No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 7 Hotel Diner

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
LONDON ROAD, POLHILL KENT, HALSTEAD, TN14 7AA
We believe that your stay with us should be special, whatever the occasion. So as you would expect from 7 Hotel, our rooms with bath or shower are anything but basic. All rooms contain handmade beds and include tea and coffee making facilities. All 26 rooms have been lovingly designed and decorated by a team of highly skilled professionals. Every piece of furniture has been custom designed, for both style and for comfort.

For those with a technological mind, all our rooms contain Flat Screen TV’s with a range of terrestrial and digital channels and there is WiFi broadband access throughout. In the morning, why not pick up your newspaper from outside your door, settle down with a mug of coffee before coming downstairs to the 7 Diner for a breakfast you won’t forget! Or for those of you in a rush, why not book your “breakfast to go” and get on the road early!

We offer a range of rooms; singles, doubles and twin rooms. Plus our extremely popular family rooms and new Loft suite which sleeps up to three people, Please note ALL our rooms are non-smoking.

Our Diner offers the best in local and regional produce. Delicious chargrilled steaks, Burgers, Salads, Chicken, Gumbos and ribs and for desert ? irresistible smoothies and desserts will be freshly made in our imamculate open kitchen - adding a dash of Chef’s flair for your entertainment! Our Diner has been exclusively styled and designed to reflect that great era of 1950’s American Diners and the heyday of 1960’s Great Britain!
Picture of 7 Hotel Diner, HALSTEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 179 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip down memory lane
Lovely place to stay. all staff welcoming and efficient.
Room was smallish, but very well appointed and clean. Food excellent, one of the best steaks we have had for some time.
The Singer Gazelle displayed outside brought back memories - the second car we owned - a wonderful car..

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From Chalfont St Giles, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and value for money accommodation.
Accommodation basic but very clean. American diner served excellent meals and breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
david W

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bijoux but comfortable
The room was very small, dominated by the double bed. There was little space to move around and nowhere to sit. If you're used to rooms at one of the budget chains you will be disappointed.
I was staying on my own. If I had taken my partner we would have been falling over each other.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was stylish.
I had planned to eat in the diner but it was quite expensive, although what I saw looked very nice.
Overall, for what I wanted it was OK but it wouldn't have been suitable for a couple.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel service and food are very good !BUT the hotel is right on a busy main road . Struggled to sleep due to the punt of noise from the traffic through out the night . Even at 3am lots of noise .

Reviewed by
m walker

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great American diner. Very nice rooms. Great food.

Reviewed by
alex hood

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK, but only OK
I stayed here with my 7yr old daughter for two nights. The first night when we arrived at about 9:30pm, the hotel reception door was locked. That's fine, but there was no indication of what we should do to gain access - no bell, no phone number, nothing. Fortunately, rattling the door soon brought someone who could let us in and check us in.
The room was fine: one double, one single, and the beds were comfortable. There was a "tunnel" in the carpet in the room, which was easy to trip over. That's something a carpet fitter could fix in ten minutes, so why hasn't that been done? The room was a good temperature; I often find hotel rooms too hot, but this was fine. There was a radiator (off) which could be used if a warmer temperature is preferred.
I specifically booked this hotel because it advertised free Wifi. The Wifi in our room was unusable, with the signal ranging from very weak to none.
We paid extra for breakfast, only to be told that breakfast was in the restaurant and that, as we had pre-paid, we'd be given an allowance of £4.95 off the bill each(!). If I'd known that in advance, I wouldn't have paid the £9.90 per day for the two of us for breakfast - there seems to be no point. My daughter was disappointed that there was only burger and cooked breakfast available: she wanted cereal.
The music from the restaurant is quite loud and can easily be heard in the room; however, it wasn't so loud as to stop me from sleeping. Both of the nights we stayed, I was woken by very noisy guests going to their rooms (once at 02:20, once at 03:10). That's not entirely down the hotel, which I accept.
Overall, it was OK, but the poor choice of breakfast and the very poor Wifi will mean we won't be going back.

Reviewed by
Keith E

From Coleford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 Hotel Diner
Never been to a 50's diner in the uk so my wife was dead keen to see if it was any good.
Fab staff and great room, reasonably priced room with ensuite, TV and wifi. Diner decor and whole ambience was cool, a real treat, our first nights food was great but not as nice the other two nights, definitely would stay here again but food costs/quality is questionable. Great cocktails though!

Reviewed by
Nicholas C

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and accomodation
Stayed here twice, motel type place above diner, rooms all very clean and modern but diner makes this place, food is great, best burgers i've ever had and breakfast is nice too for £4.95 it sets you up for the day. Staff are great too and I didnt wait any longer than one would expect as some reviewers have put on here. Some noise from passing traffic if on the road side but nothing too bad. Also there was an indian next door and toby carvery about 500 metres away so other choices for eating.

Reviewed by
James t

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very poor experience
I arrived at approximately 21:00 hrs and checked into the hotel, the receptionist was pleasant and friendly and check in took no time at all. I proceeded up to my room with some of my luggage, opened the door with the electronic key and deposited my bag. The room was basic but appeared to be relatively comfortable.
I then left the room to collect further bags to find that my door would not lock however hard I tried or whatever I did. I went to reception and reported this and received the comment “oh dear – you had better have the key to enable you to lock the door” I was also told to remember to hand in the key the next morning as it was the only one and they would not be able to clean the room without it!
I took the key and went to get the remainder of my bags etc. By this time the front door of the hotel was locked electronically. I came back to the front door minutes later to find the door locked. I tried to use my electronic key only to find that this would not work and left me stranded outside the hotel. After knocking several times with the receptionist miming that I should use my electronic key they eventually came over and opened the door for me. I explained the problem and was told not to worry as there was a night porter on duty. I went to bed and had to lock the door with the manual key as the electronic lock was still not working.
The next morning at 07:30 hrs I specifically spoke to the receptionist and requested that the lock be sorted out / repaired as I wanted to ensure the security of my belongings left in the room.
Upon my return to the hotel at 17:00 hrs that afternoon I collected my keys, went to my room to find that the door was unlocked and had obviously been that way since the cleaners had been in. I was not very happy to say the least. At approximately 19:45 hrs I went to the restaurant which had somewhere in the region of a dozen patrons. I ordered my meal and drink. The drink arrived a few minutes later whereas the meal (a southern fried chicken burger, fries and garlic bread) took over 40 minute to arrive, with a mumbled apology.
I eventually retired to my room and locked the doom – manually. I arrived for breakfast at 07:00 hrs the next morning to be told that the chef had not turned up therefore I could not have any breakfast unless it was cereal and a piece of toast which I accepted as something is better that nothing. I left the hotel and spoke to the receptionist again complaining about the non locking room. The receptionist knew nothing about this and said that they would look into it. Upon my arrival that evening I collected my keys only to find that the room was again unlocked and that nothing had been done at all to rectify the situation.
So as to avoid the long wait experienced the previous night I found elsewhere to eat and returned to my room later. My final morning at the hotel I arrived for breakfast at 07:00 hrs and yes the chef was there. I ordered the full English breakfast which eventually turned up with bacon that appeared to have been deep-fried and which shattered when touched by a knife and fork. Not very pleasant and certainly not like the bacon that had arrived on my first morning which was quite pleasant.
At no time did I receive any form of real apology or any update on any form of action undertaken to rectify the situation or resolve the problem.
I have to say that I would never stay in this hotel again and cannot recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
M Morgan

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and super stylish

Reviewed by
P Cork

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next