't use the diner so can't comment on the food etc. The room itself was small. We often go "cheap and cheerful" at Travelodge, and this room was small in comparison, only a little bigger than the bed itself.
We stayed Friday night which is £29 - if we'd stayed on a weekday and paid £65 we would have felt cheated.
But the staff were good, the room was clean, it served its purpose. Our only reservation was the price for such a tiny space

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely experience
This place is all about the diner- but the rooms are small but perfectly styled with the retro feel. Lovely big TV too. Staff were fab. Only minor point room was a bit too warm but had a fan provided.

Reviewed by
tom P

From Westbourne , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

50s/60s style!
Hotel accomodation was very good and the American style Diner was brilliant, loved the juke box and the music!

Reviewed by
Norah Barnes

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable retro experience
This American diner with rooms is new venture along a fairly busy road, and manned by friendly glamorous looking retro dressed reception girls of The Only Way is Essex type. With everything fresh the establishment oozes a certain style and is definitely attractive. Breakfast was good, but nothing special and tea or coffee is not included. I had booked a superior double but am sure we were allocated a standard room, as it was tiny. The bed frame had sharp corners, so careful negotiating around was called for. When checking out I asked for the difference between a standard and a superior room and received a vague reply. As the stay was for one night only I was not too bothered, but will make sure next time I get a more spacious room. Yes, there will be a next time, as I like the concept.

Reviewed by
Magdalena Rondeboom

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate, but I could do better
The Late room price was more expensive than advertised price at Hotel. Tried to ring to confirm slightly later arrival time than originally stated. Could not get reception had to leave message. No one rang back that day. Room very small, double bed small. It served its purpose, but there must be nicer places to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
Peter A

From Ledbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a suprising value overnight stay
The room and fittings including the bed looked and felt like new.
We only had breakfast there, but this was first class and most enjoyable.
My wife had the full english and i went for the all day american both very
good value for money @ only £4.95 each. The set up was 50's america
old yankee car photos and juke box. Would have no problem going back.

Reviewed by
gwyn h

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 Hotel Diner
Clean if small room, friendly professional staff and good car parking. No gripes @ £65.00

Reviewed by
Henry C

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Room was very hot and at the front of the building so noisy if you had the window open. No air conditioning and a fan that just moved the hot air around but we were in the middle of a heat wave.

Reviewed by
S Gosling

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
Room small but lovely and practical and large flat screen TV. The hotel is on a main road which was noisy as due to the heat we had to sleep with the window open.
Only enough milk in the room for one drink each.
Dinner in the restaurant good but expensive. Breakfast disappointing as the pancakes were rock hard.
Overall good value for the price I paid £30 for the room, but I wouldn't have wanted to pay the full price.

Reviewed by
s parker

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.