Reviews - 7 Hotel Diner


Price From 83.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (106)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kevin S

  • May 2014

Trip down memory lane

Lovely place to stay.

all staff welcoming and efficient. Room was smallish, but very well appointed and clean. Food excellent, one of the best steaks we have had for some time. The Singer Gazelle displayed outside brought back memories - the second car we owned - a wonderful car..

  • Richard D

  • May 2014

Exceeded expectation!

You get a really cheap deal to stay in the suite above an American style diner and you'd be a fool to expect too much.

However, I was really pleasantly surprised. The room was a great size, very clean, and the furniture was suitable if a little wobbly. The big plus, though, was the bathroom - it was glorious. Food in the morning was good, and a root beer float with breakfast is always enough to make my day. Customer service was a little slow and cold, but I'm a Northerner and it's always like that in the deep south. Overall, very good, would happily stay again - and definitely take the suite if you get a chance.

  • Paul N

  • May 2014

Bijoux but comfortable

The room was very small, dominated by the double bed.

There was little space to move around and nowhere to sit. If you're used to rooms at one of the budget chains you will be disappointed.

I was staying on my own. If I had taken my partner we would have been falling over each other. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was stylish. I had planned to eat in the diner but it was quite expensive, although what I saw looked very nice. Overall, for what I wanted it was OK but it wouldn't have been suitable for a couple.

  • m walker

  • May 2014

Hotel service and food are very good !BUT the hotel is right on a busy main road .

Struggled to sleep due to the punt of noise from the traffic through out the night . Even at 3am lots of noise .

  • Keith E

  • May 2014

OK, but only OK

I stayed here with my 7yr old daughter for two nights.

The first night when we arrived at about 9:30pm, the hotel reception door was locked. That's fine, but there was no indication of what we should do to gain access - no bell, no phone number, nothing. Fortunately, rattling the door soon brought someone who could let us in and check us in. The room was fine: one double, one single, and the beds were comfortable. There was a "tunnel" in the carpet in the room, which was easy to trip over. That's something a carpet fitter could fix in ten minutes, so why hasn't that been done. The room was a good temperature; I often find hotel rooms too hot, but this was fine. There was a radiator (off) which could be used if a warmer temperature is preferred. I specifically booked this hotel because it advertised free Wifi. The Wifi in our room was unusable, with the signal ranging from very weak to none. We paid extra for breakfast, only to be told that breakfast was in the restaurant and that, as we had pre-paid, we'd be given an allowance of £4.95 off the bill each(!). If I'd known that in advance, I wouldn't have paid the £9.90 per day for the two of us for breakfast - there seems to be no point. My daughter was disappointed that there was only burger and cooked breakfast available: she wanted cereal. The music from the restaurant is quite loud and can easily be heard in the room; however, it wasn't so loud as to stop me from sleeping. Both of the nights we stayed, I was woken by very noisy guests going to their rooms (once at 02:20, once at 03:10). That's not entirely down the hotel, which I accept. Overall, it was OK, but the poor choice of breakfast and the very poor Wifi will mean we won't be going back.


  • April 2014

Nice, Clean Hotel ?

Great stay, very nice room, clean and tidy etc.

Nice restaurant attached and good food.

  • Nicholas C

  • April 2014

7 Hotel Diner

Never been to a 50's diner in the uk so my wife was dead keen to see if it was any good.

Fab staff and great room, reasonably priced room with ensuite, TV and wifi. Diner decor and whole ambience was cool, a real treat, our first nights food was great but not as nice the other two nights, definitely would stay here again but food costs/quality is questionable. Great cocktails though!

  • M Morgan

  • April 2014

A very poor experience

I arrived at approximately 21:00 hrs and checked into the hotel, the receptionist was pleasant and friendly and check in took no time at all.

I proceeded up to my room with some of my luggage, opened the door with the electronic key and deposited my bag. The room was basic but appeared to be relatively comfortable. I then left the room to collect further bags to find that my door would not lock however hard I tried or whatever I did. I went to reception and reported this and received the comment “oh dear – you had better have the key to enable you to lock the door” I was also told to remember to hand in the key the next morning as it was the only one and they would not be able to clean the room without it. I took the key and went to get the remainder of my bags etc. By this time the front door of the hotel was locked electronically. I came back to the front door minutes later to find the door locked. I tried to use my electronic key only to find that this would not work and left me stranded outside the hotel. After knocking several times with the receptionist miming that I should use my electronic key they eventually came over and opened the door for me. I explained the problem and was told not to worry as there was a night porter on duty. I went to bed and had to lock the door with the manual key as the electronic lock was still not working. The next morning at 07:30 hrs I specifically spoke to the receptionist and requested that the lock be sorted out / repaired as I wanted to ensure the security of my belongings left in the room. Upon my return to the hotel at 17:00 hrs that afternoon I collected my keys, went to my room to find that the door was unlocked and had obviously been that way since the cleaners had been in. I was not very happy to say the least. At approximately 19:45 hrs I went to the restaurant which had somewhere in the region of a dozen patrons. I ordered my meal and drink. The drink arrived a few minutes later whereas the meal (a southern fried chicken burger, fries and garlic bread) took over 40 minute to arrive, with a mumbled apology. I eventually retired to my room and locked the doom – manually. I arrived for breakfast at 07:00 hrs the next morning to be told that the chef had not turned up therefore I could not have any breakfast unless it was cereal and a piece of toast which I accepted as something is better that nothing. I left the hotel and spoke to the receptionist again complaining about the non locking room. The receptionist knew nothing about this and said that they would look into it. Upon my arrival that evening I collected my keys only to find that the room was again unlocked and that nothing had been done at all to rectify the situation. So as to avoid the long wait experienced the previous night I found elsewhere to eat and returned to my room later. My final morning at the hotel I arrived for breakfast at 07:00 hrs and yes the chef was there. I ordered the full English breakfast which eventually turned up with bacon that appeared to have been deep-fried and which shattered when touched by a knife and fork. Not very pleasant and certainly not like the bacon that had arrived on my first morning which was quite pleasant. At no time did I receive any form of real apology or any update on any form of action undertaken to rectify the situation or resolve the problem. I have to say that I would never stay in this hotel again and cannot recommend it to anyone.

  • James t

  • April 2014

Great food and accomodation

Stayed here twice, motel type place above diner, rooms all very clean and modern but diner makes this place, food is great, best burgers i've ever had and breakfast is nice too for £4.95 it sets you up for the day.

Staff are great too and I didnt wait any longer than one would expect as some reviewers have put on here. Some noise from passing traffic if on the road side but nothing too bad. Also there was an indian next door and toby carvery about 500 metres away so other choices for eating.

  • Michael H

  • April 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly staff and quality food

Really nice stay, everything was spot on and would stay again