No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 7 Hotel Diner

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
LONDON ROAD, POLHILL KENT, HALSTEAD, TN14 7AA
We believe that your stay with us should be special, whatever the occasion. So as you would expect from 7 Hotel, our rooms with bath or shower are anything but basic. All rooms contain handmade beds and include tea and coffee making facilities. All 26 rooms have been lovingly designed and decorated by a team of highly skilled professionals. Every piece of furniture has been custom designed, for both style and for comfort.

For those with a technological mind, all our rooms contain Flat Screen TV’s with a range of terrestrial and digital channels and there is WiFi broadband access throughout. In the morning, why not pick up your newspaper from outside your door, settle down with a mug of coffee before coming downstairs to the 7 Diner for a breakfast you won’t forget! Or for those of you in a rush, why not book your “breakfast to go” and get on the road early!

We offer a range of rooms; singles, doubles and twin rooms. Plus our extremely popular family rooms and new Loft suite which sleeps up to three people, Please note ALL our rooms are non-smoking.

Our Diner offers the best in local and regional produce. Delicious chargrilled steaks, Burgers, Salads, Chicken, Gumbos and ribs and for desert ? irresistible smoothies and desserts will be freshly made in our imamculate open kitchen - adding a dash of Chef’s flair for your entertainment! Our Diner has been exclusively styled and designed to reflect that great era of 1950’s American Diners and the heyday of 1960’s Great Britain!
Picture of 7 Hotel Diner, HALSTEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for money
Room was little noisy due to its location to play area and people smoking outside. It was very good value for money and would stay again, but would request a room away from the entrance.

Reviewed by
J Green

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Retro but spotless
Lovely clean and handy for one night if drinking/eating at the diner.

Reviewed by
Tom P

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service and great food.
I had a double room, the size of which was fine for one person, but would have been rather cramped for two. The room was clean and comfortable, if quite basic. My main complaint was that it was quite stuffy, as the weather was warm. I had to keep the window open and so was subjected to constant traffic noise, as the room was at the front of the hotel, making sleep difficult. The really good point was the diner-style restaurant, where the food and service were excellent. If I were to stay there again, I would ensure my room was away from the road.

Reviewed by
CHRISTINE D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love the 7 Hotel Diner!
Quirky venue, lovely staff and clean, comfortable accommodation. Have been before, and will be back plenty.

Reviewed by
Charley H

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cute hotel great arrival experience with friendly staff. Room was immaculate. Thank you

Reviewed by
Charley H

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun time!
We stayed a couple of nights at the 7HotelDiner, the only small problem was the integrated bath plug did not work, solved simply by taking it out of the plug hole to use the shower as we didn't want baths anyway, and so minor I didn't bother making an issue of it, only mentioned on departure. My son loved the fantastic new playground which was an amazing asset and more hotels should get one, it was of excellent quality. The rest of the experience was fun including dinner to live music on the Friday. Every member of staff We met made us feel really welcome and service was extremely fast and courteous even at busy times. Although staff members still apologised for the delay we had not even experienced as all service was good and quick, perhaps they have lots of impatient guests lol. We were never rushed even when we were still there as the restaurant was closing for the night. The whole stay was fun and relaxed and I would definitely return. If you are looking for quiet, secluded and retiring with fine candle lit dining this is not the hotel for you. If you want a bit of fun and are happy to cope with a little noise and bustle then this is a great place to be. Read their website before booking, they are what they say they are and it is really great if that is what you are looking for. We will definitely be going back!!!

Reviewed by
Anthony Pridding

From REDDITCH, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic stay
Friendly, comfortable stay. Breakfast just the job.

Reviewed by
Jon King

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 Hotel & Diner weekend stay
Upon arrival, our paperwork was to hand, but the Room allocated was on the first floor, overlooking the main road, which was noisy. We requested a quieter Room, which was organised quickly, without any fuss.
The Room was functional, with everything included, but was very compact (small), which would not lend itself to a more lengthy stay, with additional luggage.
The Diner/Bar was good, but they could do with a "Draft Beer" on sale, rather than bottles from the fridge, having said that, the range on offer was consistent with the Theme.
One criticism with the breakfast, my wife does not like eggs. When she asked for the egg to be swapped for a hash brown, we were informed that no deviations to the Menu were allowed, although she could have hash browns, if we paid extra, a bit petty!!!
Overall, reasonable value for an overnight stay in the area.

Reviewed by
Malcolm B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for an independent, but some improvements to be made...
A lovely concept (American Diner/Motel) but needs a little boost...from the outside, there has clearly been a lot of work done and it all looks very inviting. The rooms leave a little more to be desired, though...
As far as the rooms go, they were nice, but basic and perhaps a little dated. We had to ask for a hairdryer and unfortunately we had a wait as there were only 3 shared between all of the rooms. The rooms have nice bathrooms and on the whole ours was cleaned satisfactorily, though the shower repeatedly moved between being too hot/cold without any changes to the thermostat/taps. Although the hotel itself was quiet overnight (internally) I found the road noise was TERRIBLE. We couldn't sleep because of the passing traffic and even ended up closing the window at about 3am as the lorries rattled past, but due to the time of year then very quickly got too hot. I would ask for a room away from the road if you do stay here, as this ruined it a bit for us and we came down to breakfast unrefreshed.
Downstairs in the diner, the decor was pleasant and really set the theme for the whole place. The food was OK, but wasn't ever going to set the world alight. Breakfast took 45 minutes to appear, and unfortunately the waitress also got our order wrong but on the plus side, she did acknowledge the wait around 30 minutes in and brought us some more coffee. Kudos to that.
Overall, I stay regularly in the chain brands, mostly at Hilton - and for similar money you get a lot more for your dollar (thought I'd throw that in as it was an American themed place!) and even though the majority of our experience wasn't unpleasant, I think there need to be some improvements made to the rooms and service at the hotel in order for me to stay again.
All in all - Not bad, but equally, I think a little overpriced for the end product. One small last comment would be the reception staff were a little casual (the receptionist was on the phone talking to her friend when we came to check out) and they never actually asked how our stay was. Had I had the opportunity to talk through my stay with the staff, they may have discussed my comments and looked to make some improvements as a result.

Reviewed by
James M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Place to Stay at Great value for money
We arrived at the hotel very late at night and was met by a friendly member of staff and was checked in within minutes. Both the bedroom and shower room was spotlessly clean, contemporary and had everything we needed, the bed was really comfortable. Only thing I would suggest is that either blinds or net curtains are fitted in the ground floor rooms as it felt quite exposed. We had breakfast the next morning in the 1950's style diner it was good quality and value in a fun surrounding. All the staff were friendly, polite and professional. Would definately return to this hotel as it was also great value for money

Reviewed by
Liz N

From North Ferriby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next