No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 7 Hotel Diner

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
LONDON ROAD, POLHILL KENT, HALSTEAD, TN14 7AA
We believe that your stay with us should be special, whatever the occasion. So as you would expect from 7 Hotel, our rooms with bath or shower are anything but basic. All rooms contain handmade beds and include tea and coffee making facilities. All 26 rooms have been lovingly designed and decorated by a team of highly skilled professionals. Every piece of furniture has been custom designed, for both style and for comfort.

For those with a technological mind, all our rooms contain Flat Screen TV’s with a range of terrestrial and digital channels and there is WiFi broadband access throughout. In the morning, why not pick up your newspaper from outside your door, settle down with a mug of coffee before coming downstairs to the 7 Diner for a breakfast you won’t forget! Or for those of you in a rush, why not book your “breakfast to go” and get on the road early!

We offer a range of rooms; singles, doubles and twin rooms. Plus our extremely popular family rooms and new Loft suite which sleeps up to three people, Please note ALL our rooms are non-smoking.

Our Diner offers the best in local and regional produce. Delicious chargrilled steaks, Burgers, Salads, Chicken, Gumbos and ribs and for desert ? irresistible smoothies and desserts will be freshly made in our imamculate open kitchen - adding a dash of Chef’s flair for your entertainment! Our Diner has been exclusively styled and designed to reflect that great era of 1950’s American Diners and the heyday of 1960’s Great Britain!
Picture of 7 Hotel Diner, HALSTEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 177 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good bolt hole!!!!
Having previously stayed in a double room, with my Husband, I was a bit disappointed with the twin room that I had been allocated with my Daughter. The positioning of the television, does not really allow easy viewing by either guest. Although we both managed to utilise the shower, I would imagine that many guests would not be able to fit in it. Bottles of shower gel or shampoo, were also difficult to be picked up, if placed on the floor. A very tight fit! It was also exceptionally hot, considering the size of the en-suite, and we were unable to alter this.
Must comment on the exceptional staff, whether they be clerical or catering, all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Valerie R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Impressed with accommodation for the money. Disappointed with the American Diner restaurant. Food very average and plastic stirrer for cup of tea at breakfast!

Reviewed by
T Smith

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate
Check in and info provided was good. The single room I occupied was very small. The bathroom was quite spacious and facilities good. The toilet had not been cleaned! Be aware that food and drink is not available after 22.00 hrs and there's nowhere else close by. Ok for one night but I'd think twice before booking in again. The taxi there from Sevenoaks was £11.00. The taxi that the hotel arranged to take me to Sevenoaks was £17.00! (No meter) .I advise you to sort out your own taxi!

Reviewed by
Peter Walker

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good.......worth its 4 star rating
Customer service was excellent, many thanks to the housekeeping staff who were very helpful on checking out, can't recall any names but all staff were polite and helpful. That made me want to stay again which I plan to whenever I need to stay near London, it's handily placed for rail stations to London or the M25 and A21 if an overnight stop is needed. Upmarket version of a travelodge, but much better and appears to have been recently refurbished with modern bathroom and nice good sized, wall mounted freeview TV. Parking is adequate, gets a bit full at mealtimes but an overflow carpark at the rear is big enough. I didn't get a chance to sample the food but the diner appears very popular.
Overall a good small hotel, has AA 4 star guest accommodation on the door and fully justified that rating.

Reviewed by
DAVID COTTON

From Etchingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
I would definitely recommend this hotel - the restaurant area is great 50's American diner style. The staff are very friendly. The room was very clean. The breakfast was good but could have been a bit hotter!

Reviewed by
Jane S

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Watch out for double charging
On arrival at the hotel I was asked for my card details for pre-authorisation. This debited the full amount of my 4 day stay on my card. On the day I left the payment was put through for what I thought was to finalise the payment and now I have found both payments have been debited against my account. On speaking to the hotel they said there was nothing they could do about it but that it happens at all hotels. I have stayed in 100s of hotels as that's part of my job and I have never had this problem. This was their fault as I believe the error was due them not putting the payment through but its me that has suffered the consequences. All I got was a sorry but nothing I can do about it. I was very ill during my stay and whilst I can not say this was related to the restaurant that was the only place I had any meals in the 36 hours prior to me falling ill. Additionally I was there on business and in the single rooms there is no desk but essentially a shelf that is barely wide enough to sit a laptop never mind and paperwork. Very difficult for working.

Reviewed by
D Bryant

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic staff and room. Very clean and tidy. Quiet relaxing and no squeaky floor boards! Will be returning.

Reviewed by
rebecca l

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the best hotel I've stayed in so far!!!
Trust me, I've stayed in the Sheraton-Dubai, Ritz-Paris, but the staff at this hotel were just as friendly and competent. Breakfast was huge, with a choice of English or American. what a lovely place, I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Tariq hussain

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Excellent customer service - that always sets the tone. Clean room, fresh bedding, clean WC and shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Great value for money!

Reviewed by
Roderick Connors

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Retro meets Contempory
A great find ... very authentic diner with very tasty food (Evening meal, Ribs were wonderful ... breakfast, best in a long time!), the room was well decorated and en suite stylish. TIP .. Rooms in the front may be effected by road/traffic noise, however by the time it starts to get busy, its time to get up!!

Reviewed by
H Lawson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.